snap-off, lost rod, snap off, 80 cm snap!!

Thread: snap-off, lost rod, snap off, 80 cm snap!!

snap-off, lost rod, snap off, 80 cm snap!!

Gedday Ausfishers,
    Went around the cape this morning for my first try at trolling skirts with Derek(Dezzer) and Terry. Plan b was to bounce some placcies later in the day. Launched at Scarby at 4:30am at had the first skirts out at Hutchies by 5:30ish. Not much happened until my old penn o/head went off bout 6:30 and after a short tussle a good fish was lost due to (a) angler error, don't touch the drag!! and (b) lazy rigging, don't tie 50lb braid straight to a mono loop!! Trolled some more and a bit later my mate Terry's rod was in the rod holder screwed to the transom when it got hit, broke the rod holder and dissapeared over the back into the briney!!!! If anyone has an o/head they want to sell cheapish, let me know. I feel I owe him one!!
    After trolling until about 9:30 with only one short run but no hook up placcies were sent over on some good looking ground. Derek got snapped off by a good fish, placcies were getting hits until I got a great hit and hooked into what felt like nice fish. After a couple of good runs, i turned his head and soon had him boatside where he was neatly netted by Derek. He went just on 80cm and I gave to him mate Terry to releive some of the pain of his lost rod. Not long after, we had to go ( I had to be at work by 2:00 ) so WOT across the bay and back at Scarby by 12:00. Hopefully Derek will post the piccy of the snap later.
    Can't wait to get back out there and go again!!!

Cheers.....Terry..................

Re: snap-off, lost rod, snap off, 80 cm snap!!

Thanks mate for the trip

Sounds like a fun trip, but occasionally things don't always go to plan do they? I know the snap off feeling all too well and need to try again soon!!

Nice Snap!

No worries Derek. See when you get back from the coal.

It was a nice snap (went just over 6kg's) Scalem but one of them days when I felt we should have had more fish in the esky. I have not done much trolling so it's all a learning curve for me. Learnt a bit today so just have to get back out there and have another crack and it will be soon!!

Cheers......Terry.................

sorry to hear about the rod loss.
    when trolling i connect up a safty line to the reel and other end to the bollard make them about 2mts long so as you can still remove it from the rod holder while hooked up.
    sometimes if you get a strike and not hook up rod can flick back and up out of the holder.
    i make mine out of 400lb wire 49 strand then coated in heat shrink so as not to scratch the boat. s/steel release clip.

regards mark