I like round. The bigger and rounder the better.
I've dared to have square but they just don't seem right for light.
That rhymes a bit eh
Wondering what people prefer in spotties as far as rectangular Vs. Round. Round appear to give more light from what i can tell?? Opinions??
I like round. The bigger and rounder the better.
I've dared to have square but they just don't seem right for light.
That rhymes a bit eh
I intend on living for-ever....so far so good
Hi All,
Because the ideal reflector is parabolic in shape, and if you take a slice through the parabola (where the glass lens will be), you get a circle - hence a round light is the preferred shape, as, in order to make a rectangular lamp, this ideal has to be compromised somewhat.
I had IPF Halogen Infra-Red driving lights on my last Pajero, and they were excellent, except IPF stopped making the HIR Globes, and I had to replace them with ordinary Quartz Halogen which were not as good.
On my new NT Pajero, I have fitted Narva Ultima 225's, which are HID, and are excellent although expensive (Paid $900 a pair on EBay)
Richard
p.s. Merry Xmas to all!
The yobbo statment is to only go sqaure because round just doesnt fit in the space sometimes...
I do think that rectangular lights do suit some vehicles better appearance-wise.
For example, I have an old 1995 Mazda Bravo Twincab ute 4wd, which has rectangular headlights, and rectangular driving lights would look better than round in this instance.
I think the difference in performance between shapes is only noticeable at the higher end of performance expectations.
Richard.
ive never really liked the look of square lights either. dont know anyone with a set, so they cant be all that great. but if you have the money, then try and line up a set of rallye 4000's.if you know someone who works at a whole saler then u can pick up a set for 450 bux like i did.
Or if u dont like the price, try the ipf extreme 8", my mate has them and they are very good for the price
Gilli
Most sports require one ball..... Fishing requires two
GO326Q
4M tinnie with 25hp johnson
Call ova for a chat if you see me out on the water
i have got a pair of the Narva 225 hids on order to arrive when the new rig arrives and i can tell you their light output is nothing short of sensational.
cheers Lee
Also, Why use red lenses on spotties?? i know why for blue and yellow, but why red? any other colours used??
Problem with Narva is they are still cheap garbage(though not as cheap and garbage as some)
try a set of HID Hella Rallye 4000
while the light output will be the same in regard to the bulbs, the light pattern will be much better and they'll last 3 times longer
you can get the standard 4000 and convert them to HID, kits are less than $150 for a pair of 55watts(more light than 130watt halogen)
If You Can't Run With The Dogs....... Stay On The Porch
Totally agree with buying HID bulbs and putting them in existing spotties!
I bought a set of Standard IPF 900 series of Ebay for $300..then bought HID bulbs (H3 - 6000k) of some hong kong ebay mob for $100..and fitted them myself....easy as!
I reckon a set of HID IPFs from a shop would be well over $1500 I would think.
Cheers Steve
I'm not a great lover of square lights.....I grew up on super oscas.
But these days lights particularly cheap lights have come a long way.
there are two basic types of square lights.......lights with a rectangular reflector...and ..lights with a round reflector with the edges chopped off.
the rectangular reflectors will typicaly throw a wider taller spread.....like the old hella rectangulars.
the choped reflectors realy wont suffer much as the outer edges are a low portion of the total reflector.
You realy have to consider it on a light by light basis.
There are some very good generic lights out there....I have a pair of the oscar coppies on one tvehicle and they seriously are pretty damn good for arround the $120 a pair .....same company sells a super oscar coppy too...for arround the $250 a pair.
I needed a set of lights for the front of the new 2wd ute... but I had to fit aset of the hella rectangle clones because the of the space available on the front bar.
They are ok.... but...the front bar has an apointment with the grinder and tig welder so I can fit some better lights.
round is better and the bigger the better
And don't turn your nose up at the clones.
Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.
Well bugger me. My Super dooper Oscars cost me less then that when I brought them way back when.
That might be why they're worth more then the copies. They last, and last, and last and still shining as good as new. Except the one that headbutted that roo but that's another story. But his replacement has lasted well too. Gees they've scared the begeesus out of a lot of roos, a few foxes and a lot of people
Both still on the car and the Hella rally 2000's I brought at the same time are still working on my brothers car.
I intend on living for-ever....so far so good
Sadly my supers are a bit sad.......I looked in my box of car lighting bits and there they are still in pieces.....unfortunatly the reflectors have gone off.....and the cases are still bent from their last incident....I bashed em straight about 3 times..
Yeh when I baught mine they would have been $120 each or something... but that was a lot of money then.
last time I looked they wanted about $300 a piece for them.
Nice big lights... but they are just begging to be smacked.
Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.
If you want to see what lights are best
have a look at what lights are fitted to the trucks running the western roads
Company I worked for eventually settled on Hella 4000s with Philips bulbs
the Narvas would last 2 maybe 3 years before they rattled to bits
and anything buy Philips bulbs lasted a month if that
there was an old freightliner that had the old "Bull Lights" fitted
they had seen at least ten years service running west from Toowoomba before I started there
I liked the Hellas as their pencil beam lights would have a slight spreading of the beam to full road width at 300- 500metres out and would light the reflective guideposts and signs at the horizon, The old bull lights had a beam that actually narrowed and crossed over out at around 200 metres #so you needed a good set of spreaders as well, but their long distance lighting was better than the hellas, but who really needs to see 2klms ahead, 500 metres is enough for anyone to react to something on the road and you'd be flat out spotting any animal against the back ground at that distance
There is also a Lightforce clone out now
called "Roo Lights", I've seen them at Autobarn, one of the drivers at work has them, reckons they are ok, but I've followed him and they shake a round a lot on their mounts where as my IPFs and rock steady#
If You Can't Run With The Dogs....... Stay On The Porch