Thread: Week @ Mondy & quick Awonga hit

Week @ Mondy & quick Awonga hit

1st day headed down to the island in the basin & 2nd cast the drop bear got smashed but all it did was rip the plastic of the hook & stinger & that was the only hit i got on a plastic for 6 days......Did a lot of casting but with the missus with me we did a lot of trolling..

Trolled the island in Bass straight with about 10 other boats & nearly every time a boat passed or sat behind me they caught a fish same happened at the basin island,,,I reckon i saw 25 Barra caught around me over the week (might name the boat the Barra Teaser)..

Finished up with 11 Barra for the week between us Me 97cm Wife 88cm (in the last 15 minutes on the 6th day) Mate 93cm, 95cm, 100cm, 103cm, 105cm, 106cm, (very arsy) his wife 93cm, 2@95cm, they kicked our arse & i havn't stopped hearing about it..... (avoided the dounut anyway)

After that week we headed up to Tannum Sand's ( nice place but not worth posting a report).... On the Wednesday we headed out to Awonga ( first timer's) very big dam, perfect conditions (glass out) & very hot,tried frogs, hollowbelly's & slick rig's to no avail then went back to trolling & saw a gold lure in the stick's pulled the boat in & got it... It was a Viper very well used with the rear treble crushed & the braid wrapped around the other's a hundred time's (definatly had a fish on it).....

After 3 new treble's were fitted i put it out along a weedbed & soon got smashed by a very athletic 78cm fish, after getting him out of the weed's twice & feeling 1 treble let go i was very happy to land my first Awonga Barra, it was the only fish caught for the morning....

All up a great 2 week's with good friend's, fish are the bonus

Cheers Baz

PS 2 fish at the bass straight island, 1 at the island heading into bird bay & 8 fish along the point & island on the wall side of the basin ( all trolling & all released)

Can't get photo's up for some reason

Re: Week @ Mondy & quick Awonga hit

Hi Barry ,,,,,,, ya landed fish at both dams - well done

It sounded like you enjoyed yourself ....... & you have a great incentive to kick butt on your next trip

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    Hi Barry ,,,,,,, ya landed fish at both dams - well done

It sounded like you enjoyed yourself ....... & you have a great incentive to kick butt on your next trip

Gday Chris
    Yes mate we did have a good time plenty of extra dry & bundy & i will get him next time, just lucky...I trolled with him one arvo, same lure, same distance out, he caught 2 & lost 2 & i lost 1

Saw all the Barra boat's & fishos up at the kiosk but didn't know which one to look for,,,, you blokes were in a big hurry to hit the water after the briefing,,,, maybe catch up next time...
    Cheers Baz

Hi Baz Seen your car in the top ramp car park on my last day there a few weeks ago sorry didn't get to meet up but well done on the fish any fish to the boat was a bonus and i had the same trouble with the platics there that weekend could not get a touch trolled a hardbody and i hooked up

shane

Well done Barry, good to see you did not go home fishless like some of us.
    Sorry I missed you, we were a bit preoccupied on Sunday night wth the storm & you were out when we called it quits on Monday.
    Will be around your neck of the woods about new year, still not sure where we are going, tossing up between Keepit, Split Rock, Copeton or Pindari. Will depend on crowds & skiers. Any tips would be appreciated, we will be camping & are set up for lack of amenities if required.
    Merry Christmas

Cheers Andrew

Nice one Baz