Would those NEXEN tyres any good on a work truck?
We put a set on the missus grand vitara, but have only been on for 3months so cant judge them yet...
Looking for some advice from those in the know with tyres...
For a Toyota hilux 4x4, sunrasia rims
I am a fascia gutter fixer, so I carry 8 x 6m alloy planks, 6 trestles, XOS toolbox, ladders etc etc
All up, fully fueled and loaded she is around 2.7 tonne
Tyre noise is not an issue
Only 4wd I do is on a work site, or light beach work once in a blue moon
thanks in advance
Would those NEXEN tyres any good on a work truck?
We put a set on the missus grand vitara, but have only been on for 3months so cant judge them yet...
Hey ashh,
have a look at this test 4WD monthly did on 4x4 tyres, may help with your decision.
http://www.4wdmonthly.com.au/tips_tyres.php
..............double post....................
yeah, nah dont want MT, just something that will wear well, tries a set of those ling long chinese cheap shit tyres, havent lasted 8months, allthough I think I need to mod my suspension as well, but thats another story.....
If your only offroad driving is on worksites, I dont really think you need Mud Terrains. I reckon you should look for a good All Terrain with a LT Construction. Top brands include BF Goodrich, Mickey Thompson, Coopers, Bridgestone Dueler and Goodyear Wrangler.
Revs57 (Rhys) has put some A/T's on his Lcruiser not long ago Ash. Send him a PM for the details. I do believe they were at a good price, but I can't remember the brand.
As SummerTrance has said, any A/T or Light Truck tyre will do for your 4wd.
Wags
I have BFG A/T on my Hilux on Sunraysia style rims..have had them on for 12 months now and still penty of wear left on them. I carry similar gear to you and the ute weighs about the same with tools etc on board. I will be getting another set when these wear out.
I would honestly just go some cheapies ashh. You dont really want good tyres on a jobsite. Im a builder and have staked heaps of tyres. Even 3ply or kevlar sidewalls dont save you. They just arent the same anymore with plugs hanging out of them.
I've done a lot of research on this for my lux. When I wear out the standard H/T gear, I'm buying a set of Pirelli Scorpions. Not too cheap, not too expensive. Then again who cares about price when it comes to a question of safety???
Seems to do well in all the tests.
Yeah but Ive done the cheap brand option and they just don't last, I think Ill try chase up some 90% second handys in a good brand name tyre...
ps
I been in the game for around 10years, on and around worksites , tip, scrap yards, metal recyclers you name it... and have never had a tyre puncture from a roof screw, rivet or nail! luck? bet ya I just jinxed myself
If you are not doing much 4wd ing and carrying a solid load ..would you be better off with a light truck road tyre?
Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.