Tings off the Spit

Thread: Tings off the Spit

Smile Tings off the Spit

G'day all,

grabbed a bag of worms on my way through to the Spit yesterday, arrived to be greeted by a surfing comp near the sand pumping jetty.
    Oh well.... plodded down the beach past the Lifeguard tower (46 I think) taking care to note the white pointers

Fished for about 3 hours at the top of the runout tide and managed about 14 nice tings- and a handful of horse dart as well. Noticed that at the bottom of the tide, the Dart buggered off and the whiting came back on the chew.
    Interestingly- quite a few of the Dart looked like they'd been worked over, missing half their tail fins, one even had a bite out of where his dorsal fin should have been (looked like a bit out of a sarnie) An old bloke walking his dog (with the obligitory pair of budgie smugglers ) said that a few days ago a fella brought in a nice greenback using a 3-gang with pillie.... Mmmm, bit early for that aint it? (Lets hope the snapper turn up early too)
    Also managed a small flattie outta the surf, but he went back to grow up some more.
    All in all, a great day on the beach, some great views and a nice feed of tings for tea last night. Missus was duly grateful and made dessert

Tight lines all,

Jimbo

Re: Tings off the Spit

Sounds like a fantastic day, good to hear that you got a feed. You living down that way now or still in Brissy?

Ausfish Platinum Member gr hilly's Avatar

nice report jimbo i love beach fishing, but i havn't been for yrs ill have to dust down my surf rods and i might catch you one day.

tight lines hilly.

there are still plenty of big green backs on the close reefs, not sure of their habits but given the numbers out there im not surprised a few are still around off the beaches

Yeah jimbo mate we need a pic of the white pointers!,,, LOL

Bretty

Nice report mate, I've been meaning to get off my ass and make my way out to the sand pumping jetty for months now.

Thanks,
    Kaidon
    Conservation NOT preservation!

Nice one, sounds like a good day. Those big dart are heaps of fun to catch in the surf especially when you're using light whiting gear.
    Yeh this report definately needs pics

Ausfish Platinum Member craigie's Avatar

Yep don't mind the White Pointers, It's the nudie old blokes (Alex Bay Noosa) that put me off beach fishing remote locations.................

He He He, I reckon the white pointers would disperse pretty quick once the ol' camera comes out. (Is that a zoom lens in yer pocket?)
    Dave: living down this way now, just about to move down to Tweed Heads. 50m from the Terranora ramp. My new housemate caught a 47cm ting last week... I can only wait till I manage to wet a line!!!!
    As for the tailor season, I can't wait to dust off some rods I bought over from the UK, they're my dad's carp rods (yes CARP, not crap...) about 12 foot long and as whippy as you like. I'll be flinging raiders over the horizon!
    Tight lines all, I'll let you know how the fisghing is once I move in and start terrorising the local Tweed ting population.
    P.S. Anyone know if Flikflak is still about, I seem to remember he's based down Tweed way....

Nice mate, sounds like an awesome time... Boobies..haha
    Anyways back to business...
    Yeah the Tailor are back on the chew, really early, not that big in size, but still some good fun.

I asume he is, (flickflak) he is on the cover of NSW fishing monthly with a Jack, I would assume he got that from tweed.