Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Want to Catch and Succeed on Plastics in Estuaries??

Want to Catch and Succeed on Plastics in Estuaries??

I see a lot of chat about plastics and how to use them, like the recent on 2" Shrimps.
    Heres my Technique. Im no TV expert, but I do land a lot of fish on Gulp 2" Shrimps and 3 " Minnows.
    Hope it helps some with the holidays coming up.
    It doesnt take heaps of trips to get it right! And you dont need to use the lightest gear possible, thats a myth in my opinion.
    I have nailed heaps of bream and scores of flathead on the Shrimp 2' in a number of colours. I went one afternoon with a guide at Caloundra and have nailed them ever since. Almost all of our biggest flatties have been on them, heaps of bream, grunter, some tings, trevally, tailor, Snapper, cod you name it! I use 6lb braid with 6lb flurocarbon leader.
    The only people who could write a negative about this plastic are people who just cant use them, and believe me its not hard, its simple!
    1. Cast it ( I always drift fish, and use an electric to assist positioning, however I caught many fish before I had my electric)
    2. Take up slack, place your rod tip 30cm above the water at as close to 90 degree angle to your line as possible. (I fish relatively shallow water.)
    3. give 3 short sharp WRIST twitches, NOT ARM WAVES, 100 - 150 mm each. (you can mix this up as well)
    4. At the end of the last twitch, wind back up your line, AVOIDING ANY BELLY IN YOUR LINE (you must try to keep as little slack in your line as possible.)
    5. this has created a pause, allow a second or two and repeat the dose. Most fish take it on the pause!
    6. When you feel a hit or bite ....this is important! Do not strike! Just continue
    7. When a fish is on start to play it gently with the old pump and wind. Relax!
    8. Avoid trying to bullock the fish or waterski it back to the boat! Thats the oldtimer technique employed with broomstick rods and 30 pound line

Extra tips, since its Christmas LOL
    1. Get your lazy bum out of bed VERY early, be on the water at Sparrows, or conversely fish very late right up till dark
    2. You must cast very close to the bank, dropoff, edge, or structure you are targeting. Lazy limp nothing casts that are away from the key zone will not get fish, except those out in the open. I consistently outcatch most learners on my boat for this reason alone
    HOPE THAT HELPS!
    HAPPY CHRISTMAS ALL!!
    Flatzie
    Last edited by flatzie; 24-12-2009 at 07:35 AM. Reason: more info

Re: Want to Catch and Succeed on Plastics in Estuaries??

Thanks for that. I am slowly becoming a Gulp convert. The plastics are better than smelly bait too.
    As for my casts...
    I can't tell you how many times I have cast straight into the mangroves, waaaay past my target.

Good post. Couple of follow up questions to help me and others.
    What colours do you like in murky water like around Bells Ck and further up the passage, or in clearer water closer to the bar?
    What size hook and jighead do you like for the 2" shrimps? If possible a photo of rigged plastic would be nice.

Thanks,

To be honest Jeremy, I havent chased down that theory re colors to water colour too much.
    I primarily use Banana Prawn in the Shrimp, or Peppered Prawn. Having said that I dont go out on too big tides, there's a lot of weed in the passage then in the current so I avoid that.
    In the Gulp Minnow 3" I find it hard to go past the Nuclear Chicken in any scenario, it just catches fish Fullstop! I have caught well on the Pumkinseed as well.
    When I started I bought so many different plastics I was crazy. Now I just work with very few types.
    I use either 1/8 or 1/6 jigheads with hook sizes to suit the plastic, i just get hooks which sit right in the plastic and allow plenty of tail movement.
    Dont over gun on hooks, with 6lb line you will be able to use pretty fine hooks. I also land all fish with a net.
    Flatzie

Thanks for the great post mate, I've just started out using plastics, and I am hoping to have some success soon enough.

Kaidon
    Conservation NOT preservation!

hey flatzie,

Have you been out with the new container yet?

I would never go back to the plastic wallets again

great post by the way

neil

Hi Neil
    Thanks. I took the containers up to Hinchinbrook with me, just got back. Seem to work well, but I need to find some Gulp Alive bucket to top up with.
    They are hard to find, any ideas where in our area?
    Flatzie

flatzie, BCF stock the gulp alive spray bottles which you can use to top up your gulp juice containers. at $29.99 they're bloody pricey though.

im a SLAM convert though, less smell, less leaks, less price and more bites !

Quote Originally Posted by flatzie View Post
    Hi Neil
    Thanks. I took the containers up to Hinchinbrook with me, just got back. Seem to work well, but I need to find some Gulp Alive bucket to top up with.
    They are hard to find, any ideas where in our area?
    Flatzie

I was lucky enough to get a couple of buckets cheap at the mart with the A in front. So you could try there.

Allround Angler have them also.

from memory the buckets have roughly 3 packets in each. So IMO its worth spending the extra coin to get the juice for my container.

neil

I'm going to ask a very dumb question here, so please be gentle..... With regards to using a flurocarbon leader, do you then use a small swivel to join to the braid? If not, what do you use to join the leader with your line?

Thanks for the great thread, it is very helpful.

Hey Trekka,

No swivels required. A simple double uni knot or 3 turn surgeons knot will do the trick

Quite a few knots are used for this connection. I use the Albright knot mostly, the Yucatan knot etc are all good as well. Those that Kickback mentioned work well to!
    Flatzie

Ok, thanks guys. I will have to do some learning on how to tie these

Approximately how long do you make the leader?

I make mine about 1.5 metres, as you tend to use them down thru changing jigs etc and from fraying etc from snags, flathead etc. Saves having a short one and then more regularly having to re tie a new one.
    The knots above go thru the guides no problem, on light line.
    Flatzie

Gday to all and congrats on a great thread flatzie,gulp or slam im new to plastics .I was talking to my local fishing tackle shop bloke and was all set to buy some more plastics well better ones ,hes a top bloke and dosnt force you to buy anything ,i asked him what he uses and he said mate i have used them all and flathead will take nearly anything from a 2"shrimp gulp,to a 4" slam bait .The secret is to let it hit the bottom and then twitch it up of the bottom as you guys explained above .Well i said thanks alot for your help i wont be buying anything from you today ,as i have plenty of plastics at home lol .He said that's ok mate but you will be back sometime in the future and maybe you might buy something then.All the bets to you and yours for Chrissy and the New Year.