Thread: Why is this so??

Question Why is this so??

OK...a question for those who's noggin's holds more intelligence then my melon head.
    Why is it that if a lot of people have an old crappy 4 wheel drive, with vinyl seats and floor coverings, they try and bung in every available extra to make it comfortable (or posher if that's a word) ie carpet and cloth seats and those who have a 4 nice wheel drive bung all the things in to cover the carpet and cloth seats?? ie big rubber mats and canvas seat covers??

Also (seeing I'm asking why is this so)...Why do the people who go slow on the flat speed right up in the passing lanes and then hit the brakes at the end of the passing lane??

I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Re: Why is this so??

canr help ya, mine (noggin) holds alot of grey matter but it doesnt work due to old old age

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post
    Why do the people who go slow on the flat speed right up in the passing lanes and then hit the brakes at the end of the passing lane??
    Because people are d!cks

Quote Originally Posted by Marlin_Mike View Post
    canr help ya, mine (noggin) holds alot of grey matter but it doesnt work due to old old age

I'm the same way .....any grey matter I had has since retired .....but ya so right ....some folks are just plain air wasters ...
    Cheers Tezza

I can tell you why I put big rubber mats and seat covers in my carpeted 4wd. Its because nissan in there infinate wisdom dont sell the navara with vinyl seats and floors. Which raises the question, why do you need carpet in a 4wd at all?? Its a pretty stupid concept if you ask me.

Quote Originally Posted by TheRealAndy View Post
    I can tell you why I put big rubber mats and seat covers in my carpeted 4wd. Its because nissan in there infinate wisdom dont sell the navara with vinyl seats and floors. Which raises the question, why do you need carpet in a 4wd at all?? Its a pretty stupid concept if you ask me.
    That's one reason I like the poor man's version of the Pajero that we ended up getting.
    Vinyl mats on the floor and basic seats and no electronic crap to play up. Hell, it hasn't even got arm rests on the doors
    When the floors get dirty the air hose comes out and...hey presto...all clean again.
    I might even try the petrol powered super duper leaf blower to do the cleaning today. Good way the sort the crap out on the floor I reckon

I made a blue and put some old sheep skin covers we had lying about out of the HSV on the seats but they lasted about a week before some Cabela's ones went in. like these so they're easy to clean and bung in.
    No auto hubs and not even electric windows to play up. Good value I reckon
    I had to bung in the central locking though. Just a pain without.

The pooches would probably appreciate a bit of carpet because they slip and slide everywhere on the vinyl. But that's my amusement so they'll just have to toughen up. Or maybe I shouldn't put Armourall on it
    Merry Christmas to you and yours too Andy

I am seriously thinking about making my next 4wd a older one. If I threw the cash I would spend on a new one into making an old one work really well I reckon I would have a car for life.

Another one to pose with you're question, why do some young blokes take off the sides of their utes and try to make them look like sports cars??

I admit, i am a P Plater, and own a ute....howver the sides of mine stay unless necessity says they must come off, at which point they go back on when finished. I have my stock rims (97 rodeo). They aint damn sports cars.

Saw one ute the other day he had taken the drop-sides off the tray, then continued to GRIND OFF the toggles that they are attached on so that the sides CANT be put back on!! What The!!

Mitch

You've don't know what our miss'n till youve driven a Nissan

Quote Originally Posted by swampman62 View Post
    You've don't know what our miss'n till youve driven a Nissan

Once you do you realize what you ARE missin and go back to Toyota
    If You Can't Run With The Dogs....... Stay On The Porch

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post

# Also (seeing I'm asking why is this so)...Why do the people who go slow on the flat speed right up in the passing lanes and then hit the brakes at the end of the passing lane??

Because they believe that people who drive big 4WDs are compensating for a lack of Penii size. But they seem very intimidated by the thought that if you get in front of them you'll take away their manhood

For me, I have ditched the 4wd's and flash cars and now drive a work ute. Thing is I still visit the same places in the dunga than I frequented in the good 4wd's and work pays for all the fuel and maintenance........gotta love that deal. Boss told me not to ever fill the ute from my own pocket so its worth gold to me.

I do not miss the flash 4wd or those one or two extended breaks that I used to get yrs ago.

Scotty,

no all folks that purchase a 4 x 4 actually use them to go 4 x 4 ing.

Some buy them for their towing capacity and like one of mine mates, he buys a Prado cause it drives like a car and he gets a better trade in value than a sedan ( with similar creature comforts ) ... His wifey also likes it as she sits higher and IMO makes her a safer and more confident driver.

