Thread: Mooloolaba Billfish Bash Results?

Mooloolaba Billfish Bash Results?

Anyone know the results of the Billfish Bash on the weekend. Very interested to hear if any light tackle blacks or sails have turned up yet!
    The weather certainly didn't look ideal, I hope they had a successful weekend though.
    Scotty.

Re: Mooloolaba Billfish Bash Results?

Gday
    As far as I know it was postponed due to the forecast winds for the weekend.
    Myles

was run and won. fishing was on for both days. weather was pretty sloppy saw a lot of boats return early. not many fish around.

only 8 blacks tagged there was one tagged sat 7 sunday with a few more lost during the day.

leading boat tagged 2 then the remainder on 1 each.

Decent turnout considering the weather.

Weather was how your going but fun.
    You forgot to mention that where in the winnning Boat Pacemaker.
    Good going daniel.

Cheers Troy

That's good, before I left for work on friday a mate told me it was off because of the wind.
    Sounds like another slow one eh. But I bet a good time was had by all!
    Myles

Thanks dww13

I towed my boat up there for the tournament its a 6.1m makocraft ( something fishy ) day 1 was slow with our boat getting first billfish taged at 10.59 am after a 2 hour 20min fight it was a 50kg black it was the only marlin taged on day 1 the conditions were pretty rough with a 20-25knt wind blowing up mid morning then we had a severe storm warning issued at 1.00 so most boats headed in early including us only to find the storm missed us with only a little light rain.
    Day 2 was looking pretty crap but we woke up to a 10knt light wind and we went out despite the 30knt forercast , well it didnt take long for the forecast to turn out right it blow hard from 10.00am onwards and every one was having a hard time fishing although there seemed to be a lot more fish in the area and there were 7 billfish tagged we didnt turn a reel and most boats headed in early with only a couple of boats staying out there to fish good comp had an absolute ball great people and the host club mgfc should be proud of a top event despite the weather .
    we ended up with champion boat , champion male angler first billfish and most meritorious fishing effort we were a happy team considering it was our first tournament in this boat and 3 out of 4 of us had never entered a tournament before
    Well done to all teams for fishing in those conditions and congratulations to the other winning teams .
    regards MONOSTRETCHO
    quote of the day ( guns don`t kill people fathers with pretty daughters do ) !!:wink:

double post not sure what happened there
    quote of the day ( guns don`t kill people fathers with pretty daughters do ) !!:wink:

good on you guys well done! we enjoyed the comp just a shame we missed our second black lost at the boat on sunday arvo, anyway theres always next year i bet you guys will be back? cheers jim

Congrats Dan, George, Ray and your fourth crewman on Pacemaker!

It was like a switch was flicked on Sunday for them or they just happened to turn up compared to Saturday and Townsville's and Hervey Bay's results. Along with the 8 tagged there were a couple DQed and there must have been around 30 seen for the weekend but lots of boats were playing dropsys, us included on Liberty II! Compare that with Townsville where a 30+ fleet tagged 12 over 4 days comprising heaps of Cairns charter boats and Hervey Bay where 3-4 were tagged light tackle it is certainly not 100% doom and gloom like it was looking all week and after Saturday.

Right on Smithy, it could have been anything on the Sunday with good weather as by 2pm there was only about 5 of us still out there doing the laps, most hookups were in the general area of 'Somethings Fishy's' Saturday capture as well.
    I had to avoid them at one stage while they were doing battle as the wind was pushing them around so much I thought they were trying to get bait, not hooked up.
    The comp was still fun as usual, and it was great to catch up with Troy and meet 'GT' Nigel.
    Top effort Daniel, George and the Pacemaker crew .

Hey GPB i was going to get u guys to have a tag shot for us at one stage there lol . It certainly played up on us and we tagged it 1 nm from where we actually hooked it up a few very tense moments as well when it got tail wraped and when it swam under our boat missing the prop by cm`s our fist billfish for the boat we were happy campers .
    Jim we will be back next year to have another go hopefully better weather
    Regards MONOSTRETCHO

Sounds like some good fishing even if the weather ran havoc.Was it lures or live baits that did the damage?

welldone to those who caught & tagged fish.
    MICK.

Finally a report of inshore Blacks.

Don't feel the need to give away secrets but are we talking inshore or out wider at the 18 mile.

I'm worried the tinny is not going to see much in close pelagic action this year.

on the 8mile. 4 good bait balls in the top 3rd of the water all day sunday. Bait was there but a lot more scattered on saturday as well. Have heard that the bait was gone on the monday though.