Thread: Ex Telstra 4.2 Patrol Ute with Obieco Body

Smile Ex Telstra 4.2 Patrol Ute with Obieco Body

Does anyone own one of these, or have any knowledge of them?

I have just purcased one a few days ago. All seems OK but I have a few chopped wires I need to re-connect in order to get the power supply working in the back canopy. No doubt there will be other questions later, so I would like to hear from someone who has maybe been down this path.

I checked the Partrol forum, but nothing new there - hence this post.

Thanks in advance.

Re: Ex Telstra 4.2 Patrol Ute with Obieco Body

Hi Stump

Looks like a great truck and in good nick from the look of it. And with 2 spare tyres and the roof racks too.

If your ever looking for a really clued up specialist 4WD mob I've been using one here lately and he really seems to know his stuff.

What boost is your turbo running at?

What could go wrong.......................

Just have a close look......before you make any assumptions........make sure the body has not been swapped pre sale.

I looked at quite a few trucks......some are honest....and others arent.

I had a godd lok at a partoll with a telstra body on it......was a honest truck......would have been a great truck..... but too big and too dear for what I wanted.

I had a long look at a low mialage diesel hilux, with a mine spec type body on it......but the closer I looked and the more wrong answers I got..the more suspicious I was.........the previous owner had obvilusly kept the boddy and the one on it was something that was lying arround...too many issues.

Lots of things get chopped off......so have a good look arround and make sure there arent any live uninsulated wires arround.

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.

What did you want to know about matey??
    The body or the truck or both?
    I reckon the body's would be rippers and would pay extra to have one bolted on the truck pre-sale.
    Wires are only wires and can always be connected. It's harder, and more expensive, to bolt one of those bodies on.
    Any pictures??
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

No doubt about it some of those bodies are great...often a bit heavy... but Oh the goodies.... wheel carriers, racks, fluro's, power systems, water tanks.

If you baught it on vehicle, you probaly did not pay much for the body.

In fact......many of the car yards think a ute with a body is harder to sell than a straight tray ( go figure)......Without asking, I was offered a boddy swap for a straight tray on several of the vehicles I was looking at.

If you were going to buy one of these bodies new...hell they are a fortune.

I picked up a low K 03 hilux 2WD with an "australian work and leasure" fibreglass body for arround $12k.

I costed the body......without tray....and it would have come out to arround $5700 new.

I had seen other tray only utes for about the same price...I got the body for nothing.

It is definitely worth holding out for the body you want..already fitted.

I recon one of those telstra boddies with the dual wheel carriers and gull wing doors would have to go $10G pluss new

Thanks everyone for the replies. I had a buyer get it for me direct from Pickles auctions, 113,00 kms but full log book service every 10,000ks. Vehicle was serviced in Tamworth for every service, all the free condiut and stuff left in it was addressed to the Tamworth depot, so it is reasonable to assume that is where is spent its time. There are no underbody dings to indicate hard use anywhere. Looks like a lot of dirt road use, dust everywhere.

It is cleaning up well. I am not into heavy modifications, just want a good tow/camping vehicle and this fits the bill very well. I will probably take it to a diesel specialist to check the settings on pump etc and maybe a 3" exhaust. Other than that I will add a camera system to the back, with two night vision cameras from Safety Dave's website. One is 180 degrees on the number plate and a slightly narrower field camera mounted off the top of the rear for reversing trailers. I can get by with mirrors, but would hate to injure a child due to low rear vision - I do not want that on my conscience.

I will post a few pics soon as it is cleaned up a bit, but comes with full ARB suspension mods, Urethane bushes and grease nipples on all shackles, slight lift, snorkel, ARB bull bar, dual rear spare wheels on carriers, water tank, lockable and alarmed side doors on Body, windows with security grills. I have stripped off most of the ladder racks and poly pipe. Tow capacity is 2.6 tonnes.

stumpthumpa im sure you will be more then happy with it i bought an ex telstra gu wagon 2003 3.0ltr with 199xxxklms on it and it served me very well put over 70xxx klms on it without a problem. telstra vehicles are just about always serviced at a nissan dealer. so buying them gives you a little peice of mind bout the service history hope it serves you well mate im looking for one myself atm!

Tim, another 3L?

Sounds like a sweet truck.