Get yourself one of these mate - Run her down the anchor rope to desired depth, they work a treat.
http://www.rjayz.com.au/
I fish offshore at Cairns and have never tried berleying up at all in deep water.
I mean getting berley working effectively in say 40 - 50 metres or more of water. Would appreciate some expertise on what you have found that works.
Get yourself one of these mate - Run her down the anchor rope to desired depth, they work a treat.
http://www.rjayz.com.au/
The burley cannisters work and you can easily make your own out of some 90/100 PVC stormwater pipe if necessary. However in 40-50m of water you're not really going to anchor up.
If you are into making your own burley ie. old bait, fish scraps from previous outings, old bread, tuna oil etc. make up a 10L bucket full of the stuff and mix it real well; add a little bit of water to help if necessary. Pour mixture into 2L ice cream containers and freeze it. Pop them out and wrap in old paper or something (to try and keep somewhat frozen for the trip out).
When out at your fav spot, un wrap and drop whole thing over the edge. Will get to the bottom and start to defrost and slowly let off bits and pieces.
Experiment with mixtures ie. ones that stay together the longest and ones that wont defrost before you get out to your spot.
Trial and error. Have fun.
PS. If you have an old small esky (6 packer or something) separate from fish esky take that with a couple of freezer blocks to keep your burley blocks frozen.
brown paper bag full of pilles. use a rubber band to keep the bag closed. hook the bag by the rubber band to a hook, on the usual paternoster rig. lower it to the bottom. by the time it gets to the bottom the bag is soaked. a couple of hard pulls on the line and the bag bursts letting the berley out near the bottom. the rubber band comes back up on the hook.
mate you can burly in deep water, i've done it in about 30-35 before on the reef and it was really good... we have a stainless cage made up that we put the burley in, the only other thing i have to add is if your fishing for reds and nannies which i presume you are in them depths up here don't put it on your anchorline.. if you do make sure it is on the chain on the bottom... not as effective but the sharks will bite through your anchor rope... wasn't a cheap experiment when we tried that...
Nidrac..
Yes! exactly the reason why i decided not to own one of those for burly at any decent depth, been there done that with home made plastic pipe many years ago.
BCF has a taylor made SS cage with a weighted flap at the bottom that can be packed and lowered, berly released then pulled back up, i had one for a little while and was suspending it next to the boat to attract surface fish but I forgot about it and left the scene without pulling it in.....up till then it did work as a release berly bomb at depths to 40m without too much flow, i zip tied 2 snapper sinkers to the side of it as a helper. Use a non stretch cord otherwise even the biggest tug may not make it to the bomb...been there too
There is one called the secret weapon burly bomb, it works good John. Go into Bransfords, they got them in store.
Your line goes through the hole in the top and ties off at the two small holes at the bottom of the door. When you send it down, just jiggle it around giving slack line and the door will open spilling the content.
Hey Rob,
Is this them?
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Black-Pete-Bu...item53df2a1182
How much can they hold? Also is that a competitive price?
Pazz
Yeah Pazz, that's the one. That's pretty much the same price i think as the store.
They don't hold heaps of burly, but enough to get them chewing. I use the ultrabite pellets or mashed up pillies with tuna oil.
Ha Ha ! Sharks are no holds barred! Ive had then bite tru 12 mm anchor rope at night when trying to surgically remove nice large mouth which got tangled around it. It does get expensive!!
Im enjoying all this , and am inclined to think the bomb ides is best as then there is no complications with retrieving the anchor. For example I retieve anchor with the float idea , as pulling it up from 55 metres down is hard work all night.
The chain has to come thru the ring on the float right to the anchor , so if the berley container is on that chian it aint gonna work.
You can then control your berleying plan by bombing when you think necessary rather than wasting your mix?
yeah the sharks made quick work of our rope... didn't even know it happened, only realised when we were traveling at 5km/h instead of the normal 1/2km/h... in terms of controling how much gets despersed you could do it anyway you like, only putting a bit in and pulling it up evertime you want to put more out, having smaller holes in whatever you are using or the way we do it is use old fish frames and cut them up with a hatchet that way its not just mincemeat that way the waves (or you pulling on the rope) shakes it so the pieces come out bit by bit rather than straight at once... easiest way is just experiment and whatever works for you...
Nidrac..
I use the burley bomb the same as the link Pazz put up
IF IT CAN'T EAT A WHOLE PILLY I DON'T WANT IT
John,
We use RJAYZ with a couple of weights in the canister and use a down rigger to send it to what depth you want, you can see it on your sounder or use some fine rope, another on the surface out the back and what a differance its made, we have used it for a while and its so easy.
cheers Sam..