-
Fish ID.
Not to sure on this one, had a few suggestions from mate's like happy moment john dorey or a suckle fish what do you guys reckon? they put up one hell of fight caught 11 all up.
-
Re: Fish ID.
It's a Butterfish. Some might call it a Scat. Don't get stung by the buggers. Ouch!
-
Hey mate, people call them john dorey, but they are not. They are a striped butter fish. They have rough skin like a shark. I think they can give you a nasty sting with there dorsal fin. I have caught heaps of them in the cast net, also caught a massive one at jurassic lake.
Marty.
-
They're not bad eating actually.
-
-
Ausfish Addict
-
Ausfish Gold Member
scaterfaydrus...... not to sure on spelling... sting like a happy moment... i had a amazing session once and caught them on on those blue jellyfish heads once after i saw 45cm plus ones chopping into the jelly's... so i went down and grabbed a blue jelly fish and cut the tenticles off and floated out a strip only to get nailed staight away..... quite a common aquarian fish as well...... by the way
how come we never see those blue jelly fish anymore??????
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Saw plenty of brown jellies today, but only a couple of blue ones too!
-
Ausfish Addict
Beautiful to eat when skinned, remove poison spines by pliers first