Awonga...Am I forgetting anything?

Thread: Awonga...Am I forgetting anything?

Awonga...Am I forgetting anything?

Well here goes.... Come Friday morning at 3.00AM us NSW westy's are heading to Awonga to see what we can encounter!

I am a first time "impoundment barra chaser", but I am fortunate enough to be heading up with a few lads who have fished the impoundment many a time, and caught some cracking fish. What I wanted to ask was is there somthing, maybe some crucial element, that I have overlooked in my preperation in my quest to land my first metery???

*The rods and lp baitcast reels are locked and loaded with 30lb for the cast, and 50lb for the troll (Bionic)

*40lb, 60lb and 80lb leader ready to be tied on (with knots well rehearsed)

*5 inch modified hollowbellies rigged with treble stinger in place/slick riggs/etc ready for action

*RMG's, Classic's and all the usual suspects in the lure box with trebles and split rings upgraded to owners

*MASSIVE Landing net borrowed and ready for wetting........

Is there an element on the fishing side that I have overlooked in my prep to visit Lake Awonga for the first time??? Cheers, Pod.

Re: Awonga...Am I forgetting anything?

Yep your going 1 and half hours to far north nah just joking good luck i am heading to mondy

shane

I am also a mexican heading north in a few weeks for our third attempt at Awoonga. Good luck poddy mullett, don't be disallusioned if you end with a donut, it is the hardest fishing I have done for no result, but is very addictive.

Could someone advise if there is still plenty of concrete at the end of the ramp...I note the level is a bit lower than our last trip.

Poddy Mullet,

Sounds like you have got it pretty much covered with maybe the exception of a few frogs and tango dancers etc. I was out yesterday arvo and the only interest i could raise was on surface. 2 missed fish with a few other follows on frogs Also not sure why you went with 50 pound for trolling?

Ian,

Still concrete for a bit longer

Shane,

I think you need to do the extra hour and a half one day, it might just surprise you

Cheers Shaun

HI Shaun
    I keep wanting to get there but it is a bit far for a weekend and last time i went for a week my intension was to do a days fishing up there but it is hard to leave fish to find fish so maybe september this year

shane

Pod, if you intend to fish at night, make sure you well prepared for night fishing. Also take some supa glue for insurance on you knots. Don't forget plenty of patience! All the best - RC

Hey Poddy I would grab a map from Foxies on the way past .
    Cheers Gav

Quote Originally Posted by rc@hinze View Post
    Pod, if you intend to fish at night, make sure you well prepared for night fishing. Also take some supa glue for insurance on you knots. Don't forget plenty of patience! All the best - RC

Sounds like you got it covered mate, just pack your patience, sense of humour and some cold beer and happy days.
    My one tip, dont glue your foot to the electric pedal like another barra fisho we all know

Hey Poddy ..... how long are you heading up for ?

Ausfish Platinum Member warrior's Avatar

a mate just arrived back and make sure you put in the frogs and tango dancers he said they had around 30 hookups in 3 days on them big fish too

Ausfish Platinum Member Steve B's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    Sounds like you got it covered mate, just pack your patience, sense of humour and some cold beer and happy days.
    My one tip, dont glue your foot to the electric pedal like another barra fisho we all know
    oooy Brian...I still feel pain you know!!

I am thinking of heading up to Awoonga, maybe thurs arvo..interesting reports coming out. Looking forward to a different fishing dam! Sorry I cant hang around and catch up with ya poddy. would have been good.

Cheers Steve

NAGG, will be there for a week. The full moon is scheduled for the 24th if I am right, so plenty of night fishing is on the cards.

A bloke told me the other day "Mate, they are just like big bass, just get in the frame of mind like you do for them and you will get one...."

Would you agree with this call???

TOSSIE, Do you reckon the 50lb is to heavy for the troll???

Quote Originally Posted by poddy mullet View Post
    NAGG, will be there for a week. The full moon is scheduled for the 24th if I am right, so plenty of night fishing is on the cards.

A bloke told me the other day "Mate, they are just like big bass, just get in the frame of mind like you do for them and you will get one...."

Would you agree with this call???
    No ! ........ Though at a place like Mondy you can encounter bass in the same locations. .... ( I certainly dont fish for bass like I do for barra)

I was going to suggest calling into Mondy for a couple of days ......... very different to Awoonga & if the conditions are bad ( big winds) Mondy can offer some cover.

Awoonga is a great place ....... Spend half a day just looking around ( troll if you like..... learn the lay of the land)

Use the conditions / wind ...... main basin points & bays ..... are good starting places ( take a good sand anchor with you ....... the winds can really get up at Awoonga) ....... If you see areas where the wind is really pushing onto and you have deeper water shoaling with a weed or hard bank ........ Anchor ( well off) & cast away ..... close to the shore / weed ....... be patient

Trolling is popular too ........ so dont discount it

Ausfish Platinum Member darylive's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by poddy mullet View Post
    TOSSIE, Do you reckon the 50lb is to heavy for the troll???

Pod the 50 is to battle the trees more so than the fish if you are trolling open water you could use lighter leader .

Most of my Money is spent on Booze and Fishin.
    The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............