Thread: Jewie at last!!

Re: Jewie at last!!

Hi Scott,
    We've been concentrating on the walls lately, mostly south wall at the end, river side. Haven't been to the peg for a while.
    Dan is trying today for mackeral or tuna. Went out with one of the other lads in a tinny to try off black head and flatty. I'll let you know if there is any action.
    Looks like tide might be OK for a few days from Wednesday for another go at the Jewies. I still haven't scored although I've hooked and lost 2.

went out on saturday in that swell chasing macks and we got six and missed a lot more in a short period of time. we all had to be back in before 10am. another boat was up to 7 before we left and they were still biting so not sure how many he ended up with.

Hey GuysBe careful what you say.
    You are just about to step on some old jew fishos toes.
    unless you like crowds I would tread carefully.

Sorry mate, just excited about first time catch. Should have sent pm.

Quote Originally Posted by rabbi View Post
    Hey GuysBe careful what you say.
    You are just about to step on some old jew fishos toes.
    unless you like crowds I would tread carefully.
    sorry steve. i was talking about the spanish though that are or were around outside before this rain. i only wish i got a live bait out from a headland before this fresh we are going to get.

No worries guys.
    I still get excited even with the throwbaks.
    Thanks.
    Steve.

G'Day Steve (tester), jewie fisherman are a very secretive bunch for a good reason....Have you ever read Dick lewers (sp)? I was reading an old article just the other day which went something like,

"why cant you give us specific locations" Dicks answer was straight to the point....because we ended up getting hate mail from angry local fishos that arrived at their favourite spot only to find a dozen or more anglers, many of whom had little respect or courtesy for fellow fishermen or the environment.....he went on.

Personally I remember back in the early 90's fishing Iluka wall for spanish mackeral and longtail tuna, there was generally only 5-6 of us fishing, me, my brother in law, mad dog, scotty from Grafton and his mate and Tye porter. Dizzy Borg came in towards the end. Several blokes wrote articles on the wall and low and behold the last time I went to Iluka (5 yrs or more ago now) to chase a tuna with my young bloke I was in the car park with 13 other cars. I had my son and I,
    the other cars averaged 3-4 fishos each. There was a mob from Sydney who caught so many tuna one day they could not carry them back so they dumped them on the rocks and left a stinking mess of what should have been prime fish...I dont know maybe 6 fish averaging 12-14kg.

Anyway,.. my point is its is great to be excited about the fish of a life time for the young bloke...hell we all do it...but maybe guard any real secret so your not sharing with those who would abuse the information......you never know those old jew fisho's might share a little more if they knew their secrets were safe from abuse

Point taken guys. Sorry.
    Ocean looks shi house at the moment, but the fresh might liven things up.
    Might have a spin off the rocks on the weekend.