bundy red!! 6.2.10

Thread: bundy red!! 6.2.10

bundy red!! 6.2.10

just a couple piccies of a nice red we pulled of burnett heads with a
    few grassies,snapper,parrot in the mix all within 15 mile!!
    cheers Paul
    ps, to tired to write a full report.

Re: bundy red!! 6.2.10

Nice haul mate!

Thats a great catch, nice work.

fishfreak

Great session, mate. What was the water clarity like?
    Cuzza

great catch,

i can see why you would be tired

brett

Nice mix of fish there mate. Well done.

Kezza
    Callsign - Smells Like Fish! VHF Ch 21, 73 or 80

Great red for so close and a nice mixed bag to top it off.
    Ken

Great fish guy's some of those lippers on the table look like good ones also

cheers pete...

thanks guys,
    was great to get back in to a little form on the fishing front
    been i little slack of late mainly dew to weather.
    Leaving the ramp at 1oam to try and catch the tide change bumped into a
    mate just pulling his 6mtre centre console out,and telling me they hadent pulled
    a keeper in the boat for there effort for the night which had me a little concerned to say the least.
    with that in mind we pressed on in the dark in my little 4.85 side console at a whole 12knts.
    finally arrived at the x spot and deployed a couple baits only to find the fish chewing there heads off!!
    by sun up the bite had slowed well and truly,but the esky was looking well on its way to being full.
    So with that in mind i had another x spot up my sleeve not far away which i normally get the odd nice red on.
    We had the second tide change for our session a couple hours away which was at8:30am.
    Was a little slow till a hour before the change and all hell broke loss with double
    hook ups and busts offs.
    Only fishing 30lb braid and 30-40 lb leaders.
    Bite only lasted for half hour after the change and shut down just as quick as it started.
    So with esky full to the brim we headed for home by 9:30,very tiring trip but well
    worth the effort for a early morning start.
    cuzamundi, water was a little dirty i noticed out to about 2 mile
    but not that bad considering the rain we just had.
    There was a couple cracker lipper there,dont normally weigh them
    due to reguraly catching them here of good size.
    The red went 10 kg didnt bother weighing the snapper either.
    most of the fish where taken on whole squid and strip bait from a big trevally
    that we caught and went belly up on release,didnt want to waste it and
    put it to good use,ended up with 22 fish for our effort.

cheers Paul

Good to see someone getting a feed, just one tip to save you getting so tired.........Send me a PM I'll help..........

Nice one Paul. Have to head back up there soon for another session. Hangin to get a Red!!!

dave

anytime dave!!

Well done Paul.

What depth of water is that 15mile? Do you drift or anchor up?

Paul,

Have you heard the saying going to a gun fight with a knife? by the sounds of it you were using a pocket knife!!! Thats a good red on 30-40lb! No wonder you were getting blown away! Sounds like a great patch of groung you have there. Some stonkers there of all species, well done and thanks for the report

Anthony

G'day ratman,
    water depth is around that 70- 80ft mark,i only drift fish mate try and cover
    as much country as i can.Probably doesnt work for everyone i dont know
    but seems to work for me.
    Pete, ur right about bringing a pocket knife to a gun fight mate,but fishing heavy gear here just doesnt cut it.
    Plus u can put a lot of hurt on fish with 30lb braid,
    proven it many a time,i'd rather have more hook ups and loose a couple than none at all!! just my theory thou.

cheers Paul