Thread: Mackerel Hunt

Mackerel Hunt

Just a quick report on what we managed over three days.
    The plan: Head to the sandhills (get protection from the easterlies) then proceed to the m6 beacon and back to the sandhills , trying some off the beacons inbetween
    Tuesday 29th December
    Had the Wagga Wagga boys onboard so the aim was to get onto some spotties. Alot of bonito from the sandhills to the 4 beacons, a bit of practise for the green horns. Boated about twenty (for bait ) Upon arriving at the 4 beacons we saw some disturbed water and started casting slugs to it when to our amazement a spaniard of about 1.2mts long came shooting out of the water about 5mts high
    with one of the Wagga boys connected Bitten off and all other attempts were unsuccessfull Managed to boat about six schoolies, from jigging the beacons and no signs of any spotties.

Wed 30th Dec
    Same plan as b4 Only managed to boat two schoolies but would of lost twenty fish including afew to those bloody dolphins also had some fun with mac tuna on slugs. Again no signs of any spotties

Fri 1st Jan

Same plan as the previous two days, not as many bonito schools around today but managed to boat seven schoolies and again no spotties, maybe next time

[http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YUbTAFqDRDg]
    MM
    Last edited by madmackrel; 04-01-2010 at 05:15 PM.

Re: Mackerel Hunt

At least you got some Maccy blood on the boat again. I hope to get out Wed if conditions look better but I think you have put me off a Bay hunt. I might have to run a bit further afield.
    Were you just slugging?

Gday Neil, yeah just using slugs mate.
    Cheers MM

thanks for the day perry and good job on the video mate

great video.
    i also hope to be out there on wed.
    looking good at present.

greg

awesome video i hope there is more to come on upcoming trips.
    Breaming is my LIFE!!!

Wll done great video!!!
    i've always wanted 2 do something like that!

Inspring man, inspiring!! Next couple of days look good, so maybe see you out there perry?

Lawry

Quote Originally Posted by moondancer View Post
    Inspring man, inspiring!! Next couple of days look good, so maybe see you out there perry?

Lawry
    Lawry long time no see mate what have you been up to , and hows your young fella going.
    Cheers Perry

movember is over

Hey Perry,

we've almost forgotten what its like to catch a fish mate....been too long..that is until this arvo.!! Young fella's not so little anymore...6 foot plus attitude!! We're both heading out this arvo. for an overnighter around the top end..prob. anchor off behind the wrecks tonight. If you're out there, come over for a coldie!! You still got the full-on gourmet kitchen in a box happeing in your boat?? Will put in a quick report whn we get back..hopefully with some pics!!

Hope to see you mate!!

Lawry

Quote Originally Posted by death_ship View Post
    movember is over
    Hey deathship...you referring to my growth? Man..I was BORN with it!!

Quote Originally Posted by death_ship View Post
    movember is over
    Mate its been movember for me for about 30years
    Cheers MM

Hey MM
    Good to see someone is getting a few mac's although not the spotted kind.
    Mate what's goin' on with the mo.looking veeery white there!!!
    Catch up on the water soon.

Cheers Dazza

cartoon head and Hobit hahahahaa ledgends!