Offshore Mooloolaba

Thread: Offshore Mooloolaba

Offshore Mooloolaba

Left the Mooloolah river around 3.00am and headed for the banks in a mates boat. With 5 onboard his 2400 Kevlacat tangles were going to be issue even though we reguly fished together with 4 and work well. I decided to fish plastics to start with and leave the bottom bashing rigs to the mates. We pulled up near our first mark to do a drift to see our direction and rig up. Since mine was ready i dropped down and was on as soon as i got to the bottom and after a good fight the snapper in the picture was onboard. What a way to start the day but the other snapper we got through the day were around the40-60cm. Pealies were a solid size as was most of the parrot(tuskies). Rest of the catah was made up of Hussar, Maori cod, Jobies,Trag jew and Jamie got a Red emperor,a nice bonus down here.

Re: Offshore Mooloolaba

Great session there guy's

What size jigheads are you using, they look around 2oz

cheers tim

Yeah Tim was 2oz when driftingand still needed 1.5 at anchor

Quote Originally Posted by hookinin View Post
    Yeah Tim was 2oz when drifting and still needed 1.5 at anchor
    Was that due to the depth or was the current raging ??

How deep is it out at the Banks ?

cheers tim

mainly the depth. Can be anything from 40- 80m where we fish but we mainly fish 65-80m.

Some really nice fish mate and a bonus red beautiful how much did the red weigh?

cheers pete...

nice fish here
    was good to meet up at the ramp

pete

Nice work Gaven. I wish our trip out had results like that. Definitately some cracker fish. Nice to meet you at the ramp too.

Wags

Pete (indy)
    The Red went 7.5kg and the snapper about the same
    Yeah pete hopefully next time on the water
    Wags
    We were happy with the results especially for this time year

What a great catch at the banks, well done excellent red

good work there guys! as you say, nice red for down here!

So...while everyone has pelagic fever Gav sneaks out and pulls some ripper snapper and reds eh..???

Very nice fish mate.

nice work mate, it must be a myth all the snappa go to the deep.

Some good qaulity fish there mate.. well done

Quote Originally Posted by Pistol_P View Post
    So...while everyone has pelagic fever Gav sneaks out and pulls some ripper snapper and reds eh..???

Very nice fish mate.

He's not the only one Pete Some good reefies around at the moment..

Quote Originally Posted by brisbane_boy View Post
    nice work mate, it must be a myth all the snappa go to the deep.
    Yeah BB there seems to be plenty of snapper around on the sunny coast/fraser region still. I reckon they will be there and only improve as the cooler months arrive.

Awsome fish especially the Red which is not all that commoon off the banks

Goona