Gday
Headed offshore on my own today and what a day it was!! Arrived at the grounds 6am and missed a fish on the troll straight away, Doh! By 6.30 am I boated a Mack tuna on spin and soon after picked up a nice Spanish on 6kg gear. Anchored on the reef and did some high speed jigging and through out the day landed all sorts of goodies and released most. Being on my own I didn’t manage a lot of photos as the swell and rocking and rolling drove me nuts trying to use the self timer. Some of the better fish were a yet another stonker Golden trevally this time on soft plastic, A bludger trevally and also I think what is a called a Tea Leaf Trevally Let all 3 trevally go but the bludger and golden went a$$ up so I dragged them back into the boat.
I later noticed a school of Yellowfin working so i drove over and threw a 60gm sniper into the chaos, and what came out blew my mind! A massive Sailfish followed the sniper right to the boat and the fish then flared up and eye balled me for what seemed like forever! Then as quick as it came it was gone! Its bill almost hit my boat!
Later on it took a massive GT to take my mind of the sail, the GT was HUGE and black as charcoal and chased a fast retrieved raider 85 gm right to the boat but turned off at the last second....Think im going to like offshore fishing up here!
The Yellowfin turned up again and I managed to spin one up before they took off.
Other than that I spun a few more Mack tuna up throughout the arvo and a school Mackeral and then called it a day.
What a day!
Here are some snaps from today, my young bloke wanted to pose with my fish lol