Thread: Bit of fun with the boys

Bit of fun with the boys

• Went for a fish landbased on the river last Friday. Took my 11 year old nephew and son for a session. Stopped off at BCF Cannon Hill and ran into Garreth (Chief's son) It was nice to meet you mate!! Had not had too much hope for the day but managed to land a few good jew and have a bit of fun entertaining the boys. I caught a fish in the net which puzzled me as to what it could be. Was around 35 cm and my best guess would be a drummer or black bream, if anyone has some thought I would be most appreciated, anyway another new species to add to the list. Hope everyone has a great year and hope the weather gets a little better fishing wise.

Re: Bit of fun with the boys

the fish is a luderick or blackfish not bad eating if they fresh. those jewies would have been great fun for the kids, even at that size they put up a good fight. cheers BK

...of all the liars among mankind, the fisherman is the most trustworthy. ~William Sherwood Fox.

nice session mate,
    yeah definately a luderick or black bream there,

those jewies aint bad size, well done!

Yeah great stuff awesome jewies!!!

i would of thought thats pretty strange getting luderick that far up!! must not b alot of fresh in the river!!
    simon

Rat king- yeah suprised me I didn't think you could get luderick around the city reaches!!

Question Re: Bit of fun with the boys

Nice work especially good fun for the boys.

Could someone help me out a bit with identifying jew / mulloway. I have only ever caught one big one in the surf at sunshine Beach near Noosa a very long time ago at night. It weighed 24 pound on the old scale so about 11kg. I can't remember the colour of the fins etc only it was very silvery, and i just assumed it was a jew.

The Qld Government fish identification website describes jewfish as having black fins, and mulloway with having grey or brown ones.

The pictures here show yellow / brown fins.

I hope to start doing some fishing in the river soon in our big tinny.

many thanks

pilly61

Nice work mate, River doesn't look to bad after that fresh. Threw the boat in yesterday arvo and pinned a few bream on lures off some sticks and the water looked pretty green and clear around Colmslie reach, I reckon we will have a cracker year.