Thread: Crabbing and Fishing The King Tide Rocky Dam Creek Sarina

Crabbing and Fishing The King Tide Rocky Dam Creek Sarina

Crabbing and Fishing The King Tide Rocky Dam Creek Sarina, am i going to catch anything on this monsterous tide of 7.1 Metres, The fresh should be gone , unless it rains tonite, Heavy rain is predicted tomorrow, but it does not look like it
    Reel Men Smoke Abu

Re: Crabbing and Fishing The King Tide Rocky Dam Creek Sarina

ive been so keen to get down there and do the same. i cant ever seem to find anyone to come with and i hate fishing on my own.

let us know how you go, mate does pretty well down that way.
    cam

Will keep you posted, Expected 200mm of rain tomorrow, That aint Livin
    Reel Men Smoke Abu

Cammo

Are you talking of the same place? Rocky Dam Creek is south of Sarina.

ColDakJak,

Good luck with fishing there this weekend. I usually fish the smaller tides as there is too much run on the bigger tides.

SEVERE RUN 7.1 metres was ripping in but going out was unbelievable, I have to go back in morning lost 3 pots, big tide has moved them, or caught on branch or such, We got 5 Crabs 1 was 182mm
    Reel Men Smoke Abu

good work hoping to get some crabs this week...

Cant recover pots today, Cyclone conditions here in Sarina today 30 to 40 knots, Last nights big rain another king tide , yhey could be anywhere by now, My loss someones gain,,,Col
    Reel Men Smoke Abu

Yep we just got power back went off at 11pm last night. I was going to test a new transducer in the harbour but not today

yeah i was talking about the same place mate

Cammo,

Then you must have shifted from Labrador?

steve

Hey ColJacDak
    Went down at xmas after all the rain and had the same drama, was a bit hairy in the tinny with all the debris coming down. Seems the smaller to mid tides are the go I think.
    Cheers Ben

Went back on Monday. No sign of any pots, First ones in since the Sunday big rain and 7metre + tide The road was washed away in places, Floating logs and crap everywhere in the river We got 3 crabs , The water was pure fresh even on the run in tide, So we pulled them up early and came home, Caught a 46cm flathead in the cast net, Only to be lost over the side by deckhand, when he decided he would bleed the fish over the side of the boat, Everyone knows what happens next, Of course the fish flicked straight out of the lip grippers, which were not on properly and gone, I had alreadly said to throw fish straight into the esky, when it came into the boat, my deck hand had already lost the Gaff, but we retrieved it, Then we got hooked on a pot broke the rope, but found it later, when rope floated, Then when we had smoko, He realised why we were having such bad luck. He Had F%&*@$G Bananas on board, 2nd time, as i had chipped him on a previous trip, NO BANANAS Bad luck, I dont think he will bring them again though. Just an old wives tail, But you never know, The legend is around for some reason...Col
    Reel Men Smoke Abu