Thread: Mud wednesday

Mud wednesday

Just a report to let you know how mud is going, was out at north side of mud at 4.45 am today after dropping off 4 crab pots on ledge of river channel, decided to drag a lightly weighted piece of squid on a 1/0 as well as casting plastics, anyway it was sooo slow, caught a just legal sweetlip and a few 15cm squire, pulled pots on way back for 2 female sand crabs ( pots will be for sale soon if this keeps up), tell you the truth the last 6 months worth of trips to mud have been extreemly ordinary..merry xmas everybody...

Re: Mud wednesday

good on you tho mate...for getting out amongst it and giving it a nudge.
    Have a good one this Xmas...be safe if traveling.

Mrs Benno1
    Sunny

Wish I could get out there........I miss getting onto Moreton Bay. Just too busy with life of late but bugger it, I'm going sometime this weekend.....might even do an overnighter.

i still think mud is late arvo, earl evening, high tide about 8pm then give it away.
    I wont waste my time going there early or daytime

G'day alleycat, I too was out there this morn for my first trip since the dismal effort in the R2M. I rocked up late about 6:00am in the same area. I think I saw you there. Agree it was dam slow. All I got was about 7 or so undersize pinkies up to 32cm. Also caught 2 sole/flounder. I also forgot both my hat and sunscreen, so m now looking like a bit of a lobster.

Seeing as Its holiday time, I thinks a nice reminder on fishing etiquette is needed. Please people dont motor to close to drifting (or anchored for that matter) fishing boats! I had a guy this morn in a black quintrx bowrider, motor past less then 20 metres away straight over my lines. He gave me a wave and then had a funny look on his face when I didnt wave back. I then politely explained (read yelled) that he just drove over my lines.
    Come on guys, Its a big bay out there, and even in the good fishing spots, give each other some space. Fish spook easily in shallow areas.

Im now on hols for a few weeks, so hopefully the weather allows another couple trips.

Quote Originally Posted by SummerTrance View Post
    G'day alleycat, I too was out there this morn for my first trip since the dismal effort in the R2M. I rocked up late about 6:00am in the same area. I think I saw you there. Agree it was dam slow. All I got was about 7 or so undersize pinkies up to 32cm. Also caught 2 sole/flounder. I also forgot both my hat and sunscreen, so m now looking like a bit of a lobster.

Seeing as Its holiday time, I thinks a nice reminder on fishing etiquette is needed. Please people dont motor to close to drifting (or anchored for that matter) fishing boats! I had a guy this morn in a black quintrx bowrider, motor past less then 20 metres away straight over my lines. He gave me a wave and then had a funny look on his face when I didnt wave back. I then politely explained (read yelled) that he just drove over my lines.
    Come on guys, Its a big bay out there, and even in the good fishing spots, give each other some space. Fish spook easily in shallow areas.

Im now on hols for a few weeks, so hopefully the weather allows another couple trips.
    Gday ST. yeah thats my real pet hate, everybody knows where the reef is and they can see people fishing, they must think the fish are as deaf and stupid as they are, always give people fishing a wide berth so as to not spoil thier day.