Thread: Now that's wheel travel.....

Now that's wheel travel.....

Nicked the link off another forum, but well worth the look.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w_F7QrR4Ur8

Re: Now that's wheel travel.....

Well worth a look allright - now that's a cool toy!

A W E S O M E

Thats one wicked machine. Can anyone see how he gets drive to the wheels? Especially the front ones?
    All I want is to catch MORE legal fish!

Thats bloody unreal. THANKS

the drive would either be chain or servo motors I would hazard a guess at.

Crazy bug that one!

Crazy alright, but such a fresh aproach. I think he's got his diffs/axles right up against his gearbox, then a chain drive back to the wheels. It would have to be 4wd somehow as I cant see any slip at all.

Very cool idea's indeed... I can see a new breed of 4x4 coming out of the states.

ps. He's made room for an esky and mate in the back.

So I was really intrigued and had a look at it on YouTube and here is what the info is.

Cams hydraulic Chain-drive 4x4, about 7 feet of up OR down motion on each tire: specs below Engine is a fuel injected Ford 5.0 V8 out of a '93 cobra mustang, c4 transmission and t-case out of an early bronco. 9" w/ 5.38 gears and ARB air locker mounted in the center (below driver) running chain gears on the ends where the swing arms pivot. Swing arms are hydraulically controlled individually or together, and there is coil spring and shock suspension as well. large chains running inside the swing arms turn hummer gear reduction (2:1) hubs at each wheel. tires are 39.5". The steering is linked through the swing arms as well and the steering box is mounted just infront of the axle below the driver. body construction is steel tubing (mostly DOM) and the total weight is 5900 LB.

That is one freaken awesome machine.

All I want is to catch MORE legal fish!