Thread: Hinze Report - A One Sided Affair - The Banana Man Strikes Again!!!

Hinze Report - A One Sided Affair - The Banana Man Strikes Again!!!

Got my 1st chance to fish Hinze in a while on Saturday with my Mate Stu, we made the decision to give the Western Arm a go as we had not fished it before. Put in early, no other boats out at the time just a few paddlers who we passed on the way out who had not got a touch, wasn't looking good. :sad: We ran the left bank for quite a while but it just didn't 'feel' right, only got one hit off it in a little bay that Stu thought looked fishy, first cast with my big TT Native Spinnerbait so it get absolutely smashed but somehow the fish missed the hook and the stinger, wasn't happy!!!! After that, the bank just looked ordinary so the decision was made to motor further towards the dam wall and swap to the right bank and fish our way back. Found a nice rocky point that just screamed Bass and with a confident "get the net ready" from Stu, we commenced casting, Stu cranked his reel and BANG, he was on, he'd actually called it!!! His first came to the net after a good struggle on his 'go to' Banana coloured TN60, it has to be the ugliest colour I've ever seen but worked for Stu on his last trip where he stiched me up too. Over the next hour Stuey bagged another 3 bass to 39cm to the fork with me still scoreless. I tried the Metallic gold and my faithful Blue Gill Jackall, spinnerbaits, plugs, not to mention the Jitterbug earlier in the day all to no avail. In disgust I grabbed Stu's 'spare' Banana Jackall but by then the bite had pretty much shut down and it was time to move on. On our way back we cruised into a little bay and spoted two Toga's free swimming, guessed they'd have gone around 60cm, moved to quick to give us a chance to throw a surface lure at them but was great to see them. All in all was a great day on what is a beautiful little dam, after fishing the Western Arm I'd have to give my preference to the Eastern Arm, just looks fishier and we have a few spots that always produce. Called in to see the boys at Nerang Bait & Tackle today to grab a couple of Banana Jackalls (2 for $45) atm, but none in stock, BUGGER!!!

Cheers, Jamie.
    My PB's - Have Photos of most of them.

Flathead - 98cm - Bait - Tweed River
    Spottie Mackerel - 105cm - Bait - Palmy Reef
    Australian Bass - 48cm - Spinnerbait - Spot X
    Yellowbelly - 48cm - Yellowbelly - Jackall - Sommerset
    Bream - 38cm - MF40 - Nerang River
    Whiting - 40cm - Bait - Nerang River
    Jack - 40cm (Pitiful I Know) - Live Bait - Coomera River
    Barra - 104cm - Storm Pro Paddle Tail - Mondy

Re: Hinze Report - A One Sided Affair - The Banana Man Strikes Again!!!

Have seen a few togas swimming around also Jamie and its quite a sight. A couple of my mates went out Saturday also with not much success. Thanks for the report. - cheers Richard

Thanks for talking me up ther JD. All in all it was a great trip and I am sure one day you will get your turn at hinze. When you think about me catching all the bass just cast your mind back to that metre plus barra and all will be good again. Thanks for another great fishing trip.
    I'd rather fish for a week without catching fish than go to work for a day.

Stuart db

Ahhhhhhhh the memories, yep I reckon that Barra will keep a smile on the face for a while yet even if I can't buy a bloody fish!!!!! Regardless, I'm still callin you "The Banana Man" from now on!!!!!

Where would be the best place to put in to get up the eastern arm without too much electric power. Im looking on google earth but cant make out too much

Hey well done fellas,
    sounds like a good day out on the water!
    Hinze is always a nice place to be hey

Morgan there is a temp ramp at the top of little nerang road, Mudgeeraba.
    follow the road to the top of the hill where you hit a T intersection, you will see a dirt track off to the right infront of you, head down there and your at the ramp,
    you can fish straight away or travel as far as you like,
    ive seen plenty of fish caught from the bank there so lots of electric power isnt a huge neccesity, just try to fish early morning or late arvo for best results,

good luck mate,

Cheers Ben, Yeah Morgan, that's the one. As Ben said, you don't need to go too far, all the edges look pretty sweet on the Eastern Arm, I've seen plenty of fish caught within 500m of the ramp on both sides, no worries there. Best of luck, look forward to seeing your report, Cheers, Jamie.

PS - Get yourself a Banana coloured Jackall........apparently they're the go :-)