Bay session

Thread: Bay session

Bay session

Well the plan was to meet at timddo's at 3am and head to scarby to drop the boat in and make our way to hutchie's. Seabreeze said cape moreton was windy so we thought about a session offshore the goldy. timddo said bugger it lets do a bay mackeral session. We dropped in at whyte island and made our way out into the bay and stopped at a beacon where there was no other boats. we chucked some metal slugs around and dropped some ganged pillies in but couldnt raise a scale. 5-10 mins later and there was like 15 boats working the beacon, timddo said lets make a move and try a few other beacons. We tryed a few other beacons but there was so many boats on every beacon so i made the call to head to look for some good ground in the middle of the bay. we found a good spot that was holding heaps of bait and timddo dropped down a ganged pilly and was instantly smashed, up came a decent size grass sweetlip. i quickly dropped down my soft plastic and it was hammered by a nice size gold spot cod. We kept working the same area but it went quiet after those 2 fish. timddo then said we should check out another beacon and as we headed towards a beacon we noticed there was no boats at all. we anchored up and jigged up a few yakka's and sent a couple down right next to the beacon. timddo then decided he needed to take a leak and headed up towards the bow area. as soon as he walked around to the bow of the boat one of the livies took off like a rocket, i quickly ripped the rod out of the holder and smashed the drag lever up to full drag. the reel was losing line fast and i thought the fish was going to spool me. when he slowed down i started giving it to him and after around 9-10 minutes i saw the beast comming up from the depths. timddo got a nice clean gaff shot near his head then struggled to lift him into the boat. i told timddo to take a few photo's on my camera and he laughed as i struggled to hold the fish up. i grabbed the fish in the gills for the photos but accidently ruptured some veins in his throat and he pi$$ed out blood all over my flash gulp shirt and columbia pants. After that we headed to mud and chucked plastics but there was no fish around so timddo said let's go and drop a couple of yakka's in the river for threadfin. after sitting there for about an hour without a touch we called it a day.

Thanks for taking me out again timddo and i hope you enjoy the longtail, cheers for giving me your grass sweetlip too

Anyway i dont care if i have made any spelling mistakes, after an hour's sleep last night and a few JD and cola's im pretty pi$$ed

cheers tim

Re: Bay session

Nice longie Tim,

One of the best bleeders around...

Quote Originally Posted by Pistol_P View Post
    Nice longie Tim,

One of the best bleeders around...

It's a shame it bled everywhere, it spoils the photo

I cleared a few rod's out of the way before the photo was taken but a few still seemed to make there way into the photo, not a Pistol_P quality photo but i'm still learning, one day my pictures will be as good as yours mate.

I never weighed the longie do you think it would have gone 15kg's ???

cheers tim

Quote Originally Posted by TIM D View Post
    It's a shame it bled everywhere, it spoils the photo

I cleared a few rod's out of the way before the photo was taken but a few still seemed to make there way into the photo, not a Pistol_P quality photo but i'm still learning, one day my pictures will be as good as yours mate.

I never weighed the longie do you think it would have gone 15kg's ???

cheers tim
    mmm....looks maybe 13-14kg.....hard to say though as some are quite thick.

Last week I had a go from the rocks and saw two come past that were well over 20kg.

Very hard to entice them though....sometimes a livie is the only way to go.

One of the most enjoyable reports that I have read for a while. Many thanks.

You need a bigger esky!

Good work there Tim , good fighting fish those longtails, and even better eating.
    Cheers MM

Quote Originally Posted by charleville View Post
    One of the most enjoyable reports that I have read for a while. Many thanks.

You need a bigger esky!

I'm usually pretty slack when it comes to doing big long reports but being so tired and half pi$$ed i thought what the hell.

As for the bigger esky, timddo's boat has a big kill tank under the floor so next time we might fill that with ice.

cheers tim

Quote Originally Posted by madmackrel View Post
    Good work there Tim , good fighting fish those longtails, and even better eating.
    Cheers MM

Yeah they certainly go hard, how was your esky looking yesterday, any keepers ??

cheers tim

i read in either bush and beach or fishing monthly , one of the guys writes a "weird bits" section , he said he takes tampons with him to put in the gaff hole to absorb the blood long enough to take a photo , so the fish looks clean with no blood running out,, might be worth a try ??

Hi Tim good report mate, i caught you telling every one on channel 21 yesterday, i was out side in my mates boat testing his trim tabs, the bar was so tempting we went over it, and went out to the bait grounds and cleaned up on bonito, we now have enough bonito to last the next few months.
    headed out to the Pearlie grounds plenty shows but sadly no action, ended up being a good day just to be out on the water.

