Thread: Gulf Western oils. Any Good??

Question Gulf Western oils. Any Good??

Gidday all,
    Seeing I'm a lazy sh!t I thought I'd pick the brains trust here instead of doing the hard yards myself.
    I was looking at using Gulf Western oil for Mrs Palmer (3.0l Pajero).
    The dealer in Warwick has given me a pretty good bulk price BUT price isn't anything for me.
    I tried Valvoline but it seems to be breaking down after 3-4,000kms.
    And if you feel like it suggest another brand/type that'll be good.
    She is suppose to use 15W-40 if I remember (but don't quote me on that).
    Thanks in advance
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Re: Gulf Western oils. Any Good??

Hi Finga

Tried it once in my 97 3.5ltr Pajero and was not all that impressed,i usually work on the premise that you get what you pay for and in this case it only confirmed that.

I won't stray again so it was straight back to Penrite15 and Cooper filter,i used to always buy Ryco but now that GUD have them manufactured overseas in China ( my application at least ) i will not touch them.Don't mind the fact they are made in China but they still want to touch you up with a made in Australia price.

Sorry for getting sidetracked there finga but i HATE manufacturers that move offshore to increase there margins considerably to say the least and think we are stupid enough to not notice we are getting touched up.

Take note GUD,Bendix and others !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

DoNotFeedTheTrollsAandBelligerent

Hi Scott, i used it in my 4.2 patrol and found it held up quite well to high temps, (read mod motor) will be useing the same oil on the Landrover when it has its next service

I've had alot of people come into work wanting Magnatec and nothing else for their Pajero's. They reckon it is better than anything else they have tried. Personally I don't know what would be best. Also Repco oil is now Penrite Oil.
    Ryco have had alot of Quality control issues with their filters of late so be careful

Cheers Phil
    Grow old disgracefully

I have been using for about 5 years in all my vehicles, serviced a fleet of trucks and earth moving gear about 10 years ago and he was using it in all his vehicles.
    I buy it by the 20 litres.

Gidday Robbie.
    Mate, A good friend of mine uses it exclusively in all his trucks and earthmoving gear and I found out Mack has put the seal of approval on it as OEM replacement so it must not be too bad.
    But their oil for petrol powered cars may not be as good as the diesel stuff. I don't know.
    Seeing my mate buys the stuff in bulk I'll be getting a decent price through him....ie I'll probably have to spend a 1/2 day driving the tipper for oil for a year.
    I might just give it a try before I get the 200l drum I suppose.

It's been amasing how quick the kilometers are clocking up in the Pajero.
    We've had it 3 months and done 10,000km's.

Well I asked Gulf Western fella the question about oil and I also asked if their diesel oil (Top Dog XDO and Top Dog Global) could be used in the Pajero and the kind gentleman said yep, no worries as they meet and exceed the specs. for the petrol Pajero.
    So there you go. The Pajero is going to have a go at the Top Dog XDO.
    Do you fella's think I'm nuts or not??

The specs for each is below:
    Premium Gold (petrol oil) http://www.gulfwestern.com.au/Premium%20Gold.html
    Top Dog XDO (Diesel) http://www.gulfwestern.com.au/Top%20Dog%20XDO.html
    Top Dog Global (Diesel) http://www.gulfwestern.com.au/Top%20Dog%20Global.html

Cheers then

Quote Originally Posted by Mad-One View Post
    I've had alot of people come into work wanting Magnatec and nothing else for their Pajero's. They reckon it is better than anything else they have tried. Personally I don't know what would be best. Also Repco oil is now Penrite Oil.
    Ryco have had alot of Quality control issues with their filters of late so be careful

Cheers Phil

Hi Mad One

Penrite house branding Repco oils,is this a recent change ?. Mobil were there supplier last i heard.If what you say is correct then Repco oil is a option for me the next time my Jerry is due.

DoNotFeedTheTrollsAandBelligerent

I have used the TC3W oil in the Johno for a while now and find it ok. Got the sh!ts with Valvoline they put the oil on special, about $9 off I thought great till I noticed it was 4ltr not the usual 5ltr. Wonder how many they caught?
    Tight lines <*)(((((((((><