Want to Catch and Succeed on Plastics in Estuaries?? - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Want to Catch and Succeed on Plastics in Estuaries??

Re: Want to Catch and Succeed on Plastics in Estuaries??

Good post Flatzie

Mate I use the same tactics as you mentioned on your post and they definately work. I catch heaps of fish mainly by hopping the lures off the bottom as as you mention.

I mainly use the 3" Berkley Powerbait range in Pumpkinseed, as I find it an allround SP lure that catches everything.

The only thing I can add to your post is that I seem to catch better fish 2 hours before and after LOW Tide and drift all the time casting the lure to the shallower water where weed banks or sand banks exist.

I also try to fish the low tides that have little run eg smaller variation between high and low tide, if you know what I mean.

Cheers & Merry Xmas

Hey Flatzie thanks for a great post. Is there any chance I could just make my own plastics up and just soak them in tuna oil or some other piscatorial by product as the gulps dont display much action anyway.
    I found some good soft plastic at Clark rubber.
    Also I have a Butterworth 10-15 kg with an 8 inch Alvey reel loaded with 40 lb mono. Do I need to ad a 6lb leader on this to make my presentation better? Or can I tie a 5/0 straight on? What do you think?

Hey Odes, laugh my a@# off, that combo sounds OK to me, just make sure you have a 10 ball above your plastic to cast just that bit further.

Odes20
    Take that rod and reel back to the dump where you found it. Or did you find it on the side of the road ya scunge! You keep fulfilling the Kev Boyle tradition mate.
    What will you call your Clark Rubber plastic range? Weddys Pocket Rocket Rubbers?
    Should sell like pork chops in Jerusalem!
    Flatzie

Well I wasn;t for real liltuffy. But glad you got a laugh! I happen to be the twin brother of Flatzie and I thought I would bring in an ignorance and in experience factor to this noble discussion!

Odes20
    I thanked you for your post, felt sorry for your profile showing no thanks on no posts!! LOL. Trust a twin brother to liven up the thread.
    Flatzie

Great post Flatzie, would you be able to give me the name of the guide you went out with as i will be up there for a couple of weeks after xmas.
    Cheers, Wal.

Wal
    His name is Brian from anglers advantage dot com dot au
    Flatzie

Hi Flatzie,

I was just wondering why it is that braid is better to use than mono, and also if mono was okay to use?

Max

Maxibon
    Pretty much its about it being more sensitive, no stretch and less dragged about by wind and current due to its thin profile. I guess the mono would work, there's no set rules. Anyone here use mono on SP's?
    Flatzie

Great thread flatzie, on ya mate. It applies to me particularly as I had my first crack at fishing the gulps in salt water in the Burnett at Bundaberg this very morning! We got 5 small flatties to around 35cm and had a ball on the 2'shrimp.
    We fished the very bottom of the tide which leades to my question.....
    Q: What part of the tide do you find most effective to fish plastics in an esturary.... Run in/Run out.... Top or Bottom??
    Cheers, Pod

Lots of varying opinions here Pod,
    But i prefer around low tides with not so big runs. Many believe flatties bite best on run down, I have caught them on all phases. Many people cant always choose the best tides due to their narrow time frames of opportunity.
    Flatties like to get right up into shallow water on high tides on the prowl more, and lie in wait next to edges, weed beds etc as the tide washes over them on lower tides.
    Early morning and late arvo in conjunction with good tides maximise everything as well.
    Flatzie

Quote Originally Posted by iqarus View Post
    flatzie, BCF stock the gulp alive spray bottles which you can use to top up your gulp juice containers. at $29.99 they're bloody pricey though.

im a SLAM convert though, less smell, less leaks, less price and more bites !
    More bites my Ash!!! Not for me anyway, I have bought heaps of different colours and sizes and they fish with probably 30% of the success rate of Gulp. Gulp have so many more colours and in my opinion have a better action. The only real plus to Slam is they seem to have less deformed (useless) lures in the pack and seem to hold their shape better in the heat.

Good post Flatzie you pretty well nailed it. But sometimes I wonder weather telling all these sceptics about plastics is worth it . I mean if they finally do wake up to lureing its going to make it harder for the rest of us too keep doing what we are doing .

I just hope they dont listen to you mate

"If you waste your time a talkin to the people who dont listen to the things that you are saying who do you thinks gunna hear and if you should die explaining how the things that they complain about are things they could be changing" (not catching fish) " who do you thinks goin ta care" Kris Kristopherson (most of it)

Quote Originally Posted by flatzie View Post
    Maxibon
    Pretty much its about it being more sensitive, no stretch and less dragged about by wind and current due to its thin profile. I guess the mono would work, there's no set rules. Anyone here use mono on SP's?
    Flatzie

Mono does work its, what i used when I first started (for about a week) but I found you really have to whip it hard. Move the rod like 400+ mm at a time to get any action. I still caught a few fish each session - just enough to keep me interested till I went to braid.

the very first time I used braid and a graphite rod, I didnt even get a touch. Thinking i had wasted my money, by the second day I was ready to give up on it. Till a young fella saw me cast and then wave my rod around like it was a ninja sword - setting me straght about the no streth thing soughten me out and I have never looked back.

Hey guys got a few BCF gift vouchers for chrissy so thought I would perservere with the whole soft plastic thing and went and bought 2"banana prawn shrimp, 4" nuclear chicken minnow and squidges wriggler blood worms. Matched this up with 1/6 size 1 hook and 1/8 size 2 hooks with 1.5grm size 4 squidgy jig heads. Do they match well or should I change something? Really want to catch some fish on plastics. Am fishing in the Passage