Thread: Mother nature downs 1770 holiday.

Mother nature downs 1770 holiday.

Well mother nature has struck with bad timing again, such big hopes for my family holiday in 1770 over the past week. Got the boat serviced reels re spooled etc, in anticipation of all the big fish I ve heard of. Only having a 4.2 open tinny weather needed to be good to head around the front not getting that oppurtunity the 4 sessions I managed to get on the water were spent with live baits and dead in the river system. For my time I was mearly awarded with 3 shovel nose sharks and 1 pan size trevally. On top of the lacking catches mother nature manage to cancel 2 charters on me. The area is beautiful and great for the family you can see why it is so poopular and that it deffinetly has potential for big fish bit more study and a definate return trip in the future.

Re: Mother nature downs 1770 holiday.

Thats the chance you take this time of year. There is still a mile of great country to explore. I would have targeted Jacks and Crabs up the Creek and it would have kept me going.

I've just got back from a week there.
    I was disappointed about the weather too
    I ended up getting an 80cm barracuda, a few under sized grunter, a few happy moments, a couple of shovel nozed rays and a handful of bream from the lower reaches. Heading upstream we landed a nice cod and got smoked in close to the snags 4 times. One fish was sighted as a very healthy jack - couldn't stop it on my barra gear.

I also just got back from 1770 after a weeks holiday.. I managed 2 brave days offshore, (1 had all crew seasick) with only 3 large trevally caught over a wreck not that far from the bar... I could have ventured out last Saturday as the conditions improved but my drinking habits did not... So I am now home, no fish and planning a day out at the Barwon Banks isntead where I know I will at least have something for the esky...

I did manage 2 great days of tubing with family and friends just inside the bar, but damn that place is shallow and hard work... I couldn't do much creek fishing as the boat will not allow so..

Damn you weather!
    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    Show me the Snapper!

glad to hear fish were boated just my lack of knowledge i d say, DaMaGe were you located in north break drive up in a house on a small knoll prick of a driveway for your boat I was staying across the road on the corner.

I was indeed! "blue house"

I ended up parking the boat around the back of the house, all though the owners did not like this..
    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    Show me the Snapper!

Yep, I spent 2 weeks there over chrissy and luckily got an over nighter in out on Fitzroy Reef a couple of days prior to christmas day for some trout & good sweeties. Came back to crap weather & tried crabbing but I think our pots were being checked a bit more regularly than we would have liked. Never mind, I will be back for some more reefies.