Thread: Elliott Heads...

Elliott Heads...

Hey all, heading up to Elliott Heads for the first time for a week after Christmas.
    Have never been up that way before and the search only produced some old posts.
    Has anyone been up that way in the past 12 months at all?
    Will be taking the 4.5m tinnie and the kayak.
    All advice appreciated.
    Cheers and thanks.

"Tackle Whore on a budget..."
    Gonzo II – Brooker 4.5m 40hp Yam & Outlaw Kayak
    Fish Well, Fish Egrell

http://www.ecofishersqld.org.au

Re: Elliott Heads...

I think you will probably us the yak more than the boat. The mouth entrance looked a bit dodgy to me it would be good on a good day but i think if the wind picked up when you were outside it would be a unpleasant run through the mouth of the elliot. The elliot looked a shallow river will a few deeper channels. And dont fall of your yak on an outgoing tide the current runs quick.

I've been out through the Elliot before. Shallow bar, but not too bad. Tricky to get back to the ramp at low tide. Stick to mid tide and above should be no dramas. Elliot 4 mile is not a bad place to have a look.

Been in Bundy for a few months now - done a fair bit of expoloring the lower reaches. 111/2 tide and above it's no problem. Under 1/2 its tricky in places and lower than that you're stuck Pretty much all sandy bottom tho so its no real drama.

Haven't crossed the bar but it looks better than others i've seen. Safe deep-water access to outside from the Burnett River (Burnett Heads). Better fishing (I've found) in the burnett as well. But its not to much of a run from the mouth of the burnett down to the refs around Elliot Heads. A few to try on the way there as well.

The elliot river (best ramp is a 'Riverview' - just around from Elliot Heads - by the way) is a great 'playground' tho with beautiful white sandy beaches to day-trip to. You'll also have great sand-flat wandering oppurtunities at low tide. The local tackle shops all sell a book of GPS marks for the area.

Have a good trip - you'll love elliot heads.

Fished there a bit
    From riverveiw ramp you can go up the river to 'sharkeys'. Good to fish on the incoming tide
    If you go to Salty's in Bundy they will look after you and supply a map
    Also the black bank, on the otherside of the river toward the mouth, there is a good hole there, Cod, queenies ect
    If you go just outside you can throw spinners and plastics for pelagics allong the rock wall of Mays Island

Got quite a few lizards low tide on coonarr side near the sandbags on nuclear chooks two weeks ago. - Water was only mid-shin deep, and they were throwing up rooster tails as they scooted around. I was about 30M off the beach, and some fish were closer in than me!!, one saw my shadow and just missed my foot as it screamed off for deeper water.

Mate got plenty of muddies the week before, first creek on the right heading up river from the bar, near steep bank where the pipes come out.

Good luck.

I've been up there twice in the past year and a half. If you want to fish at any time, launch from the Burnett Heads boat ramp. It's deep and there is no bar to cross. There are quite a few marks within a few miles you can fish from the Burnett River entrance. I even caught a 70cm Flatty casting a lure from the boat ramp. If it's a flat day, try and get out to the 15mile reef. Plenty of action out there.

Spent a week camping there in September.

When we went off-shore would exit the Elliot river on the right of Mays Island. Mid to high tide no problem - we even came back on one trip at low tide. Just Mark your exit spot on your GPS.

Crabbed the river for 2 days solid put out 9 pots and did not get one keeper - probably a bit early in the season.

At low tide the river becomes a bit of a problem to navigate especially in a 5.5m fibreglass Southwind, but should be no problem in your tinnie.

Flicked Plastics on the river side of Mays Island and caught heaps of Flathead and a couple fo small cod.

Fishing off shore - caught heaps of School Mackerel just in front of Mays Island - we were not more than 500m from shore. Caught the macks either trolling, spinning or drifting. Caught one grey mackerel of about 9kg. Fished the arti without to much luck. All structure seems to be well silted as we struggled to find any good structure. Had the Family with us so night fishing was not on the agenda, but guys that went out at night to the arti caught good grunter and a couple of good snapper.

We would troll a line from the end of Mays Island to Submarine Point (I think that it what it is called,it is the first headland on the left of Mays Island looking out to sea) and then drift back to just past Mays Island, flicking 30g slugs for Mac Tuna and Schoolies.

Tight lines and enjoy!

Geez fellas thanks for all the advice, looks like I have plenty to do!
    Going to try a day at Mondy also while I'm up that way.
    But sounds like there are plenty of options right where I am.
    Thanks again.
    Cheers and thanks.

Fish Well, Fish Egrell

Hi LNB,

Just took delivery of my 4.4 sea jay today. When are you heading up? If you want to hook up I'm happy to do a trip or two somewhere deep (dep on timing of course). Having another boat along for the run would do wonders for my confidence in the new boat going out to one of the further reefs.

PM if you're interested .. or not and have a nice hol! (I understand the desire to 'get away from people' when on hols so not offended if you'd rather not).

Cheers mate, I have PM'd you.
    Cheers and thanks.

Fish Well, Fish Egrell