will i go stir crazy in 24 hours ??

Thread: will i go stir crazy in 24 hours ??

Question will i go stir crazy in 24 hours ??

g'day...

havent been night fishing before (just never got around to it i spose) only pre dawn sessions...

so im thinking of going out to green island (probably) from noon saturday to noon sunday.... boats an older 15ft 1/2 cab...

so a few questions... 1 am i nuts ?
    2 will plastics be any good in the dark (after the moon goes or its overcast) ?
    3 will fish bite at all in the dark(see above) ?
    4 should i drift or anchor (i figure anchor if having a nap) ?
    5 did i miss asking something, if so what ??

6 is there a deckie as stupid as me ??

thanx in advance chris

Re: will i go stir crazy in 24 hours ??

if its quiet there will be a fair while between bites... but dont let that deter you... plastics are ok with moon... not so good i think when its really dark... change spots through the night so anchor up here or there.. but you should get some fish... right on dusk on the tide changes during the night and on dawn.. should be a good trip... if only i wasnt busy this weekend.. i can say im as nuts as you.. ive sat out there many a night before haha its good fun

Jason

My hand would go up in a heartbeat if I wasn't crook.. Nothing like fishing for a full day.

Matt.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozie_3 View Post
    g'day...

havent been night fishing before (just never got around to it i spose) only pre dawn sessions...

so im thinking of going out to green island (probably) from noon saturday to noon sunday.... boats an older 15ft 1/2 cab...

so a few questions... 1 am i nuts ?
    2 will plastics be any good in the dark (after the moon goes or its overcast) ?
    3 will fish bite at all in the dark(see above) ?
    4 should i drift or anchor (i figure anchor if having a nap) ?
    5 did i miss asking something, if so what ??

6 is there a deckie as stupid as me ??

thanx in advance chris
    1. nope. I go out solo all the time at night. I prefer it, no one to whinge at me.
    2. plastics will work all the time, light or not. do you think fish stop eating when there is no light?
    3. yup, see above
    4. Up to you. with plastics i would drift/
    5. yup, safety. wear a life jacket and wear you saftey lanyard when underway.
    6. more than likely!! I have a mate who will go out rain hail or shine for as long as I am willing to stay out there. shame he lives in hervey bay not brisbane.

If I wasn't so busy, and promised to take my little girl to the beach on Sunday, I'd be bringing my boat out to join you!
    I've been dying to do an overnighter as well. Actually, I've been waiting for the perfect weather to do an O/N at Harry's. The way I see it, for me to get to Harry's by about 5am, I'm out of bed at about 3-3.30.... what's the point in actually going to bed?
    Be sure to let us know how you go, good or bad!

I go out on my own in the passage in a 12 foot tinny all the time, but with that low pressure system tipped to come over us, you might get some weather.

the best time for fishing is an overnighter...the peace and quiet is fantastic.
    I would fish an overnighter in preference to any day trip.
    As for yyour questions on plastics..dunno..I don't use them sorry.

I head out behind Green at night most weekends if the weather is fine. My preference is between 1am and 6.30am. Any longer than that and I am fished out.
    I have never failed to catch out there. Lots of reef fish and often just before sunrise there are squid aplenty to be caught.
    I find that if the fish are biting on bait then they will bite on plastics.
    There is a lot of reef out behind green so I wouldn't recommend drifting at night unless you like getting snagged.
    I have several spots marked on my GPS.
    My preference is to go it alone. Having someone on board with me gets irritating after a while.
    Prawns have been the gun gear as far as bait goes recently. Worms and chunks of pilly work well too.
    Make sure you have all your safety gear and don't hit the grog. The cops have been known to do RBT's at night.
    I am heading out tomorrow AM. Saturday is looking a little like it might be a bit choppy.

Thanks guys, appreciate the input

yeah andy, forgot the safety aspect... that does make sense probably hook the kill switch to my belt also....

hope u get better soon matt... being crook sux

the serenity of the night sounds good... but prolly take laptop with a dozen movies on it to breeak any boredom.... saw eleventeen at midnight....lol

havent really tried squidding but have some jigs on the boat so will set up a spare rod 4 that 2...

i uses plastics and bait... prolly catch more on bait (dead sticked) but the better quality come on plastic.....spent 40 bucks on plastics yesterday and now nearly the same on bait today pillies n hardies...

pretty sure i have all the gear for semismooth waters on board...i dont drink (alcohol) on board, wait till i get home like now...lol

had a practice run today with a mate...up at 2.30am on the roar by 4.30, launch at 5.... fishing by dawn...home by 1pm.... results me 1 catfish 60cm+ (yucht) 1 flounder, a couple of rat squire to 30cm....so zip.....my mate few little squire and a couple of keeper sweetlips.......

sundays weather on seabreeze is getting worse by the hour i think.... so i might try and get out later today and fish till breeze comes up tomorrow....solo by the looks.....if work dosent hold me back too long...

ill be on the eastern side so if u see me strop n say hi....prolly vhs 73 if i remember to turn it on....pic under with rog's lippas

Mate i do 80% of my fishing at nite. id definately b throwing out a few shark lines 2! as long as ur boat has all the safety gear and bateries 2 power ur lights all nite, i wouldn't drift and ahve a nap thats jst asking 4 trouble!
    as 4 a movies go jaws lol!
    good luck!

snuck out to coochie late today till the tide changed at 8.40pm...3 blacktip noahs and the only bite after dark 8ish was a bloody pike eel so i called stumps... was a long day....

seebreeze and nom are not painting a good picture for sunday.....so ill only pop out tomorrow afterall.....either green or peel

anyhow been going 22 hours or so now, so zzzz time

cheers chris

G'day Chris,

Mate, I'd go out with you but did not see the post until late this evening at 22.42 hrs, been out of action earlier. I'll be at Wivenhoe Dam chasing gar tomorrow.

Let me know how you went.

well the weekends fishing is done.... glad i didn't end up overnighting last night when the heavy rain on tiled roof woke me a couple of times in the early hours

went out again yesterday till 6pm.... western side of peel island..

total catch ... 4 bream 24 to 30cm... lotsa little stuff, happy moment and what i thought was a baby cobia at first sight, but ended up a ramora (weird looking sucker )... sharks, rays, eels, whiptails (bait), my first ever fish trolling a lure.... bloody grinner, and of course snags, snags and more snags.......

sure beat working

thanks again for all the input, i'll put it to good use in the near future...

cheers chris

pics... ramora top, ramora bottom, happy moment (different to happy ending)