Magnificent Mondy – 6 PBs & 3 Virgins Deflowered - Page 2

Thread: Magnificent Mondy – 6 PBs & 3 Virgins Deflowered

Ausfish Platinum Member Steve B's Avatar

Re: Magnificent Mondy – 6 PBs & 3 Virgins Deflowered

Big Renno,

What an awesome report mate!! thanks heaps!!! Some very nice fish and congrats for your PB 114cm fish....photo is awesome too!!

Gazza, your the guru mate!! thats a horse of a fish!! Well done, that jump shot is one of the best photos I have seen in ages!! Well done Ren for capturing the moment!!

Well done to all of yas

Fantastic report Paul! I'm tipping you might have been the instigator of switching the trip to Mondy, well done on putting the guys onto good fish. Do you think any of the new guys contracted IBD?

They gotta be happy with so many PBs and barra firsts, what a trip!

Looks like you managed to time your trip to some good conditions - again! you are on a roll.

Big congrats on the PB! magnificent fish, and that 122, well thats awesome!

Thanks again for an excellent report and fantastic pics,

Ausfish Platinum Member Big_Ren's Avatar

Pete…thanks heaps for your kind comments. I’m an old journo by trade, so always enjoy my writing. Great mates like this mob are just the icing on the cake.

Whitto…you’re not wrong about the rough heads….we could rename it the Robber’s Dog Convention. Thanks for your ongoing support mate. Your signature message says it all.

John…thanks so much. I hope your recuperation is coming along strongly and before long you will be again doing battle with your beloved silver girlfriends.

Shane…only one virgin remains. He came so close in the end. His positive attitude will carry him through to next year no probs at all. Thanks mate.

Baz…it was a brilliant week in many ways. Best of luck on your trip next week. You don’t have to travel that far to find fish at this time of year, especially given the amount of water being let out daily.

Gaz…thanks bud. Fair to say though that a bit of your own lateral thinking, angling etiquette and intuition put you onto that beast of yours at Richie’s…whoa…we had the best ring side seats and I have said it a million times, but no one deserved that fish more than you.

MW…thanks mate. I reckon it’s almost time you donned your volleys and headed to the back court again with Naggmeister.

Nath…many thanks as well mate. We were stoked, but even more pleased that the newbies got fish. That made the week more special. I still have itchy feet and have only just returned. Dang….

Brian…yes that was us (Gaz, Graham and me) up in Bird on the Sunday. Gaz pulled two 99s in a blink to start the trip. You should have popped over for a lemonade with your old man and the gang. Loved your report as well. Just catching up on all the reports now.

Flatzie…thanks mate. It was a lot of fun and we are booked again for next year.

Chris…yep, I lost my pastry hat overboard on the trip up and Dave unfortunately picked it up on the water. Lots of PBs was the most satisfying aspect. Sounds like you and the Doctor are giving it a bit of a shake up there. Keep it up mate.

Dave…your port is dangerous (but Gaz and I both loved it). He had his good mate “Sam” (as in Bucca) on board in a hippie to keep him warm….I didn’t!!! Thanks for the kind words mate.

Deano….mate we had a blast….with the majority of our fish in the 90s, we were all in for some athletic fights with these speedsters. Catch up with you and Hat soon I hope.

Stevie….thanks heaps mate. Gazza’s fish was a pig all right and literally took him 400 metres from where he hooked up. It was like a rolling side show for us….brilliant to watch. I can’t take credit for that jump shot. Al captured the moment and grabbed my camera before I could.

Matt…thanks again mate. it was actually Dave who suggested Mondy after our Awoonga trip in ’08. All I could do was agree with him lol. All the newbies have contracted IBD, that’s why they were keen for me to book in again next year before this trip even ended. We only fished arvos and late into the night to save on the fatigue/heat factor. No point burning the candles at both ends. In relation to the conditions, I was saying to Steve on the phone the other night that I think we could have enjoyed better results if water was not being released daily for the irrigators. You could literally see the change in water levels…especially at the top of the main basin at the island.

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

Brian…yes that was us (Gaz, Graham and me) up in Bird on the Sunday. Gaz pulled two 99s in a blink to start the trip. You should have popped over for a lemonade with your old man and the gang. Loved your report as well. Just catching up on all the reports now.

