Thread: Nerang River Friday Night

Nerang River Friday Night

Took another trip up the Nerang on Friday night and the fish didn't let us down. Once again I fished with my 2 sons William and Matthew. We started fishing at around 7pm and started to catch fish straight away. At first the fish were not of the usual Nerang River quality but as the night wore on the quality just kept getting better. The boys fished until 9.30pm and then hit the bunks, we had 15 whiting in the esky.

With the boys snoring it was time for me to relax and enjoy the night. The fish were pretty constant so I fished until just after 1am when I climbed up into the cabin, by then we had 31 whiting in the esky. Although the quality of fish was down early the quality picked up and we caught our share of 35cm to 38cm fish.

I wasn't planning on fishing the next morning so let the boys sleep as long as they wanted and they stirred around 6.15am. I thought I might throw a line out while I tidied the boat and we were back onto fish straight away. By 7.30am we had another 4 whiting and 1 bream. What surprised me was that we caught the 2 biggest fish of the trip of 41cm and 40cm at around 7am in the morning.

So in total I ended up with 35 whiting, 1 bream and a very happy 8 and 9 year old.

Darryl

Re: Nerang River Friday Night

Some quality there daryl, i bet the boys are happy!

Heretic

Sounds like a great night, well done!

that was a good night bet your lads are pleased as well, good luck filleting.

laz

Top catch guys Fast Break what ramp did you use? I would love to have a go at the Nerang but I am unsure what boat ramp to use.
    Cheers Axl

Gday Darryl.

Well done mate, always good to see the smiles on the young fellows faces.
    I quite often take my young bloke out overnight, but I haven't tried the Nerang
    yet.
    After seeing your results, I think that is about to change.
    Again mate, very well done!!
    Kerrod

Excellent catch there during this busy period, much traffic around and what bait did you get the whiting on ?

Kdog

I usually put in down in the broadwater and make the trip up the river. There are some good ramps near Nara Resort on the spit, grand hotel ramp, loders creek and the ramp right next to the bridge that goes over the Nerang River at Southport.

Fishawn

I only ever use yabbies and there was not alot of traffic which made for a quiet night on the water.

Cheers Darryl

Nice feed of fish there fastbreak, i love fishing the Nerang myself good to see the young fella getting amongst a few fish...
    Cheers Sean

Hey there good catch....

I went down to the area near Pizzey Park the other night.... didn't have the same luck.....

headed down with my wife and father...... within 2 minutes of putting her bait in the water my wife had a 21 cm bream to chuck back in, a bit longer and she then got a 22cm returnee...... meanwhile my old man and I were barely getting our bait stolen......

I ended up catching one fish the entire time..... fortunately it was a keeper

So only the three fish for the evening... with only one keeper... although as we were about to pack up... bites were starting to get a bit serious.... unfortunately my old man needed to get home as 2am was getting past his bed time due to a 7am start for him
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Serenity!

Ausfish Platinum Member gr hilly's Avatar

now i know where all the whiting are in your esky lol well done nice work
    hilly

Great work mate. So sounds like you were anchored on the same spot the whole time .... am I right?

Fished last nite bagged out..... biggest 40.5cm.....
    Fished 3 spots according to tide ....due to fish not co-operating.
    Probably due to traffic all weekend and there was aout 8 boats running around as well.....Fished until 1am only. Blood worms.

Cy1301

Yep, stayed anchored on the one spot all night.

Capt Mud

Sounds like a great night and some quality as well, well done.

Darryl