Then again there is me.... Colorado has vinyl floors but I have rubber ( sand collecting ) mats with incidentally double as a floor saver in that I do not wear a " heel ' hole in the floor near the accelerator....... further, I have cloth seats which are covered by sheepskins and they in turn ( business hours ) are covered with disposable seat covers ( stops paint marks on sheepskins ).

As for the passing lanes...................... who the hell knows what goes through peoples minds in this case. I know if I am towing the big rig I tend to ' gather ' speed approaching a hill whether there be an overtaking lane or not. I figure that sedan or overtakerer ( is that a word ? ) can get past me by the top / end and I never ever brake..............

Having said that, I do not take um bridge at the driver who has no idea.... I dislike the teacher of that minion.

My attitude to driving has changed in recent years in-so-much as that if another driver around me flaunts the law or shows a total disregard for it, other vehicles or pedestrians, I treat that person in the exact same way.

I have a very good working knowledge of the road rules

I have the right attitude

I am fully insured and rating 1 for life...

Does that make me dangerous.............

BTW..... I am unsure if the dealer removed the sand, water and tree magnets from the new truck..... suppose we'll find out soon enough

LP.

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill View Post
    Scotty,

As for the passing lanes...................... who the hell knows what goes through peoples minds in this case.
    If you want to see something that makes no sense
    try driving a truck, on the speed limiter along a multi lane highway
    you catch up to cars doing 5kph under your speed
    as you pull alongside in the passing lane they will suddenly gain speed until they are 50-100 metres ahead, then slow to their original speed

they will do this for as long as you try to pass them
    strangest thing, but quite annoying because they don't want to do the speed limit but also don't want a truck to pass them. It's not like they will be inconvenienced since the road is multi lane

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill View Post
    Scotty,

no all folks that purchase a 4 x 4 actually use them to go 4 x 4 ing.

Some buy them for their towing capacity and like one of mine mates, he buys a Prado cause it drives like a car and he gets a better trade in value than a sedan ( with similar creature comforts ) ... His wifey also likes it as she sits higher and IMO makes her a safer and more confident driver.

Then again there is me.... Colorado has vinyl floors but I have rubber ( sand collecting ) mats with incidentally double as a floor saver in that I do not wear a " heel ' hole in the floor near the accelerator....... further, I have cloth seats which are covered by sheepskins and they in turn ( business hours ) are covered with disposable seat covers ( stops paint marks on sheepskins ).

As for the passing lanes...................... who the hell knows what goes through peoples minds in this case. I know if I am towing the big rig I tend to ' gather ' speed approaching a hill whether there be an overtaking lane or not. I figure that sedan or overtakerer ( is that a word ? ) can get past me by the top / end and I never ever brake..............

Oh so true Phil about the people buying 4x4's for different reasons.
    We brought Mrs Palmer for towing. And the fact that Wally was buggered helped too.
    As you know we have been setting the Warwick house up ready to move.
    Lots of happening in the garden and house so we really needed a car that towing decent weights did not worry it.
    We thought about putting the 1 tonner back on the road or buying a ute but the fact that there's 4 or 5 seats and covered back....and it popped up... won the Pajero over a ute.
    It would not have made any difference if it was only a 2 wheel drive for us as it was the layout that won us. And we have the Landrover for the off road stuff.

What really put the thought about covering all the 'nice bits' was when I was looking at Cabela's and e-bay one day.
    They have everything imaginable to cover up the 'luxury items' so they don't get dirty, bloody, torn or wet and they also have bits to 'tart up' anything looking the littlest bit shabby like wood/carbon fibre/chrome faces to put on everything including steering wheels.

We have mats also on the front. But they're rubber backed carpet ones.
    They seem to keep the mud in one spot (cause we do sand in the Landrover-dirt/mud with Mrs Palmer) and all I do is take them out every time I was the car and hit them with the steam cleaner. Clean as a whistle after that

Why don't car makers cater for people like Andy who wanted the basic stuff...and couldn't get it??

And Tunaticer...work cars can always get to more places then private cars. Known fact for some reason

PS I want to get some 22' bling wheels for the Pajero but the cook reckon's they'll steal the car for the wheels!!
    $4,000 Pajero....$4,000 wheels
    Looks like the $56 white sunraisers stay if I want to keep eating

As another side note I'm really glad the Pajero only has vinyl on the floor.
    There is definitely more cabin noise, and because the cook is a bit of a hoon at heart (the only person I know who can go through a tank of fuel in the Kingswood to go from our place to the Hyperdome and back...a whole 8km's) and she's used to the Beemer she thinks she's revving the begeesus out of the Pajero at 2000 rpm. Good value I reckon

As another side note....why do people go slow on the open road and speed through towns?? ie 90km/hr on the open road and 70 in 60 zone.
    Why are they usually the same people who speed up in the passing lanes??