Thread: which 4x4 tyres would suit me best ?

which 4x4 tyres would suit me best ?

Looking for some advice from those in the know with tyres...

For a Toyota hilux 4x4, sunrasia rims
    I am a fascia gutter fixer, so I carry 8 x 6m alloy planks, 6 trestles, XOS toolbox, ladders etc etc
    All up, fully fueled and loaded she is around 2.7 tonne
    Tyre noise is not an issue
    Only 4wd I do is on a work site, or light beach work once in a blue moon

thanks in advance

Re: which 4x4 tyres would suit me best ?

Would those NEXEN tyres any good on a work truck?
    We put a set on the missus grand vitara, but have only been on for 3months so cant judge them yet...

Hey ashh,
    have a look at this test 4WD monthly did on 4x4 tyres, may help with your decision.

http://www.4wdmonthly.com.au/tips_tyres.php

..............double post....................

yeah, nah dont want MT, just something that will wear well, tries a set of those ling long chinese cheap shit tyres, havent lasted 8months, allthough I think I need to mod my suspension as well, but thats another story.....

If your only offroad driving is on worksites, I dont really think you need Mud Terrains. I reckon you should look for a good All Terrain with a LT Construction. Top brands include BF Goodrich, Mickey Thompson, Coopers, Bridgestone Dueler and Goodyear Wrangler.

Revs57 (Rhys) has put some A/T's on his Lcruiser not long ago Ash. Send him a PM for the details. I do believe they were at a good price, but I can't remember the brand.
    As SummerTrance has said, any A/T or Light Truck tyre will do for your 4wd.

Wags

I have BFG A/T on my Hilux on Sunraysia style rims..have had them on for 12 months now and still penty of wear left on them. I carry similar gear to you and the ute weighs about the same with tools etc on board. I will be getting another set when these wear out.

I would honestly just go some cheapies ashh. You dont really want good tyres on a jobsite. Im a builder and have staked heaps of tyres. Even 3ply or kevlar sidewalls dont save you. They just arent the same anymore with plugs hanging out of them.

I've done a lot of research on this for my lux. When I wear out the standard H/T gear, I'm buying a set of Pirelli Scorpions. Not too cheap, not too expensive. Then again who cares about price when it comes to a question of safety???
    Seems to do well in all the tests.

Quote Originally Posted by BenDover View Post
    I would honestly just go some cheapies ashh. You dont really want good tyres on a jobsite. Im a builder and have staked heaps of tyres. Even 3ply or kevlar sidewalls dont save you. They just arent the same anymore with plugs hanging out of them.
    Yeah but Ive done the cheap brand option and they just don't last, I think Ill try chase up some 90% second handys in a good brand name tyre...

ps
    I been in the game for around 10years, on and around worksites , tip, scrap yards, metal recyclers you name it... and have never had a tyre puncture from a roof screw, rivet or nail! luck? bet ya I just jinxed myself

If you are not doing much 4wd ing and carrying a solid load ..would you be better off with a light truck road tyre?

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.