Page 3 of 12 FirstFirst 123456789101112 LastLast

Thread: Noble 685 Supervee

Re: Noble 685 Supervee

Awesome Ross, just bloody awesome!!!! have been very keen to get a Noble 7.4 but have been a bit hesitant,now seeing your build and comments it gives me a bit more confidence, any chance of some pics of the inside of the cab and dash layout please, will have more questions later I expect but will PM you if thats ok

Broomey

Thanks Ospery!

Broomey, thanks mate, glad you like it!
    No problems, I'll try get some up soon for you.
    We're heading down to Jervis Bay this weekend, so with a little luck (or maybe a lot of luck) we might have some shots with some blood for a change!!

No prob's with the questions either.

Quote Originally Posted by Ross_685 View Post
    Rat catcher: the windscreen is glass!
    Thanks. I think the older ones used to use acrylic instead of safety glass and I could not tell from the pics so was just wondering.

Much better that it is glass.

Turns out my calculation of a 5-6% cost savings on the new Noble's was WAAAAY off!!

I had pretty much gathered my info from pricing found in magazine and online articles. I looked into it a little further and those prices were for 'bare bones' set-ups, and I was comparing them to the total price for our 685.
    Stupid me!

The boats that are coming out of the new shipyard are actually 30% cheaper than those that were being sold from the Brisbane warehouse. I got in contact with Jason from Noble, and he confirmed that this is the case.

Also had a chat with Jason about how and why the original Noble owners decided to look offshore for the production of the boats.
    In a nutshell, a number of Noble's alluminium welders left the company to take up higher paid positions, some travelled to far north QLD to work in the mines, some to WA for similar mining jobs.
    Ben Noble then found it to be quite a challenge to find welders with the right skills locally, so that was the point when he began looking overseas, and made contact with the current NBI mob!

Ive got more details if anyone is interested, but wont bore you all with them!
    PM me if your interested though.

Also, went for a jigging session 20k off Sydney on saturday morning.
    Absolutely gorgeous morning to be out on the water!

30% cheaper and with that quality..Once those sort of figures get around......

Gotta feel for the Aussie boat building industry.

I checked them out at the Tinnie and Tackle show and I can tell you now they were not 30% cheaper than an equilivent boat!

I would want alot bigger saving than what they were priced at to buy a chinese built boat

Quote Originally Posted by bennyboy View Post
    I checked them out at the Tinnie and Tackle show and I can tell you now they were not 30% cheaper than an equilivent boat!

I would want alot bigger saving than what they were priced at to buy a chinese built boat
    Put it up with the Platemaster and AMM and yes your 30% better off, and i rate the super V very high in plate boats

Someone is killing a pig if you reckon they are 30% cheaper than quality competitors. $75K for a 585 walkaround BMT with 150DF zuke with bugger all electronics

Love the old Pacific Sportfishers (used to own one) but personally I would rather pay my money locally to the guys who are sticking it out before I went down that track. Not a criticism, just an opinion and I am glad you are happy with your new boat.

Ross
    Does you proud congratulations. Enjoy.

Daisy

Sorry for the late reply Ross.

I run a 4 blade stainless steel Solas prop. dimensions are 13 1/4 x 15. Designed to punch out of the hole.... beach launching , coastal bars etc.

Many can atest to its holeshot......

I noticed a few things on your 685.

no or very small scupper holes...... ?

The more rounded windscreen looks great, as does the cabin windows.

I see the gunnel has been narrowed from the cab to the front of the boat and the steps re-designed.

Nice touch with the combings in the cockpit.

I also note they have fixed the bow sprite design.

Further........ convenient grab rail on the back of the targa. Gussets on the front targa supports good, but hope that is sufficient. Mine needed cross bracing and actually was upgraded from standard due to many cracks.

Is that a fold down targa ???? I think I see hinges ???

Enjoy the rig.

Cheers phill
    Last edited by Lucky_Phill; 22-03-2010 at 08:55 PM.

Bennyboy and Greg P, sorry gents I think there was a slight missunderstanding!
    My appologies, I probably wasnt clear enough.

The Nobles are 30% cheaper than they would be if they were still being produced in the original Brisbane warehouse. I was never comparing the pricing to that of any competitor's pricing.

Phil, we have just fitted a Stainless Steel Solas 4 blader, except ours is a 20".

I can only imagine how quick yours must jump out of the hole!

Currently she hits 40 Knots, and is doing approx 5750rpm with 200 litres fuel, 100 litres water (LBT) and 4 guys on board with fishing gear etc etc..
    Contemplating dropping it down to a 19 for that tiny little bit more revs/holeshot.
    Prop guru's, what do you think??

Its got scupper holes in the corners, and the larger one in the centre dont know if you can see the smaller ones in any of the pics though.. I'll see if I can find some.

Yeah, they have made quite a few little changes. I guess thats just from learning little bits and pieces over the years. i.e. the narrowed gunnel gives you that little more room when walking forward.
    Very usable! Jigged heaps from the front last trip!

The hardtop is fixed.
    The gussets do look like they have added some more strength, but I guess time will tell!

Thanks Ross,

The prop guy is Steve. Seriously, he is the guru here in Qld and worth a phone call anyway.

goggle him..... Solas Props.

BTW, top speed for ReBait is only 62kph. Gets there in a hurry though.

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill View Post
    ...I run a 4 blade stainless steel Solas prop. dimensions are 13 1/4 x 15. Designed to punch out of the hole.... beach launching , coastal bars etc.

I noticed a few things on your 685.

no or very small scupper holes...... ?
    Phill, didn’t know you were a 4 blade convert, welcome to the club mate! Or have you had one all along & were just keeping it a big secret…

It looks like there’s a dirty big rectangular scupper in the centre, else otherwise not sure what the bungy is for.

Rosco, if I must say…that is one damn sexy boat you have there, even if it is Chinese and tin. Love the look of that screen too, really looks good. PS. like that donk too

Would be interested in the figures from your prop tests with that 4 blade too, I assume the 20”P you have is a Lexor (15 ¼ diam)? Although a very different boat, I did some prop tests a while back on my 685CC + F250, results were posted here late last year.
    Brendon

Hahaha, thanks Brendon!

I read all of your tests, very very informative may I add!! Thanks mate!
    Your right, although they're very different boats, the are similar in a way.

The prop is one of the Rubex ones, and yep its 4 x 15 1/4 x 20
    Whats the difference between the Lexor and the rubex?

So far it seems awesome! I will try get as many figures as I can over the next few trips.

What prop are you running at the moment?
    What revs/speed are you getting? Cruise and top end?

Quote Originally Posted by Ross_685 View Post
    ...What prop are you running at the moment?
    What revs/speed are you getting? Cruise and top end?
    Arrrh Ross, too many questions, too many things to remember – my head hurts…LOL

Actually, it’s easier to dig you up the charts I did. Plenty of numbers here for you…
    http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=156703&highlight=outsider+685+4+b lade

I am still using the 14 1/8 x 18P 4 blade from the trials, which really provides fantastic performance, but would still like to experiment with some other 4 blades with slightly larger in diam than this, as I think I would gain efficiency but not at the expense of rough water performance…errr, I think... If the Lexor (15 ¼”D) came in 17”P that would probably be a good match – but it doesn’t!

When timing & conditions allow, I have one more SOLAS to try. There are two further options (Mercury, 14 ½ & 14 5/8), but these are a lot harder to get a hold of.