Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Custom made prawn net

Re: Custom made prawn net

Quote Originally Posted by Pero View Post
    Yes, they have a top pocket.
    And, to the bloke saying draw string nets are the "ducksnuts" Until I see the Pro fishermen Using draw String instead of Chain Nets. - I reckon chains gotta be better for prawning.
    a lot of the pro guides up here use draw strings.. have for years.
    like tonight, went down to the boat ramp watching a lot of people catching big banana prawns most were getting a few kg in about 1 hour with top & bottom pocket, no room down there so i went up a little further & nailed 11 kg in 20min's with a draw string. so much quicker with a draw string.

ron.
    reels screamin aboard Hyper- Active

got a bucket in 10 minutes yesterday, myself. Took 8 throws.

Quote Originally Posted by Pero View Post
    got a bucket in 10 minutes yesterday, myself. Took 8 throws.
    Yeah Pero , us mere mortals have to work a bit harder for them, cheers, royslaven.

Went today to test Pero's net, mate what a ripper, caught 5kg one cast, easy to use and opens beautifully .Bagged out in 30mins.

Yellow coats were out and about and was amazed and tried muscling in on the bootie :angry: . They disappeared after I out foxed the fox:smiley: .

Photo will be uplaoded later

And here is the photo :grin: :grin:

Quote Originally Posted by bondy99 View Post
    Went today to test Pero's net, mate what a ripper, caught 5kg one cast, easy to use and opens beautifully .Bagged out in 30mins.

Yellow coats were out and about and was amazed and tried muscling in on the bootie :angry: . They disappeared after I out foxed the fox:smiley: .

Photo will be uplaoded later

good work bondy. keep em honest mate.

Quote Originally Posted by dspt69 View Post
    good work bondy. keep em honest mate.
    No worries buddy, I must have collected the bulk before they realised there was non to get :rolleyes::grin::grin:

I'm definitely going to order one of these nets soon! good job :shocked:

Sounds like an awesome trip - look forward to the pics.

Any hints on the area the prawns were at today?

Marty

Quote Originally Posted by marty_z View Post
    Sounds like an awesome trip - look forward to the pics.

Any hints on the area the prawns were at today?

Marty

Waiting for my mate with the camera. Did not venture out today (Friday 30.4.2010), just have to find them on the sounder.

Ausfish Platinum Member gr hilly's Avatar

i got a nice sounder peter but i havn't put in in the boat yet i should get you to have a look at the set up you might have a good idea as to where to put it' and dont be rude lol
    glynn

Quote Originally Posted by gr hilly View Post
    i got a nice sounder peter but i havn't put in in the boat yet i should get you to have a look at the set up you might have a good idea as to where to put it' and dont be rude lol
    glynn

Glynn,

You just want to place it where you can easily reach it and in a position where its not going to get damaged, as you said one has to look at the boat to see where she's going to be placed.

im used to having it in front of my face just behind the steering wheel but now i have no steering wheel just a tiller steer.

Quote Originally Posted by gr hilly View Post
    im used to having it in front of my face just behind the steering wheel but now i have no steering wheel just a tiller steer.
    Glynn,
    Where you sit to steer your boat using the tiller steer, just mount the finder to one of the sides, you might need to make a board to do this, make sure you can swivel the sounder, also in a position where she wont get in the way. I'm sure you will find a good location, as long as its within arm reach.

ive just baught another boat today peter its a centre console with all the gear in it i don't know witch boat im going to keep now
    ..glynn

Glynn,

I'm sure you will choose wisely, costly to keep two with rego etc.. Maybe you can off load the other one