Thread: Finding the red devil

Re: Finding the red devil

No worries, Damo!

Thought it was deep in the tropics where you showed. Still, be some great fish there. As for hook size, I normally just fish a 1/0 or 2/0 bream hook when chucking out a pilly through the eye. They seem to go at it harder than if i fish with a 4/0. If using livies, adjust the size of your hooks according to the bait, and put one up the front in the nose and one down the tail end. The one down the tail end can be smaller, so as to not perforate the spine region and kill the bait fish. If you can get your hands on any legal live whiting, they're a;lways a goer! Biddies go great, as do poddies. Let us know how you go mate, and give em nothing when they hit!

Cuzza

Quote Originally Posted by cuzzamundi View Post
    Mate hit up any one of those feeder creeks. Look for any really nasty snags, and try a livie in there. Also, be worth taking out some pillies/sardines. As the high changes and starts to ebb, anchor just short of one of those bends, and cast the said bait INTO the bend...let the tide push it right back into the snags. 1/0-3/0 hook through the eye of the pillie/sardine. When i couldn't get livies in my spots north of Cairns, I try this method, and it's game on every time. Sometimes 6 legal jacks within an hour, then they'd go off the chew. They engulf the pillies/sardines around the head region. No need for a stinger rig. Often this would outfish the livies, and the creeks were very narrow, so it's similar country to there. Looks like prime territory up there, so get stuck in mate! When you find the right location, and ;pick your phase correctly, you'll be surprised just how many will turn your reel.

Cuzza
    Sounds like you got a good system working there Cuzza, what line/leader configuration u using there brother?

Pete.

G'Day Pete,

I'm no first class jacko but I get a few here and there. Depending on territory, I usually run 8lb mono on 20lb fluorocarbon leader (Jinkai's good stuff). Sometimes I up the leader to fifty of it's real nasty territory. If I'm in some of the closed off canals in SEQ in real tight nasty territory (rocks), i normally fish dead baits with small lead running to the sinker, on 20lb mono. For livies I'll go back to standard swivel rig with a stinger hook. Fish as light as possible is the best recipe I reckon. I don;t usually bother with braid as I seem to get busted more often. Dunno about lures, only ever caught one on a prawnstar jnr. Hope this helps mate.

Cuzza