Thread: Benefits of Transom Door ?

Benefits of Transom Door ?

A mate of mine is in the process of buying a plate ally boat (6 metre half cabin). A transom door is an option and he is wondering what the pros and cons are. Your thoughts ???

Re: Benefits of Transom Door ?

Transom doors are great while at home and sea. At home jumping in and out of the boat makes things easier. At sea snorkling/diving and pulling big fish in. If built right should be no draw backs except the extra cost which is well worth it.
    FISHING FISHING AND MORE FISHING. IS THERE ANYTHING ELSE TO DO?

My preference is not to have the door. I think it would be nice to have, but would prefer the extra storage space you get with out having the door. Also on Alchemy I have a full width, fold down seat across the transom. This would be more difficult if a door was there too.

Im with ya dave, hate them. I guess some people need them. Ive nearly come unstuck on a few boats while fighting fish, i tend to lean against the side gunnels while fighting a good fish, as the fish swim towards the stern ive gone to lean against the stern gunnel only to overballance because theres a recessed transom door...

I am all for them, every time I need to deal with the boat I thank my lucky stars I optioned it and when on the water fish can come through, wife can go out it so can 5 yo daughter snorkelling...I just love it and wouldn't consider a boat without one anymore.

Father in law who's bones are fairly broken now after years of working for the man can step into the boat at the ramp through it which was nice.

I'm for the positive, have one on a 4.8m( boat came with it, probably wouldn't have optioned it, but pleased it had it!) used mainly for freshwater , as already suggested, great for in and out at home and the ramp. Also great for kids big and small when going for a dip, tubing etc.
    Cheers Deefa

it depends on your boat usage i reckon. in a pleasure boat i reckon they're essential, in a straigh out fishing boat they're a pain.

They are great if you are into spearfishing, but the sacrifice is storage room, like dave said. Will depend on the other storage room available and your use for the boat.

I actually think they're one of the better advances in small boat design...incredibly practical particularly at home...but also great for family stuff on the water with little downside. Cant see any upside for fishing tho in small boats but nothing wrong with small sacrifice for big bonus elsewhere.

One huge advantage is access for older people...its ok for us to throw a leg over to get in and out but if you want to take your old man out then its not as easy for them. Exactly the same goes for the missus.

Most women are like taking a 70-80yo bloke out anyway ...same comfort arrangements needed.

All it ends up meaning is more versatility and even more a bonus for the 30yo with no downside that i can see...even a 20yo will find it a bit of a pain to get in and out of a 5m boat after a swim or after beaching for lunch. Ladders are necessary but still a problem unless they get deep so u can be stable. Only downside i can see is a little less storage/bait tank space.. but thats nothing.

I dont have one but would definitely prefer it when choosing a new rig...mainly for the family stuff and so the old man would come out more. Particularly like those arrangements with a small step/board and a simple fold/drop down ladder step coz they go deep and make easy access for a simple swim or anything else when out on the water.

Transom doors are definitely a good thing. Beats climbing all over the rear seat! I use it all the time to untangle things off the prop (lines, ropes, downrigger wire, etc,etc)!!!

I reckon there a necessity for us older blokes ...so glad Brett and Phil thought of me when building the Viper plate boat ...with restricted use of ones legs etc being the usual age thing ,I find the door is a godsend .
    Cheers Tezza

Saw one with a side door the other day, ...on the Starboard side.......It was parked outside Southside Marine Trimming in Yatala.

The guy was raving about it................ Says the same.........
    So easy to get gear / people / eskys / whatever, in & out.
    Don.
    "Magpie Navy." VHF 73.

It was a Woman who drove me to Drink......
    ....and I never gave her money for the Petrol......

Mine came with one...didnt think about it too much....but yep very handy at home for getting in and out...on the water ive used it a fair few times getting in and out..i really think id miss it if i was to get a boat that didnt have one...
    ..Greg...."Termites pay the bills"..... Trailcraft 475...75 Hp E-Tec

I'm another with a transom door and so glad I have it - certainly as Terry said, good for us older blokes. My battery/electrics door still doubles as a seat by hinging up so I can seat two on the transom seat. and we cut a hole in the gunnel side of the door opening, edged it with a rubber combing and it functions as our rubbish bin. I still have three 40 plus litre bins in the transom - two for live bait, one for thawing dead bait and holding other bits and pieces

On a couple of occasions where I've had an xos fish like a marlin or a huge meter plus 50 plus kg cod thing it has been a valued option for access to and from the rear platform to both manage and swim the fish off for release.

I've found it valuable and easy access when loading and unloading the boat at home and also for easy access to fuel the boat a sea.

It also functions as a dunny door for a modesty warning - anyone that looks after its slammed is fair game!

It also makes the boat more user friendly for family access to and from the beach when reversed in on those family days.

As you can probably tell I wouldn't be without it.

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

Thank you all for your replies and comments. For my mate the jury is still out but I think he will opt for the door. His main concern was loss of storage space. (one can never have enough).

Regards ... Naurts