It's a small Maori cod . Size limit 45cm - bag limit of 5
I've found after trial and error that 60lb trace will bag you some spotties. After the third fish, replace the leader.
Went out looking for a feed of whatever from the Bay yesterday, and had a decent day!
Met up with Ian (Baggersace) at Wello Ramp at 5am, headed out to Harries to try for snaps on SP, but just got undersized and bite offs, so I dropped a slug and after several casts, I hook and land a nice spottie around 75cm. Good start, but we kept spinning slugs for another half hour or so for no more action, so we gave up and headed North towards the Sandhills of Moreton.
On the way we came across a few schools of Spotties, with birds working, unfortunately had to drive past them as we were still in the Green Zone. Once north of the Zone we had a go at a few schools - casting 30 - 40gram slugs, but struggled to get close enough to the action before they went down, and didn't come up again. We got close enough to the action once, and Ian hooked up - only to get bitten off.
Any spotty tips appreciated because we are novices.
After an hour of no luck, we headed in and dropped crab pots. Then headed north looking for spotties, but none north of big sandhill. Went to the E beacons and had a go around them for one baby Amberjack on Gulp minnow, an unidentified cod looking thing, and a bonito for Ian.
No spotties there so back to check pots, 5 good sandies! + starfish! Then went chasing birds again for an hour or so, but the action had stopped. Birds resting, no chopping.
Back to pots, 2 more sandies plus heaps of starfish!? I then decided to have a go for whiting. We had no bait, so started with Gulp Camo worms, and turtleback worms. Started off get baby snaps, grinners, and toads, including a huge one that spat up bits of squid.
So we moved spots, and got onto the whiting. Use the coughed up squid as well as Gulp. We started going alright, and with an an hour or two we had 31 keepers. I also had a squid jig out as we were drifting along and got one squid, with a bunch of his mates, following - we tried to rig up another jig, but had a big tangle and the school left before we could get anymore.
Called it quits around 1.30pm, pulled the pots for no more sandies? Saw a couple of schools on the way home, but they were baby bonito - caught two. No more spotty schools.
Decent trip, home until the last 10 minutes near Wello, she was a bit lumpy.
So last night was a seafood smorgasboard, with Sandies, Calamari, whiting and Mackeral. More crab for lunch, and two more feeds of fillets in the freezer - and that was just the half of the catch I took home.
Ian and I have been trying to align schedules and get good weather since christmas, so it was great to finally get out there. We'd have loved to get onto the spotties more, but they were small schools - very flightly. Its great to have so many options out there. A great way to spend the day!
Hopefully we can do it again soon,
It's a small Maori cod . Size limit 45cm - bag limit of 5
I've found after trial and error that 60lb trace will bag you some spotties. After the third fish, replace the leader.
Nice feed there Matt
That cod is a small Maori Cod
cheers tim
Very tasy mixed feed there Mat, gotta be happy with that.
Cheers Wal
I reckon that I saw you catch that spottie at Harry's yesterday. Well done!
I did my annual "Now I know why I never fish at the Harry Atkinson Artificial Reef" trip to Harry's yesterday.
Apart from lots of undersized snapper and an occasional stone fish, all I have ever caught there of any worth has been a number of school mackerel - which is really what I was hoping for yesterday. Alas, no luck on that yesterday so let it be known that on Wednesday 13 January 2010. I had my annual trip to Harry's.
Good luck to you for making the best of the day's outing.
Thats a very nice mixed bag. I always have a squid jig at the ready around any of the weedbeds inside Moreton.
Wags, we were only using 30 and 40lb leaders, so we'll give the 60lb a go next time.
Thanks for the ID, Wags and Tim.
Charleville, yeah it always has plenty of boats in attendence, I did well last trip on snapper, but not even a decent bite this time. Lucky there were other spots to try. The whiting and sandies saved the day.
The only thing wrong with getting into bay fishing, is that now I want a bigger boat.
Forget the leader I always tie straight to the mainline. You're just going to decrease strikes dramatically and get bitten off at the leader knot. I use 15lb mainline and small slugs. If you're getting bitten of then you're doing the right thing.
And wind faster!
Well done Matt. Looks like the hills is becoming a fav spot for you now.
Good to see you getting some fish over there.
One day I will get there, one day
Lee
Well done mate sounds like a great day out!!
did u get a pick of the aj?
Well done matt that is one great feed!