Thread: Fish ID.

Fish ID.

Not to sure on this one, had a few suggestions from mate's like happy moment john dorey or a suckle fish what do you guys reckon? they put up one hell of fight caught 11 all up.

Re: Fish ID.

It's a Butterfish. Some might call it a Scat. Don't get stung by the buggers. Ouch!

Hey mate, people call them john dorey, but they are not. They are a striped butter fish. They have rough skin like a shark. I think they can give you a nasty sting with there dorsal fin. I have caught heaps of them in the cast net, also caught a massive one at jurassic lake.
    Marty.

They're not bad eating actually.

Yep, nasty sting alright ...personally tested their stingability when throwing a castnet one night! Got 3 of the suckers and managed to get spines in 4 seperate fingers squeeled like a cat and hand swelled up like a baseball glove!

My mate (i think!) nearly died laughing...he had never seen such a big hand!

Fight hard, sting hard!

scaterfaydrus...... not to sure on spelling... sting like a happy moment... i had a amazing session once and caught them on on those blue jellyfish heads once after i saw 45cm plus ones chopping into the jelly's... so i went down and grabbed a blue jelly fish and cut the tenticles off and floated out a strip only to get nailed staight away..... quite a common aquarian fish as well...... by the way

how come we never see those blue jelly fish anymore??????

Saw plenty of brown jellies today, but only a couple of blue ones too!

Beautiful to eat when skinned, remove poison spines by pliers first