went catchin

Thread: went catchin

went catchin

the plan for this mornins trip was to get a good feed of the tings and a few squid and maybe a few crabs,picked the oldman up just after 6 and had the boat in the water not long after,dropped 4 pots out on the way to the rous using the reefies i had caught for bait well the frames anyway,droped them in depths rangin between 6 - 20mtrs,got to the rous just b4 low tide and on the 1st drift we got 8 tings and 1 squid,was very quiet for then next hr or so with only a couple of tings coming aboard but we where gettin heaps of little reefies,once the incommin run hit the squid went nuts,had 2 jigs in and our whiting rods as well,i hooked a squid and as i pulled it in my ting rod goes off so the oldman grabs it for me and as i pull the squid beside the boat he pulls up a ting with 2 squid fighting over it ,not thinking i just pulled the squid in and u guessed it boat covered in ink ,the oldman left the ting in the water while i dehooked the squid then i just droped the jig in and caught 1 squid while the oldman put the other jig infront of the other squid which he caught,so 3 squid in 2 minutes,in the next hr the squid where bitin heaps,ended up with 27 squid 25 tings,pulled the pots on the way home for 3 keeper sandies,great day out,
    p.s we droped the biggest squid and ting
    p.s.s have aded the 2 jigs what i hve been using the black 1 works best
    cheers rosco
    Last edited by rosco1974; 06-02-2010 at 07:19 PM. Reason: pics and p.s.s

Re: went catchin

Hi Rosco,
    Sounds like you had a good morning and got a good feed too.

Perhaps we could organise a sand crab trip when they get a bit thicker again.?
    I am at redland bay and although I have my boat don't have a car.

PM me for my phone number and we could meet and maybe sort something out, however I have plans for the next few weekends.

Thats a great catch Rosco. A few nice meals there. What jigs were you using?

Nice work Rosco, good to see the squid still around in good numbers. They are fun to catch. Hahaha now your boat is black inside aswell.
    Marty.

Yumm..............

g'day
    scott
    will organise a trip for sure when the crabs are running, am at capalaba so will pick u up,be good to catch up as i know u love to get a feed of sandies,plenty of room for u in my boat as well

neil
    b.c.f have a pack of 10 squidjigs for bout $24 the 1 i have been gettin the most on is a black and gold in a 3.5 weight and also the fluro orange although the black and gold 1 outfishes the others about 4 to 1

marty
    not only is my carpet stained but my clothes were as well,bin for them,worth it though was great fun.i gave up fishin for the tings in the end,bloody too many squid to be caught,beer battered tings and crumbed calamari for dinner washed down with a few extra dry stubbies how good is that,have to tell robin to get onto a few more

cheers rosco

Rosco
    You might be having bad trips outside but your making up for it in the bay .
    NOW I,AM GUNNA EATCHA

yeah dave, have gone back to my comfort zone,still keen to go offshore though,to be honest cannot wait for the crabs to heat up 3 weeks i recon,they are already in the 20 mtr mark, 2 weeks will show up in shallower water then happy days for rosco
    cheers rosco

Great score rosco. Thanks for the heads up on the crabs too. Ben

Quote Originally Posted by rosco1974 View Post
    yeah dave, have gone back to my comfort zone,still keen to go offshore though,to be honest cannot wait for the crabs to heat up 3 weeks i recon,they are already in the 20 mtr mark, 2 weeks will show up in shallower water then happy days for rosco
    cheers rosco
    Rosco
    I reckon your spot on as a mate of mine is a pro crabber and he reckons its dead out there at the moment , but he only crabs in the shallows.
    NOW I,AM GUNNA EATCHA

Ausfish Platinum Member Aquarius's Avatar

Howdy Rosco, We were out in the rouse this morning and managed to score about 30 whiting before the wind freshened,
    You did well to get all those squid.
    Can i ask are you sight casting to the squid or just drifting the jig behind your boat?
    Cheers Brent

g'day brent
    just drifting the jigs behind the boat
    cheers rosco

Well done rosco1974 you have made me jealous yet again.
    Cheers Axl

axl mate,
    will leave a few there for u when u get a chance to get out,going to give it a go again tommorrow

cheers rosco

Mate, that is some awesome work!