Thread: kevlacat targa bar and also trailer setup

kevlacat targa bar and also trailer setup

Gday guys couple of questions regarding regarding how you have your trailer setup for your 5.2m kc's and also what type of targa bar/rocket launcher you are using.

My main concern is the tyre and wheel size on my trailer.. at the moment we are using 165/14 light truck with some 14inch alloys.. i do have some issues launching this rig and would find it very hard to launch on my own, and im starting to think its because of the 14inch wheels. what are you using?

rust in the very rear bar of the trailer.. im pretty good with the welder and i planned to cut the offending section out and reweld some galv tube, any suggestions for prep and finish to prevent rust on the welds and replaced tube? paint?

targa bar- pics! lots of! i havent got anything bar the bimini that came with the boat, its flimsy,attached only with plastic fittings, annoying and someone is going to pull the bast*ard down when they walk along the side soon! the targa bar i like is the one that seems to be made of fibreglass and came standard on some models of kc. was wondering if i could get some close up pics of these so i could try and fab one out of glass/wood or even ally.

as always boys, this is the best place for help with these little ripper boats and any help is greatly appreciated!
    johnny

Re: kevlacat targa bar and also trailer setup

Mate, there is a lot of questions/comments in that one paragraph.
    If you have the fibreglass targa bar my best advice is to pay the money and get a quality stainless steel bimini with launchers welded up for it. If you don't, a cheap fix will pi$$ you off for years to come!
    As for the trailer, go for your life. I just spent 3 days cutting rust out of mine and used as much primer and paint, numerous coats of each, as I could throw on it.
    If you want a contact for one of the best stainless guys on the sunny coast send me a PM.
    Cheers, Scotty.

haha it was all broken up into smaller paragraphs when i typed it out! changed format when i hit SUBMIT!

anyway thanks for the advice, i havent got a targa bar at all but im thinking of cutting the shape out of foam and glassing my own should keep me busy for a weekend!

guys any help with the tyre size your using on you 5.2m kc would be fantastic

I can get you all the info you need but it will have to be after next weekend.

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

Cheers Ian. would be a great help

Mines a 6.5, so can't help you there.

Quote Originally Posted by johntsang View Post
    Gday guys couple of questions regarding regarding how you have your trailer setup for your 5.2m kc's and also what type of targa bar/rocket launcher you are using.

My main concern is the tyre and wheel size on my trailer.. at the moment we are using 165/14 light truck with some 14inch alloys.. i do have some issues launching this rig and would find it very hard to launch on my own, and im starting to think its because of the 14inch wheels. what are you using?

rust in the very rear bar of the trailer.. im pretty good with the welder and i planned to cut the offending section out and reweld some galv tube, any suggestions for prep and finish to prevent rust on the welds and replaced tube? paint?

targa bar- pics! lots of! i havent got anything bar the bimini that came with the boat, its flimsy,attached only with plastic fittings, annoying and someone is going to pull the bast*ard down when they walk along the side soon! the targa bar i like is the one that seems to be made of fibreglass and came standard on some models of kc. was wondering if i could get some close up pics of these so i could try and fab one out of glass/wood or even ally.

as always boys, this is the best place for help with these little ripper boats and any help is greatly appreciated!
    johnny
    Hi Johnny

The 5.2 KC that I had a couple of years ago had 13" wheels,whereas the current one that I have is fitted with 14" and there is a fairly significent difference in the launching capability.
    The boat with the 14" is more difficult to launch because of the extra height of boat on trailer and therefore it needs to be submerged deeper in the water to effect a successful launch.
    It tends to make you become more aware of tide times when considering going out where the ramps are only marginal.

Kind Regards

Hinchy

Quote Originally Posted by hinchy View Post
    Hi Johnny

The 5.2 KC that I had a couple of years ago had 13" wheels,whereas the current one that I have is fitted with 14" and there is a fairly significent difference in the launching capability.
    The boat with the 14" is more difficult to launch because of the extra height of boat on trailer and therefore it needs to be submerged deeper in the water to effect a successful launch.
    It tends to make you become more aware of tide times when considering going out where the ramps are only marginal.

Kind Regards

Hinchy
    yep im hearin ya Hinchy.. i have the 14" wheels now and i previously had 13"the boat has become very difficult to launch especially up north at some of beach ramps! any way the 14"lt tyres that i have are becoming perished so im going back to 13" ltthankks

Yeah mate mine had 14's on it when I bought and I put 13's on and its heaps better now. Go the 13's. I think it even tows better, lower to the ground and less wind resistance. Much better to launch. I'll see what pics I have but stainless would be cheaper Id say.

Cheers mate, Deano.