Thread: Horizon Shores to Tangalooma

Horizon Shores to Tangalooma

Hi guys,

If you had a something like a Mustang or Bayliner (for example) Sportscruiser, around the 28ft mark, would you be able to do Horizon Shores to Tangalooma, stay the night and return the next day?

Would this be possible in good conditions or would they have to be perfect for this type of trip?

Does anyone go from the Goldy to Moreton or is it deemed as too far?

Thanks,

ST

Re: Horizon Shores to Tangalooma

As long as you have the fuel capacity, you should not have any problems at all.

At cruise for a 28 fter (23odd knots) its only just over a 2 hr run.

The boats do it easy, just the occupants that get worried.

If looking at that size - have a check of the monterey 270 - it's a 29fter. A mate just got one, and although ponce boats generally don't impress me - it's quite impressive.

He / we looked for quite a while before settling on that one.

Hello Surething,
    An easy and safe trip in a boat like that.
    Only about 45 nautical miles one way.
    That's only about two hours in that style of boat.
    Most of those p@nis boats have a range of about 150 nautical miles so fill the tank before leaving and enjoy the run.
    I am assuming that you are new to boating so be aware that the bay can look very frightening is a southeaster but slow down and you will be fine.

Be aware of the go-slow zones for dugongs.
    http://www.derm.qld.gov.au/media/par...arine_park.pdf
    I have done the trip in twelve foot tinny ( nice weather) so you will be fine.

If you're using the Canaipa Passage (I recommend it - magic scenery) make sure you're travelling it at high tideish.

Use a chart and take it easy, picking out your markers as you go (I check against the GPS map on that trip, constantly). It's a great trip, your passengers will feel like millionnaires!

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

g'day surething, that sort of boat eats up those sort of trips and is exactly what they were designed to do. like pinhead has said, keep an eye on your fuel, the tanks in sportcruisers are not real big as compared to fishing boats. dunno what a 28 footer will do but my mate's 2655 bayliner with an EFI 5.7 mercruiser uses about 45-50l/hr. another mate's mustang 24 with an MPI 5.7 mercruiser will do 35-40l/hr. our whittley 660 with an MPI 4.3 mercruiser will do 25-30l/hr. you had a big boat pinhead, did it have a single engine? what were your fuel numbers.

Hi Surething,

I own a 2800 Mustang. It cruises (3400 rpm) at around 40-45 l/h giving approx 20 knots. Fuel Capacity 295 liters.

The trip you have specified is doable although I would pick your weather. If you get caught out and hit some rough weather, be prepared to detour via Raby Bay or Manly on the return trip.

Hope this helps

Ad

Paddles..mine had twin Volvo V6..450 l fuel tank..fuel usage ..dunno..never bothered working it out..never have done on any boat..but you normally get about 10 hours cruising on most ofthose boats. That was a 30' sports cruiser.

From horizon shores at 21 knots its about two hours ,even in perfect conditions it still gets rolly if your not in behind the wrecks,ive just spent 4 weeks out there with my kid swimming and fishing and crabbing,its something i cant get sick of.I have twin v6 mercruisers and at 21 knots at 2850 rpm i burn 50 lph,i have a 500 ltr tank.

Its interesting. A 24-26 foot Bayliner is not necessarily a much better ride than a 21 foot Vagabond or Sig' etc etc. They do have weight going for them but they are a shallow V and for their length not that beamy and really not THAT heavy. The mustang seem better designed for the bay, but I am only going on seeing them and hearing owners talk about various gin palaces, but again I have not been in them.

As for the trip you are contemplating I reckon it would be sweet, but if the bay blew up to 25 knots solid you would wonder where those extra feet went to cause it would still feel rough I reckon...someone correct me if I am wrong please.

PS If you are going 28-30 foot then that is a different story...I got sidetracked thinking about pocket cruisers
    Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
    Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing

you're absolutely right scotty, we regularly go boating with the boats i described earlier (mustang 24 and bayliner 2655) and that is exactly the case. the mate with the bayliner had a signature 2250L previous to the bayliner and said the ride was way better in the sig, and also my mates mustang rides better than the bayliner. but you've also gotta consider how they ride at rest for a cruiser and that's were the widebody bayliners excell, they're nice and stable and don't roll around much when you're anchored. our whittley is awesome in the chop but it does roll like a trailerboat when i'm stopped, it's just the way it goes i guess. the weight makes a big difference to ride as well though, you're talking about boats that weigh 2-3 tonnes here.

Yes Scott..the bigger boats do ride better..but mine weighed 4 tonnes so one would assume it should do.
    It was good not having to slow down for the wash from Riverias..LOL

Hi guys,

Thanks for the replies. I do not have a boat and will be buying something like a Mustang etc, and have plenty of experience in a similar boat as I go out with a mate quite a bit. I just was not sure if the trip to Moreton was common, as I do not want to be limited to the Broadwater when it comes to boating - although there are plenty of places to go to fish, relax and stay the night.

Thanks again...

ST