Thread: Airbag suspension

Airbag suspension

G'day all,
    Does anyone here have any experience with airbag suspension?
    I am looking into fitting a set to help out a set of leaf springs with a fairly constant load on them (load only increases when i hook the boat up). I've talked to the guys at Airbag Man, but just wanted to get some real life opinions on them from people that have used them.
    Oh yeah... it's not for off road use, just for a 4x2 ute.
    Leigh (Kero).

Re: Airbag suspension

I had them on my last hilux.

Good:

Comfy ride when loaded up
    Variable ride height is good for variable loading
    fairly simple

Not so Good:

Not deflating them once the load is out (arse jumps clean off the road over any bump)
    If they fail you're in the poo with a load on
    Sometimes leak (easy enough fixed with some of that tyre goo in a pressure can)
    Loss of wheel travel (not a lot but some)

Might also be worth checking out overrider springs - they are more set and forget, and much less to go wrong.

I've got airbags on my single cab D22. The reason I have them is to help with the extra weight I put on the ute for work. I reckon I'd carry a tonne in the back almost all the time. The difference they have made to the ride with a big load is fantastic.
    Bugger all body roll around corners with the car sitting nice a flat without any sagging towards the rear end at all. I run them at 70psi unless I'm really loaded then bump them up a bit. A good set of shockies and springs helps as well.
    Highly recommend them.

Got a set on my Navara D40..

Had the springs bottom out when I put the tool boxes on.. the air bags fixed the problem.. rated to 200psi .. only runing 20-25 in them ATM.

$430.00 from https://www.suspensionstuff.com.au/shop/

Installed meself

Retired Honda Master Tech

Thanks for the replies gents!

Garry, were they difficult to DIY? Any special tools needed?
    Does this supplier have a fitting service?
    I'll give them a call tomorrow.

They are certainly cheaper than Airbag Man, $825 for a kit (BT 50).
    Leigh (Kero).

Leigh

took about 40 mins a side.. no real special tools needed.. a few spanners and sockets.. 2 jacks are handy.

I would pay up to $150 to have them fitted.. as there is soom r@@ting around to be done.

Yes they will fit them so it would be worth asking.

Retired Honda Master Tech

As is the usual with these things there are some made in China which are cheap but not as well made as the Aussie ones so it might be worth asking about where they were made and what sort of warranty you get.

my brother had some in his 80 series for when he was towing his big caravan, he reckoned they were great, but mind you, his towing was for long periods of time, not a day here and there, so he said they were fantastic, I could find out the brand if you like, he is a real fussy bloke, so he would have got the best there was (well in his mind anyway) he had the cruiser from new, and only sold it a month or so ago, and never ever had a problem, and that includes towing to Cairns, then on to the cape without the van, the West Australian coast, all over Victoria, and up to Darwin and Tassie too, so they had a workout.

Jarrah Jack,
    I'm not sure where these are made. Airbag Man sells "Firestone" & Suspension Stuff sells "Boss". They both claim to have a lifetime warranty. I haven't looked into their definitions of "lifetime" .

Noelm,
    This ute has a permanent constant load on the back and works every day. It's fitted with a full tray sized checker-plate canopy, full of tools, stock, ladders etc. The only time the load ever changes is if I put the boat on the back. After reading peoples opinions, I think that airbags are definitely the go for this ute. It'll also give me adjustability (is that a word? ) of the rear of the vehicle. I'd say that if your brother covered all of those miles with his van in tow, then I should have no worries at all.

Thanks for the input everone!
    Leigh (Kero).

Firestone all the way...

Quote Originally Posted by whatscracken View Post
    I've got airbags on my single cab D22. The reason I have them is to help with the extra weight I put on the ute for work. I reckon I'd carry a tonne in the back almost all the time. The difference they have made to the ride with a big load is fantastic.
    Bugger all body roll around corners with the car sitting nice a flat without any sagging towards the rear end at all. I run them at 70psi unless I'm really loaded then bump them up a bit. A good set of shockies and springs helps as well.
    Highly recommend them.

Where did you get yours from & what sort of price?
    Airbag Man want $825 + $220 for fitting
    Suspension Stuff $500 + $150 for fitting
    Leigh (Kero).

Contact Bayside springs at Capalaba - mine weren't anything like that price.

Kero,

The 80 series I just brought has Firestone airbags in the rear, they are the coil spring replacement type.
    I haven't had any big loads or towed the boat yet but the guy I brought it off used to carry 3 44gal drums of oil plus a heap of other gear no problems at all.
    I have them at 30psi at the moment and they vehicle is riding great. I'm thinking that when the front springs are ready for replacement, I'll look into airbags for the front also

Ally Jack

I had Firestones fitted to my Pajero by Bob at Allset Springs in Hervey Bay - good as gold!

Hey Kero,

I had Air bag man Firestones in a BF XR6. They were a good unit. Rode like sh$it in the XR but It's hardly designed to carry weight.

Remember you have the option for seperate air lines or common across both sides.