hey. i am after a new rod to use soft plastics and spinners i have an okuma trinus atm and wish to upgrade. Im looking to spend about 300. I will really only be after trevally and bream. Any suggestions would be appreciated
G'day Gurr,
Lots of options
Probably 1-3kg or 2-4kg would do nicely, in terms of brands in your price range..
The Shimano raider series by Ian Miller that would be at the top end, reasonable fast taper, quite tippy and nice action.
The Rapala Braid concept ( you would source this from Anaconda) has a much slower action and parabolic in power curve, working the whole length of the rod back through the butt. But some like the softer action and this would fit into your budget just.
Something like the Wilson ATC would be an excellent blank for the kind of work you are talking about and you'd get some change.
The Penn Pinpoint series would be another excellent option and you'd get some change.
Not sure how much the wilson live fibre blades and tails is going for at the moment, but that would also be a worthy contender.
The Diawa Team advantage series is well suited and around your budget.
Then there is the Berkely dropshot series.
All these manufacturers use quality components and really it comes down to what feels best in your hand. You couldn't go wrong with a rod from that selection.
rhys
><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)
Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel
Check out the Shimano Starlo Stix Tournament range before deciding. The Lightspin or Midspin would suit. These are nothing like the cheaper blue model range that I don't rate very highly
I can get my hands on a new samurai 101 would that be to light?
Model: 101
Length: 7’
Action: very fast
Pieces: 2
Rod line class (lb): 2-4
Rod weight (g): 83
mate I would go with the raiders, bream finesse in the one piece they are the best rods i've used (got 2 of them) for around the 120 mark. That way you can also afford a nice reel and braid with your change... Give them a go,
im just confused now lol. I drive a Ute so id rather a 2 peace because its better to transport and im a huge fan of the split grip.
G'day Gurr,
Yep, it can be confusing whether you drive a ute or not - at least you ain't metrosexual! A fisho who drives a ute will do me for a mate.
I've heard of the samurai blanks and rods, but don't know them. What I've heard is they are O.K.
It all comes back to what suits you and what you reckon feels O.K. - so long as the componentry and hardware on the rod is quality, look for fuji reel seat and guides. I'd be thinking a cork grip for light SP work - a little more sensitivity for you to 'feel' a fish knock and take. I'm not sure which, if any of the rods in the list I gave you have cork grip - I know the Penn Pinpoint does - but that will help to narrow the field a bit. although having said that, I not long ago picked up a new SP rod for plastics with the hypolon grips - the rod just felt very nice in its balance - so there are always exceptions.
So go with what feels good to you out of reputable maunfacturers.
I'm not sure where you live but a couple of local tackle stores on Brisbanes South side that would be very helpful is Duncan O'Connel at Fish head Viccy Point, and the lads at Tackleworld Coorparoo also know their stuff I think you'd find their advise worthwhile.
There is one more rod that could be worth putting in the mix if they are still making them for SP work - that is the Reddington. They make fly rods, but turned their hand to a shorter series for the kind of work you are talking about - a lovely rod at 7' in a 2-4kg with quality components and they do make them in two piece
><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)
Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel
I live in Tas. i went in and looked at the samurai 201 id like a bit of feedback on them rods and if they are worth the extra cash.
The Samurais are a beautiful blank.
I have not used a prebuilt Samurai, but have used a couple of customs.
They would be great.
Cheers and thanks.
"Tackle Whore on a budget..."
Gonzo II – Brooker 4.5m 40hp Yam & Outlaw Kayak
Fish Well, Fish Egrell
http://www.ecofishersqld.org.au
would it cost much to get custom grips pit on these rods? i dont want cork.....
I'm not sure why people are recommending raiders... The Okuma Trinus series are actually very nice rods and I'd rate them at least up there with Starlo stix tournament rods, at least.
Go in and negotiate some money off a Nitro. Better class of graphite and only a frag over $300. They have a full replacement warranty on them as well and they are all two piece. The power bream or magnum butt will suite fine.
Ok ive decided on a few rods and i want to know whats best.
Shimano T-curve T series spin 702XL 2pc
Daiwa Advantage 701LXS 4-8lb
Daiwa SOL 701LXS 2-6lb
Daiwa Zero 701MLXFS 4-10lb
Pflueger Trion SP722L 2-5kg
Wilson Live Fibre Blade n Tails RFLSSBTL 2-4kg
Berkley Dropshot Diablo DD721SPL 2-4kg
If use know much about these rods please tell me the ups and downs and what is best value ty very much.