Jewie at last!!

Thread: Jewie at last!!

Jewie at last!!

My son and I set out on a mission at the start of the month to catch ourselves a nice jewie each. Dan finally scored last week with a pair. This was the best.
    We have been working the breakwalls at Ballina with hard bodied lures on the change of tide, usually after work for a couple of hours. We dropped a few trying to bring them to the gaff, but this one came home and was very tasty. We reckon about 10-12 kg but thats just a guess.
    I'm still working on mine.

Re: Jewie at last!!

well done mate

comment removed

Nice fish to open the Jewie account mate, well done.

oh yeah !! that's good to see. I love to hear of a plan put into action, and then a result at the end What HB you using there??
    My greenback-plan of 4kg + is definitely in action ..... but no result as yet

Well done nothing better than capturing the tatget species!!!
    especially jew!!

its been a while since i fished down there but i remember everyone else getting a jew on not me, saw how hard they go, i reckon the should be tested for roids.

well done

well done mate!! I reckon we will be catching a few like them in Brissie soon now the size limit is 75cm.

very nice jewie. the perfect eating size i reckon. much smaller and the flesh is a bit soft (hence the term soapy jews) and much larger and they tend to be a bit dry.

NICE !

I remember my first Jewie fishing down Jumpinpin way.

That first silver flash on the surface does get the heart pumping and good on the chew ! Well done !

Damo.

Struth Mate, your gonna need a bigga barbie at that rate and a bigga eskie,and a bigga freezer

My son quite often out fishes me too, so don`t worry to much about that part
    Kerrod

Nice fish, they really are good chewin' aren't they?

Quote Originally Posted by robvee View Post
    oh yeah !! that's good to see. I love to hear of a plan put into action, and then a result at the end What HB you using there??
    My greenback-plan of 4kg + is definitely in action ..... but no result as yet
    He was a very happy lad. The lure was a Laser Pro about 20cm long depth of about 2m in a silver colour, I guess it looks like a mullet.
    We were catching plenty of Tailor while targeting Jewies, biggest to about 3kg. Haven't fished for nearly a week, but they were there last week.

Well done mate. I am still to get one over soapie size. How is your son going with the tuna this year. The water is sensational atm so thought i might have bumped into you at the peg some time.

What a great milestone that first jew is, congratulations!
    personally I reckon it really pays off to target them specifically, rather than just hopefull by-catch.
    Agree Greg, bigger they are the tougher they are too.
    4-8kg, perfect!