Page 4 of 12 FirstFirst 123456789101112 LastLast

Thread: Noble 685 Supervee

Re: Noble 685 Supervee

Just for you Marty.......

lol

mine is bigger than yours

cheers Murf

Really ?

that sticker is 1.2mtrs long !!!

OH, you weren't talking about the sticker .....

LP.

Headed down to Jervis Bay for a shot at some early YFT.

Unfortunately the fishing was very quiet, with the water maybe a little too warm. It was showing 26.8 degrees on the HDS10 at one point!!
    We trolled for days, only picking up a few Dolphin fish and a heap of striped tuna.

On the upside, the weather was absolutely fantastic, and we had 3 solid days to put the big Rhino through her paces!

Had the engine running for 8 hours straight each day, and it did not skip a single beat. Fantastic engine! Also, with the new 4 blade 20" she hits just over 40 knots and gets on the plane nice and early. I have also found that the revs are much more 'steady' through the chop than with the other 3 blade props that we have tested.

Really starting to appreciate the ride and overall characteristics of the hull.
    It really is a well designed hull. It handled beautifuly, both in the bay on the dead flat water, and 30nm offshore in the chop.

I've found that the Noble is very bow proud, so keeping the engine trimmed in to get that front end down really helps to make the most of that agressive deep vee. Once you have the trim right, she just slices through!

As you can probably tell we're very happy with the choice we made!!

Enough of the talk though, heres some photos from the trip:

Beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Very nice !!!!

A very sweet looking ride. Love the crystal clear waters of JB too.

Hi Ross, can you take a few pics of your dash lay out, deck layout and inside the cab area , interested to see how it is if you dont mind, have made a few enquiries on a 7.5, still waiting to hear back at this stage, noticed you have said she is a bit Bow proud, have you put trim tabs on, found it sorted my problem out.

Eddy

Quote Originally Posted by Ross_685 View Post
    Hey Warti,

Mate your spot on. The extra costs associated with the QA mean theres not 'that' much of a saving.
    But in saying that any saving is better than none!! From my calculations boats are probably about 5 or 6% cheaper than before.
    Sorry have to say this , saving of 5% or 6% is total rubish in the long term , even if the boat was 20% cheaper to the consumer in time this saving up front will get blown out of the water in the longer term with repairs ect
    The main purpose of these boats being built overseas is for $ to the builder and not the consumer

As an example i can purchase a 6.18m solas approved fast recue boat with CE certificate for $17,000 with outboard landed in Port , the same boat here retails for around $22,000 without the outboard , do the math everthing is based on pure profit,
    everthing is cheaper in China by a long shot

I will go of topic here a bit , how much does everyone think crabpots are worth from China , well here in Oz we the consumer can exspect to pay around say $25 for a half decent pot , what if i were to tell you i can buy in China for $2.50 , again do the math

Off topic again , high viz work shirts , we pay up to $18 here , in China they are made for less than $4 this includes import duty , shipping , Gst ect

Sorry but it is all about Profits

Smashed Crabs

Ps i have been watching a pile of Noble's in a yard and i have been counting , they are still there , i wonder why ?? I have looked and try to inspect all the welds and i bet you can"t , if you see a ally boat and can't see the welds run like hell because it says alot for workmanship if welds are ground back and covered.

This is purley my opinion , do your own homework ask that question a million times over and dont fool yourself .

congrats on a well built boat, very nice indeed, love the pics also, China are putting out some great gear now, enjoy the new boat

I forgot to add i hope your boats does you well and the aim of the game is to enjoy yourself with family and friends , at the end of the day this is what counts , be it a Ford owner or Holden what ever works for you is best , each to their own

SC

Quote Originally Posted by smashed crabs View Post
    Sorry have to say this , saving of 5% or 6% is total rubish in the long term , even if the boat was 20% cheaper to the consumer in time this saving up front will get blown out of the water in the longer term with repairs ect
    The main purpose of these boats being built overseas is for $ to the builder and not the consumer

As an example i can purchase a 6.18m solas approved fast recue boat with CE certificate for $17,000 with outboard landed in Port , the same boat here retails for around $22,000 without the outboard , do the math everthing is based on pure profit,
    everthing is cheaper in China by a long shot

I will go of topic here a bit , how much does everyone think crabpots are worth from China , well here in Oz we the consumer can exspect to pay around say $25 for a half decent pot , what if i were to tell you i can buy in China for $2.50 , again do the math

Off topic again , high viz work shirts , we pay up to $18 here , in China they are made for less than $4 this includes import duty , shipping , Gst ect

Sorry but it is all about Profits

Smashed Crabs

Ps i have been watching a pile of Noble's in a yard and i have been counting , they are still there , i wonder why ?? I have looked and try to inspect all the welds and i bet you can"t , if you see a ally boat and can't see the welds run like hell because it says alot for workmanship if welds are ground back and covered.

This is purley my opinion , do your own homework ask that question a million times over and dont fool yourself .

Thanks for that mate!
    Not exactly ground breaking news though is it. I think just about everyone is aware that clothes, furniture and even crab pots are much cheaper in China than they would be locally!
    The competition over there is in a different world compared to the relatively small level of competition that we have here in Aus.

Not sure if you have read any of the posts in the thread, but I corrected my initially figures after doing more research.
    The savings are actually 30% on the original Noble boats.

For the time being, there have been zero repair costs. But its only a very new boat. I'll be sure to keep you updated!

As for doing my homework. Well mate, believe it or not, I did!
    I asked myself a million questions, and im not fooling myself, nor am I trying to fool anyone else!

I researched the company, its financial history, I did my research on the shipyard, the welds, the materials, the qualifications of those performing the work, etc etc etc .

In the end, I decided on a boat that has been delivered and so far has EXCEEDED each and every one of my expectations!

Im as happy as a pig in $hit to be honest!:smiley: :smiley: :smiley:

Quote Originally Posted by Broomey View Post
    Hi Ross, can you take a few pics of your dash lay out, deck layout and inside the cab area , interested to see how it is if you dont mind, have made a few enquiries on a 7.5, still waiting to hear back at this stage, noticed you have said she is a bit Bow proud, have you put trim tabs on, found it sorted my problem out.

Eddy

Sorry Eddy,

Ive got a heap of photos.... Believe it or not, I have bugger all of the dash and inside the cabin!:sad:

Next time im in it, I will definately grab a few for you!

No trim tabs yet.
    Really considering some QL's though.

To be honest its really not bad. A little 'bow up', but easy to sort out with the trim.

My reason for considering the QL's is based on the fact that I think it might get even better. According to all the reports and advice I have heard, they no doubt will improve the overall characteristics of the hull.

I'm really suprised Jason hasnt gotten back to you! His customer service is usually fantastic! Shoot him another email, I know he had some email troubles a little while back.

Nice pics Ross.

I have noticed that the ' rake ' of the targa is more pronounced than mine.

I don't have any issues with, but I like that fact, yours has weight a tad further back than mine. Weight to the rear of the boat made mine handle so much better.

The only issue I encounter is sometimes my GPS brings up a error. " accuracy alarm ", just goes beep beep, then shuts down. All this is, is the GPS has a built in antenna and shots through the front of the targa. ( alloy ) so hinders the signal a little. No biggie and I never actually lose satellites.

The way yours is set up is better, as the targa does not cover all the windscreen. I choose inbuilt antenna, cause I don't want to drill too many holes etc.

I am actually heading to Hervey Bay this arvo for a couple of days R & R, and yes, ReBait is coming along...

Hopefully not built like a Great wall Chinese ute !!!
    AS THE SUN SETS ON THE HORIZON I BID YOU A FINE FAREWELL