Eric

Quote Originally Posted by mookyandlumpy View Post
    i read in either bush and beach or fishing monthly , one of the guys writes a "weird bits" section , he said he takes tampons with him to put in the gaff hole to absorb the blood long enough to take a photo , so the fish looks clean with no blood running out,, might be worth a try ??
    Hahahaha thats extreme, i wonder if maternity pads would work, the wife's got plenty of those at the moment :grin:

cheers tim

Quote Originally Posted by ozassassin View Post
    Hi Tim good report mate, i caught you telling every one on channel 21 yesterday, i was out side in my mates boat testing his trim tabs, the bar was so tempting we went over it, and went out to the bait grounds and cleaned up on bonito, we now have enough bonito to last the next few months.
    headed out to the Pearlie grounds plenty shows but sadly no action, ended up being a good day just to be out on the water.

Eric
    G'day Eric, i was keeping in touch with Goldfinch and Madmackeral on 21 yesterday, you should have said g'day. What boat were you testing the trim tab's on and did they make a big difference. timddo has trim tabs on his Tabs boat and it handles awesome for a tinny. cleaning up on bonito is better than catching nothing and as you said at least the bait freezer is stocked now.

We will have to organise another session soon, bait vs soft plastics

cheers tim

your on mate i need you to show me how this soft plastics work, we were in a 6mt seafarer the one we were travailing with the day we went out it has a new 225 Yamaha 4st the tabs worked a treat, but the ass end seats to low in the water, need to get it up will be tiring a whale tail next to see how that goes, not to good going over the bar with the ass end that low in the water i can tell you. Just to let you know how bad it was, we used 130lit of fuel for the day from 08:30 - 16:30 the motor was working to hard all day to try an keep the boat on the plain at low speed. Steve will be taking the boat in today for it first service so will see what happens now or what he tries next.

Nice work Tim, good to see some one getting onto some Longtail action, can't wait for more of them to show and and start doing the longtail trips. Very nice fish for the bay.

Nice one Timmy. Shame you don't eat fish!!!

Was good chatting to you guys yesterday. Keeps it interesting to hear what all the Ausfishers are catching. There was a heap of bonito out there. We jigged a bunch for the freezer as well. Lost a couple on live rigs to sharks or Wahoo.

dave

nice work Tim, good to see the LT's are still hanging around. we were smashing them from the western beach on Moreton last Sept. they were going 20kg so i'd say just on size alone yours would be in the 12-15kg range. don't they bolt when they fell the pinch, nothing better i reckon than seeing line quickly disappear from the reel. 2 thumbs up mate.

p.s. wear the country road outfit next time hey.

matt
    c'mon, take the bait....

Quote Originally Posted by ozassassin View Post
    your on mate i need you to show me how this soft plastics work, we were in a 6mt seafarer the one we were travailing with the day we went out it has a new 225 Yamaha 4st the tabs worked a treat, but the ass end seats to low in the water, need to get it up will be tiring a whale tail next to see how that goes, not to good going over the bar with the ass end that low in the water i can tell you. Just to let you know how bad it was, we used 130lit of fuel for the day from 08:30 - 16:30 the motor was working to hard all day to try an keep the boat on the plain at low speed. Steve will be taking the boat in today for it first service so will see what happens now or what he tries next.
    I'm always happy to teach bait fisherman the art of soft plastic fishing, If Steve is going to fit a hydrofoil tell him to fit the Permatrim, they are far better than any other hydrofoil on the market and they match the exact colour of the outboards leg unlike other hydrofoil's.

He can get one here - http://www.marinedirect.com.au/catalogue/category336

cheers tim

Quote Originally Posted by Goldfinch View Post
    Nice one Timmy. Shame you don't eat fish!!!

Was good chatting to you guys yesterday. Keeps it interesting to hear what all the Ausfishers are catching. There was a heap of bonito out there. We jigged a bunch for the freezer as well. Lost a couple on live rigs to sharks or Wahoo.

dave
    Amanda was happy for me to trade the tuna for the sweetlip, plus timddo had a big family do on today so his family would of had a good feed with that tuna.

It is fun chating on the radio, especially during quiet times when there is no action.

If your keen on a mid weeker this week Dave let me know, any day except tuesday. I have some lures and skirts pre rigged with wire we can troll now too.

cheers tim