Rapala X RAP (Barra lollie or waste of money) - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Rapala X RAP (Barra lollie or waste of money)

Re: Rapala X RAP (Barra lollie or waste of money)

Quote Originally Posted by birko View Post
    Becoming a bit of a fan of the xrap 10, as in recent sessions I have fished with my brother he has kicked my butt by using them whilst I persisted wth plastics. He changes his hooks to make them a lot more snag proof. Doesnt appear to hurt his hook up rate as much as I thought it would so I have done the same to a couple or maybe I stole them off him. They seem to have a very very slow rise following changes

An xrap bought the only fish with session at teemburra yesterday morning in shocking conditions. But in saying the above I cant comment on the durabitly factor as all fish caught to date on the raps have been 72cm or under. I believe that Greechs, Millards and Crofts abt night at awwonga was based on xraps. Be intersting to know how many did or didnt get broken and busted durring that seesion. Lots of big fish there.

Hi Craig ..... we used the 8's & 10s at Teemburra too but I did better during the prefish than what I did the comp. ...... Unfortunately once you upgrade the hooks (10s) with STN66s you end up with a sinker - I'm actually trialing the lighter Decoy Wide gaped trebles (W77s) The shorter shank should give these hooks greater strength and reduce the chance of being opened up - Time will tell!

Yeh , the boys did well on the 12s & 13s at Awoonga - with over 30 fish landed between them during the night comp - I reckon they would have went through a few......... Then they did it all again during the evening comp.
    I managed 3 fish on 12s at Awoonga ...... and all 4 of my fish at Mondy came on a single 12 ...... the 5th fish stole it at the death

Try Decoy Pluggin Single 2/0 hooks and see what you think on the 10's. Very snag resistant and suspends with a small addition of sticky or very slow rise without. Again I have doubts with meter plus but runs on the board for the smaller fish.

Don't know what some of you blokes are on, but $24 for a lure that can be used straight out of the box is my kind of lure. Just think, a few years ago there was a cry to upgrade hooks on things like Classics, Scorpions, Tilsans etc and if that went ahead, you'd be handing out $24 for those lures today as well!

Best hardbody lure brand in the world? Definetely!

There's only one lure in the Rapala stable thats better then the X-Rap and thats the Magnum. These are such an under-rated lure IMO. The jointed X-Rap is also a big fish catcher up here though like other jointed lures shows a bit of weakness from time to time, but all other Rapala's are indestructable.
    TT

Quote Originally Posted by TinarooTriumph View Post
    Don't know what some of you blokes are on, but $24 for a lure that can be used straight out of the box is my kind of lure. Just think, a few years ago there was a cry to upgrade hooks on things like Classics, Scorpions, Tilsans etc and if that went ahead, you'd be handing out $24 for those lures today as well!

There's only one lure in the Rapala stable thats better then the X-Rap and thats the Magnum. These are such an under-rated lure IMO. The jointed X-Rap is also a big fish catcher up here though like other jointed lures shows a bit of weakness from time to time, but all other Rapala's are indestructable.

Sorry Theo .... I'm missing something in your reply - particularly the first paragraph.

????

Did I not just see people on the first page have a winge about paying top dollar for good lures? (not yourself).

No drama's. Point was made... Rapala = good
    TT

????

Did I not just see people on the first page have a winge about paying top dollar for good lures? (not yourself).

Always someone having a whinge somewhere Theo. Keep up the good work mate,

????

No dramas Theo .

I certainly see the X Rap as cut above - as far as being a great barra catching HB .... Sadly , as you know - they are not designed for barra - & suffer accordingly. -
    As for fishing them straight out of the box - Well

Quote Originally Posted by Boomi Boy View Post

Laff, I near fell off my chair

No Theo, nothing to do with you, but its true, theres allways some one some where with a whine!!

The suspender article in BBB was an eye opener, but not for any info on lures un-fortunately.

Sticky weight and 5 minute araldite, #1 and #2 Owner STN66 trebles, splits and double splits - a lure tossers mistress!

Quote Originally Posted by Boomi Boy View Post

Cheers Floyd. Hope things are well down there mate. Might be down your way sometime soon... hope to catch up!

Chris,

Havn't had any break down issues with the Rapala (sxr12) thus far, though compared to other lures it hasn't had a proper work out. Like to fish it straight from the pack (or with 6X vmc's) mainly because I find with the Owners or any other modifications it does tend to lose a substantial amount of action. Casts like a bullet, can be worked on both baitcast & spin tackle, responsive lure and the fact that is suspends (which as you say, could be the only one on the market) makes it a standout lure.

Theo
    TT

Cheers Floyd. Hope things are well down there mate. Might be down your way sometime soon... hope to catch up!

Chris,

Havn't had any break down issues with the Rapala (sxr12) thus far, though compared to other lures it hasn't had a proper work out. Like to fish it straight from the pack (or with 6X vmc's) mainly because I find with the Owners or any other modifications it does tend to lose a substantial amount of action. Casts like a bullet, can be worked on both baitcast & spin tackle, responsive lure and the fact that is suspends (which as you say, could be the only one on the market) makes it a standout lure.

Theo
    Attachment 55622 - A XR12 at the ripe old age of 20 mins - This is typical of what happens when you get both trebles in (STN 66s)

I reckon I've tossed away 6 over the last 6 months & repaired 4.

As for suspending ..... without compromising hook integrity ........ I find that a #4 (STN-66) on the rear & # 1 on the front ..... with a little sticky lead tape does the job wonderfully

There is also a floating version that came out in the last few months ( apparently for Australian use) - Its quire easy to upgrade & get to suspend

I like them.But I have also had one break without even seeing a fish and I have also one in my kick that has virtually no action whatsoever regardless of what you do with the rod tip and at $24 a piece is not ideal.
    If they break just take them back to the tackle shop you bought them from and see if they will replace them.Cant hurt.

Toddy

Quote Originally Posted by Toddy_again View Post
    I like them.But I have also had one break without even seeing a fish and I have also one in my kick that has virtually no action whatsoever regardless of what you do with the rod tip and at $24 a piece is not ideal.
    If they break just take them back to the tackle shop you bought them from and see if they will replace them.Cant hurt.

Toddy
    Hi toddy ...... how did you break it ?

The one without any action ...... does it look ok
    They dont have a naturally big action - its a fairly tight action & roll ..... but when ripped & twitched - they come to life.

I actually want to gather some together & send them to Rapala / VMC in Finland

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    Hi toddy ...... how did you break it ?

The one without any action ...... does it look ok
    They dont have a naturally big action - its a fairly tight action & roll ..... but when ripped & twitched - they come to life.

I actually want to gather some together & send them to Rapala / VMC in Finland

Gday Chris....Clipped a tree with it.I like to throw them hard but i have inflicted more carnage on other ones and they survived.That was replaced by a friendly tackleshop.I have other ones but this one in particular wont do squat regardless of rod work.Looks fine to me.Frustrating.

Toddy

Best hardbody lure brand in the world....thats a big call.

Toddy

Quote Originally Posted by Toddy_again View Post
    Gday Chris....Clipped a tree with it.I like to throw them hard but i have inflicted more carnage on other ones and they survived.That was replaced by a friendly tackleshop.I have other ones but this one in particular wont do squat regardless of rod work.Looks fine to me.Frustrating.

Toddy
    Chucking em into trees is not a good look & since they have that weight in them & fly so straight ( dont tumble) - they hit flush .

Pretty hard to send mine back to the States ....