Nice work, especially on the lures. any ships alongside there last night? Cheers Andrew
Decided to change tactics yesterday after a few long day sessions resulted in just a couple of threadies and small jew hitting the deck. I spent the day on boat maintenance which included fixing the nav lights so headed out for a night session.
Along for the ride was my brother for his first threadie session. We started in the late afternoon and managed a few nice squire that found their way into the esky (haven't caught many squire lately so this was a welcome bycatch). We were waiting for the tide to change which ended up being a lot later than we expected - we were hoping to get onto a few right on dusk but the run didn't start to after 8pm. With the wife, two year old, and minus three week old tucked in bed down the coast with her parents I had a leave pass to stay out late so we spent plenty of time sounding around until we found the right conditions.
My brother was first to hook up after casting in close to a pylon that lit the water around it. Fortunately its initial run was out from the pylon and I floored the electric to give us some space. My brother did really well at subduing the fish and had it in the boat in no time - his first threadie at 99cm and wasn't he excited. Now I don't like being outfished in my own boat so we weren't leaving until I squared the ledger. Over the next half an hour I managed two more good fish one going 104cm and the other a similar size to my brother's that was released without being taken from the water.
It was well worth the effort staying out late and worth the time searching for the fish. All fish including the squire were caught on Tranzams.
P.S. Have also had a few sessions with good mate Franco lately and although we haven't exactly slayed the fish we have managed a few nice ones including Francos first threadie at 116cm.
Nice work, especially on the lures. any ships alongside there last night? Cheers Andrew
Andrew, there weren't any ships in yesterday - haven't really fished those areas much when the ships have been in but I know the threadies still show up.
Good effort Ollie. Good to see you are getting into a few while they are still around. Cheers for the write up.
Hey Oliver, some nice fish mate. I'll catch you on the water soon. any size to the pinkies mate?
Chief, have been out a few times of late and have been keeping an eye out for you. Squire were all in the high 30's not huge but good eating size - found them in tight to cover but got told to move on by port security, so there may have been more. Maybe you could clear up the rules for me with regard to distance from wharves as in the last few weeks I have been told 60m by a female officer, 30m by the port security boat and 40m on the weekend - any thoughts? The oil terminals also have 50m signs on them and the port security in that spot only told us to get back 30m. Very confusing.....
http://www.portbris.com.au/operation...y/restrictions
hope this link works OB1 but the complaints are endless with the port security and there nazi approach to fisherman at times. other times they are ok but go to this link print it out and keep it in the boat and if they tell you any different to 30 meters hand them this and tell them they should learn their own rules. Cheers Andrew
http://www.portbris.com.au/operation...y/restrictions
Thanks Andrew , they certainly are the little Hitler parade. Interestingly it is the land based guys who seem to be the worst, they get their backs up even though we're a good cast back from the wharf.
some nice fish amoungst them boys. Franco told me all his studies were finished. good to see him with a "rod" (fishing rod) in his hands again.
Cheers whytey
If you wish to learn more about reading and getting the most from your Lowrance units or learning more about fishing with artificial baits I will come out in the comfort of your own boat for one on one coaching. Please call for more information.
Hi Oliver, haven't been on the water much mate, Xmas was hectic and my daughter just had our first grandchild so we were just caught up in family stuff but i threw the boat in solo for a bream session yesterday arvo and they were chewing so I had a fun session on the light stuff. As for the wharves we need to stand our ground. Mate i've been 50ms away from the wharves and harrassed by the walking security yelling at me I'm 2 close but the port one always comes thro and passes by as we are the right distance. It's usually the women guards that have no idea of distance and yell like banchee's. It's funny sometimes you won't see them for days and then its a mad panic as if your going to blow up the wharves. The consistancy is a joke. The only thing they achieve is spoiling a trip out fishing, it's in no way a security measure. There is in no way you could justify their worth to us as tax payers.
Whytey I see the idea of me in a bikini holding a big, wet, slimy fish and holding my fishing rod ala NAFA style makes you hot under the collar! LOL!
Let me know when you need crew - just finished shift work as well and get one day off during the week so should be a goer. Olle will be MIA soon with baby due so being boatless I have to be nice to my friends again Ha Ha!
Catch ya soon