Mate, I have fished Bird a grand total of one time previously, so dont know the place, but we slipped in and I eyed off that spot and said to the Ol Fella we will have a crack over there, only to another boat tucked in where I wanted to go - you guys obviously.
    We dropped the pic on the end of the little island for a 15 minute fish and then pulled the pin, I could see smoe bloke knocking back a bevy, thought it was you, but wasnt sure till I saw the trailler at the ramp.
    I should have called ya on the 2 way, didnt think!

Anyways, sounds like a great run up mate, good stuff.

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post

Mate, I have fished Bird a grand total of one time previously, so dont know the place, but we slipped in and I eyed off that spot and said to the Ol Fella we will have a crack over there, only to another boat tucked in where I wanted to go - you guys obviously.
    We dropped the pic on the end of the little island for a 15 minute fish and then pulled the pin, I could see smoe bloke knocking back a bevy, thought it was you, but wasnt sure till I saw the trailler at the ramp.
    I should have called ya on the 2 way, didnt think!

Anyways, sounds like a great run up mate, good stuff.
    No sweat brother. It was a nice little corner we were tucked into.....out of the way in about 4 foot and with that northerly blowing right up our backsides. I didn't realise you were even up there until I got back home....so my bad too...

You can always get us on ch 21 or ch 20 (usually 21 though).

Ausfish Platinum Member warrior's Avatar

great report and some great fish, those are the weeks that you always remember.that 122 is a beauty

Hows Barb goin Paul, long time no see or hear?

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    Hows Barb goin Paul, long time no see or hear?
    He's going well Brian, been very busy with work, but was able to sneak five days in with us.

He's been chasin' the red fish and doing great, but he enjoyed his time fishing for the big silver ones.

I think we (Navi, Vin, Ben, me and whoever else) are planning another assault around the Australia Day long weekend. Navi and Vin are also spending a few days up at Mondy come mid December.

Ausfish Platinum Member Steve B's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Big_Ren View Post
    He's going well Brian, been very busy with work, but was able to sneak five days in with us.

He's been chasin' the red fish and doing great, but he enjoyed his time fishing for the big silver ones.

I think we (Navi, Vin, Ben, me and whoever else) are planning another assault around the Australia Day long weekend. Navi and Vin are also spending a few days up at Mondy come mid December.

I will deffinately catch up next time you boys are here. It will be good to see benny and the weapons of black destruction again!!

Cheers Mate Steve

great read mate, ill be there on wednesday hopefully with a few good pics to share once i come back. was there a stand out lure for you guys on the trip

Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post
    Big Renno,

What an awesome report mate!! thanks heaps!!! Some very nice fish and congrats for your PB 114cm fish....photo is awesome too!!

Gazza, your the guru mate!! thats a horse of a fish!! Well done, that jump shot is one of the best photos I have seen in ages!! Well done Ren for capturing the moment!!

Well done to all of yas

Steve, I don't know about guru mate , I just got lucky I think , I am still on a fairly steep learning curve but slowly a few pieces are falling into place.

Great read & pics Paul - sounds like you and your crew had a hoot of a time! I only just caught up with this post after a hard day at the cricket yesterday!

Hope they're still on the chew next week......

Regs

Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post
    I will deffinately catch up next time you boys are here. It will be good to see benny and the weapons of black destruction again!!

Cheers Mate Steve
    Stevo.....you know that we will hold you to that. You are more than welcome to come out for a fish on the Chariot again if ya like. The Brothers of Darkness are keen as, along with Benny, so team Magpie will fly again soon

Ellis_D....we predominantly used soft plastics (Hollowbellies, Slick rigs, Storms, and Flat Tires) but if we could put a finger on it, maybe the Slickies stood out.....but that is probably moreso because we used them more (all colours will work so don't get hung up on colour). If we used similar paddle tail plastics in the same areas while the fish were active, we would more than likely have caught fish still. Who knows....if we tied on something else more regularly we could have fared even better???

Pete...hope you enjoy your trip with Kyle....some of your favourite areas are still very fishable. I think I spotted you in the crowd at the cricket Hope you weren't taking a sickie

Gaz....lucky you reckon ? It seemed the more you practised the luckier you got More than just a few pieces of the puzzle mate.