Thread: Dirty river lure session

Re: Dirty river lure session

yeh kurt got a few quick showers but all good ,anyway you know i'm so slight the raindrops miss me

I tell you after yesterdays lost fish on broken trebles I went to put some owners on the chubbies to have a second shot tosarf with garrett. How bloody hard is it getting changing hooks on these tiny lures .It seems the old eyes have gone a bit fuzzier over the last month. What a task so I wasn't happy to lose one in the opening few casts. Garrett kicked my butt today .I couldn't put a foot right even the sounder had a spat attack. Anyway we scored a couple of Cod, a few more bream with the biggest only finding its way to 26 cm so that was dissapointing but Garrett did have a nice tassle with a fiesty Trev on a new bream rod he's brought a new 1-3 ian miller T-Curve. Bit of a social day with a couple of ausfish boats on the water. Hows Jesse's mate , first time to use a rod and fish and he pulls in a little river jack Good on ya fellas
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSCN0349 (2).JPG 
Views:	40 
Size:	35.2 KB 
ID:	56652  

good to see garrett back on the water after his hand injury, everything healed ok?

Nice work Cheif.

Have to agree with ya mate the water is very dirty atm, has stuffed several of our spots up. I got out earlier this arvo, we worked the river pretty hard and managed a few threadfin down fairly deep, but only around the 90-100cm size. Nothing beastly. Soft plastics were the go.

Just keeping the reports on the low, fishing pressure for them over the last 2 years has risen shit loads.

Cheers Matt

Kurt... He's still wearing some sort of Aid that seperates his fingers and keeps them at an angle but we were only fishing bream gear so he was keen to have a flick. He's pretty good in the healing Department He's had enough practice

looks like use had a good fish. good to see some good fish still being pulled out of the water considering how much rain we had. good job

Nice effort their chief, I have been sitting at home thinking.... nah I would be lucky to get anything in this water... prooved me wrong, if someone was going to pull fish out of the brissie river my money is on you. LoL Great catch.

It seems the quality of all lures is dropping nowadays. It really is a shame.

Kaidon
    Conservation NOT preservation!

Trebles on even expensive lures now are just shithouse.
    It's not good enough. They charge you $20+ for a good lure, then the first thing you have to do is upgrade it.
    I have been buying boxes of 100+ trebles in a couple of sizes from the US.
    You can get 25 of 4 different sizes of VMCs for around $25 delivered.
    But to make it easier changing them Chief get yourself a pair of these, they are excellent....
    Cheers and thanks.

"Tackle Whore on a budget..."
    Gonzo II – Brooker 4.5m 40hp Yam & Outlaw Kayak
    Fish Well, Fish Egrell

http://www.ecofishersqld.org.au

Well Chief,

You got me all enthused with your report so my son & I hit the Raby Bay canals yesterday arvo for our second ever bream luring session. Our first session in the Peel shallows a couple of weeks ago ended up with lots of hits but no bream and a 58cm dusky for me (on a bream lure - R2S chubby!)...

After 30mins or so I threw my suspending lure next to a floating pontoon and was smashed by a bream before I could even twitch it! After a few anxious moments and screaming drag I managed to get the bream into open water where I tired it out before the net shot.

Kyle netted it cleanly and my first ever hardbody-lured bream came aboard at 26cm to the fork. Woohoo - now I am hooked on this style of fishing.

No other bream for the session but a couple more hits and Kyle managed a small estuary cod on a Halco RMG....

Thanks for all of your online info, Chief...

Regs

Pete & Kyle

LNB...Thats flash as. Mate LOL I was using a pair of split ring plyers ,I just cant see. Take me out chasing speedsters and I can see birds on a school before anyone but put something small up close and I'm shot

Headbanger... Mate thats why I'm always telling people about River 2 Sea's baby cranks D40Fs. there a pearler for the money , good trebs on them ,catch fish and never had a dud and they swim like a champ straight out the box. There little bubble pop poppers are pretty great as well. And I've got a good number of the baby cranks to give away at the Tinnie and Tackle.

Peter4, I'ved became a bit obsessed over the last few months with this style of fishing because of the action sessions you can have especially with bream flathead cod whiting and trevs all willing to play. I'm wrapped you also find it exciting and on your way now . Congrats on the new first with that bream on a HB. I think I might have a few wives a little peeved because of missing husbands

Quote Originally Posted by chief View Post
    Peter4, I'ved became a bit obsessed over the last few months with this style of fishing because of the action sessions you can have especially with bream flathead cod whiting and trevs all willing to play. I'm wrapped you also find it exciting and on your way now . Congrats on the new first with that bream on a HB. I think I might have a few wives a little peeved because of missing husbands
    Cheers Chief,

We noticed a few trevs busting up the surface, a couple of small tailor and many schools of mullet in the canals. Not many takers though - maybe they are too well fed!
    As for wives, well mine is happy to get the boys out of the house for a while...
    Regs