Thread: An education for Eelman in the Passage

An education for Eelman in the Passage

Got out nice and early from Donnybrook with Robersl just after 4:30 this morning. Shane was kind enough to offer his knowledge and time so that I could start to get some fish in the esky instead of coming back empty handed all the time.
    We were primarily chasing whiting. After trying several of the usual spots, with only the small bream on the bite we had worked our way up to the top of coochin where I decided to pull out the prawnstar and chase lizards. With almost immediate success, I hooked a beautiful 61cm specimen and got it in the esky. Not what we were chasing, but a PB for me.
    After some more time there and no more lizards and no whiting around, we moved on. Another spot and same story. No whiting, but Shane was into the bream, pulling in several small and one nice grunter bream.
    We moved back down to Lime Pocket and caught up with Robersl mate Fishbait, who just happens to work with my missus. What a small world! Would love to catch up one day for a fish Darren, and pick your brain too.
    Just down from Lime Pocket and Shane was into the small bream again, and one undersize whiting! Where were they? Maybe it's just me!
    We moved back to near Mission Point and I pulled out the Prawnstar again and thought I got onto another lizard, but it turned out being a nice size trevally. I also got a nice size grunter bream there. Shane got into some more small bream there too.
    We moved back down nearer to Donnybrook to try one more spot for these elusive tings. Shane got one more legal bream and finally, a legal whiting! Woohoo, things were looking up, but alas, only one more undersize ting and several more small bream later we decided to call quits.
    Thanks for teaching me heaps today Shane, I really apreciate it. I was so impressed with your Bream Reaper today, that I went to that place that sells boating, camping and fishing gear and bought myself a 10'6" Wilson Live Fibre rod. I'm convinced that the extra length and soft tip of your rods made a big difference to the catch rate. I'm keen to try it out soon!
    Eelman (Ross)

Re: An education for Eelman in the Passage

Nice trip mate!
    Shane, were you down at suttons this arvo?

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    Nice trip mate!
    Shane, were you down at suttons this arvo?
    Hi Brian yeh mate i was my daughter had a church dinner on there so i had to hang around for a few hours drove past your place to see if you were about but could not see you so kept driving you should of yelled out i was gunna have a chat about the big pond ,it was a very nice afternoon just to sit beside the beach and watch the kids swim

shane

Hi Ross you are more than welcome for the education and as you found out you just never know who you will meet on the water sorry the Tings were quite that is the worst i have ever seen them up there but you ended up with a feed so you at least you did not have to go home empty handed

shane

Quote Originally Posted by robersl View Post
    Hi Brian yeh mate i was my daughter had a church dinner on there so i had to hang around for a few hours drove past your place to see if you were about but could not see you so kept driving you should of yelled out i was gunna have a chat about the big pond ,it was a very nice afternoon just to sit beside the beach and watch the kids swim

shane

I was probably haveing a camp when you went past mate, mongrel drive back yesterday with the early start and traffic.