Thread: Lb in the brissy

Lb in the brissy (with pics)

I haven't bn fishing 4 wat seems like ages since my motor on my boat blew up i've lost alittle motivation fishing LB around brisbane.
    So me and a few mates had a crack this arvo for 1 50cm+ grunter and aound a 50cm jew both taken on live prawns!
    also a friend lost a nice noah that bit through 80lb mono
    and she had 2 little runs and brang in half a big cattie a noah bit it in half while it was sitting on the line!!!
    thanks Simon

Re: Lb in the brissy

Nice catch- I think you've mistaken a croaker for a bream. Or it could be a jewie.
    How'd they taste?

Nice grunter bream, i hope you released the undersize jewie though

cheers tim

Nice fish But i dont think the second is a 5ocm bream hope that little soapie went back in the drink.
    "True Blue"

nice catch on the prawnies... Even those smaller jews around the 50 mark still give you a run for your money on the light stuff. NIce.

the other half of that cattie should have been sent back to the depths for more bully action. nice grunter.

Quote Originally Posted by Matthias View Post
    Nice catch- I think you've mistaken a croaker for a bream. Or it could be a jewie.
    How'd they taste?

HA ha Thanks mate yeah it was a jewie and yes he went back!!!
    I dont know why i wrote bream lol
    I do know the difference between the 2!!! lol

Cool both nice fish the grunter go hard
    "True Blue"

nice catch some quality fish caught of newstead park

I'm with TIM D....the undersized (min 75 cm) Mulloway hopefully was releasedbut from the photograph looks like the poor little thing was dead. Maybe the QBFP would be interested.

Quote Originally Posted by Judge Mental View Post
    I'm with TIM D....the undersized (min 75 cm) Mulloway hopefully was releasedbut from the photograph looks like the poor little thing was dead. Maybe the QBFP would be interested.

Thanks Champ if u have read my other posts i dont eat fish and all i do is catch and release everything is about concervation with me!!!!!

We actually laid the jew down next 2 the the grunter for a quick foto b4 it was released!

My mates kept the grunter because they heard they're such good eating!

Quote Originally Posted by Judge Mental View Post
    That was my thought too and I resisted the urge to say anything.. A wise move as I later realised that if you look closely you can see that the jewie still has the hook in its mouth, which is connected to the closest rod/reel which is the combo it was landed on as per another of the pics.

That's a bloody nice grunter... I'm starting to think that I should take a trip down to brissie and do a little LB myself. The quality of fish caught in that system seems to make the Maroochy river look like a goldfish bowl.

Matt.