Thousands of fish dead in lake at Beachmere
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Thousands of fish dead in lake at Beachmere

Thousands of fish dead in lake at Beachmere

http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/s...5-3102,00.html

THOUSANDS of fish have been reported dead at a lake at Beachmere near Bribie Island north of Brisbane.
    Reports were made to the Moreton Bay Regional Council earlier today and officers from the Department of Environment and Resource Management are heading out to the scene.

The lake is on council property at Biggs Ave, Beachmere.

Mayor Allan Sutherland will hold a press conference shortly.

Re: Thousands of fish dead in lake at Beachmere

g'day chris, my mate's place backs onto that lake/drain. we let our kids chuck a bit of bread in there for the ducks, in the past the ducks had to compete with the bream (there was also a secret stash of jacks in there as well) for the bread, the place was loaded with fish. over the last month or so all the fish seem to have disappeared and we didn't know why. my mate had reported this to council weeks ago to get some water testing done because he was suss on it being poisoned. i guess our mayor will shed some more light on the matter.

I am keeping an eye on the story as it unfolds and will shoot through things as I see them.

Something doesn't sound right though; I mean a chockers full lake then just disappears and dies. More questions than answers at the moment.

LATEST: THOUSANDS of fish found dead at a lake near Caboolture, north of Brisbane, may have been killed by hot weather.
    Moreton Bay Regional Council Mayor Allan Sutherland believes the deaths may be related to natural causes connected with warmer weather.
    Thousands of fish were discovered dead in the lake on council property at Biggs Ave, Beachmere earlier today.
    "Our initial investigations indicate it may be due to a combination of natural factors including poor water circulation in the lake and the hot weather, which has resulted in extremely low oxygen levels," Cr Sutherland said.
    "The heat wave which has affected many parts of the country has seen water temperatures rise with readings in the nearby North Pine River yesterday hitting 30 degrees.
    "At this stage we believe low oxygen levels are probably the cause of the fish kill, but we'll need to do more detailed testing over coming days with fish and water samples now being collected."
    Reports were made to the Moreton Bay Regional Council earlier today and officers from the Department of Environment and Resource Management sped to the scene to investigate.

g'day chris, i rang my mate after i read your first post and he reckons that people who back onto that lake have been chasing down council over the condition of the lake for over 12 months because it became really smelly. it's tidal so maybe it's been blocked up somehow.

sewage run off into the lake.
    But what do you expect..the EPA does nothing..just look at the water quality reports..and I cannot see them improving.

She'll be right mate, the lake will be a green zone next and sustainability will be secured!!!

Saw a little on the news, fish are in good condition but dead of coarse, saltwater species, all size fractions and species,water level is abnormally low due to them locking it up for works somewhere. Residents blame sewerage but IMO if it's both...it's the perfect localised man made storm.

Neither as an individual episode should have caused this particular instance if there was tidal flow, although I suspect here the artificially low water level is most if not totally to blame.

Also it's a no biggie just a few fish in magnitude, speedily restocked naturally (with access to tidal flow). It's no disaster but certainly topical.

Bribie Is. dead fish

I just saw the end of it on the news,, What was the cause, location and extent of the dead fish at bribie island?

I live in Beachmere and over the past months there has been alot of work going on at the lake. I don't know specifically what they have been doing but there are large pipes and lots of excavators.
    It looks to me as they are trying to improve the water flow in and out of the lake but i don't know this for sure.
    It is always pretty smelly down that part as the other side of the road from the lake is all swampy. I can only describe the inlet to the lake as a smelly drain. We have all fished in there for years but since it has been developed on both sides there is not alot of area left to enjoy the lake at all.

In the reports did council mention anything of the recent excavations/works being carried out.
    Perhaps this may have something to do with the dying fish, poor oxygen levels etc--- If the inlet has been blocked and it is not being fed by fresh water then perhaps this may be of concern.

Chris i like your Aussie way of thinking-- she'll be right mate. --Only as few dead fish and its only a little lake. Yeh right-- doesn't matter-- just like the sea grasses for the new north harbour-- they don;t hold any value either.

Ronnie

Re: Bribie Is. dead fish

so its not bribie, its beachmere..has it had affect on caboolture river? i didnt know there was a sewage pumping station on beachmere.

Ronnie..we have green zones..all will be good..just ask your local greenie.

Quote Originally Posted by Mrs Ronnie H View Post
    I live in Beachmere and over the past months there has been alot of work going on at the lake. I don't know specifically what they have been doing but there are large pipes and lots of excavators.
    It looks to me as they are trying to improve the water flow in and out of the lake but i don't know this for sure.
    It is always pretty smelly down that part as the other side of the road from the lake is all swampy. I can only describe the inlet to the lake as a smelly drain. We have all fished in there for years but since it has been developed on both sides there is not alot of area left to enjoy the lake at all.

In the reports did council mention anything of the recent excavations/works being carried out.
    Perhaps this may have something to do with the dying fish, poor oxygen levels etc--- If the inlet has been blocked and it is not being fed by fresh water then perhaps this may be of concern.

Chris i like your Aussie way of thinking-- she'll be right mate. --Only as few dead fish and its only a little lake. Yeh right-- doesn't matter-- just like the sea grasses for the new north harbour-- they don;t hold any value either.

Ronnie
    Was trying unsuccessfully to be sarcastic. Sorry Ronnie.

Low dissolved oxgyen concentration and high water temps = dead fish!